Randall Library Home

Department Contact

Associate Director Library Technical and Collection Management Services/Librarian
benedettis@uncw.edu | (910) 962-4243
Coordinator of Collection Development/Librarian
crossj@uncw.edu | (910) 962-2271

Department Personnel

Name Title Email Phone Office Location
Susannah Benedetti Associate Director Library Technical and Collection Management Services/Librarian benedettis@uncw.edu (910) 962-4243 RL1023G
Jeanne Cross Coordinator of Collection Development/Librarian crossj@uncw.edu (910) 962-2271 RL1023E
Elizabeth Howland Library Technician howlande@uncw.edu (910) 962-7005 RL1023A
Sue Lem Library Specialist lems@uncw.edu (910) 962-7907 RL1023L
Christopher Malpass Library Specialist malpassc@uncw.edu (910) 962-7312 RL1023B
Linda McCormack Library Specialist mccormackl@uncw.edu (910) 962-7220 RL1023O
Gary Moore Coordinator Library Cataloging/Librarian mooreg@uncw.edu (910) 962-4252 RL1023F
Mark Peterson Library Specialist petersonm@uncw.edu (910) 962-7499 RL1023K
June Spencer-Francis Library Specialist spencerj@uncw.edu (910) 962-4286 RL1023M
Beth Thompson Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian thompsonb@uncw.edu (910) 962-3691 RL1023H
NOT PUBLISHED

Randall Library Collection Development Policy

Library Services for Faculty - primary contact librarians

 
Collection Development Tools and Resources
  • AcademiaYankee Book Peddler’s online collection development resource for all academic libraries. Published twelve times per year, Academia includes selection lists of new books, publishing industry news, award-winning titles, and other features to aid collection development in academic libraries of every size and type.
  • Booklist Online– Features bookreviews, as well as audiobook, video, and database reviews
  • Choice Reviews Online- Reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Publishes list of Outstanding Academic Books in December each year. Coverage is 1988-present, 2 simultaneous users.
  • Library Journal Online– An excellent source for current reviews in all formats, and “best book” type lists. Provides a collection development RSS feed.
  • Publisher’s Weekly Online- News website of book publishing and bookselling including business news, reviews, bestseller lists, etc.
  • Rittenhouse –An online vendor for nursing and other medical-related books and ebooks. Provides browsing of titles by medical disciplines and sub-disciplines.
View other collection development tools and resources in our Acquisitions web page.