Accessing netLibrary eBooks

PLEASE READ ALL OF THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH USING netLibrary.

What is netLibrary?

netLibrary is an extensive collection of online books (eBooks) and resource materials, including scholarly, reference, and popular materials.

Creating an Account

  • netLibrary is free to students, faculty and staff, but you must create an account to access the collection.
  • Once you have created an account you will need your "user name" and "password" to search the collection and view contents and read eBooks.
  • Click here to create your netLibrary account.
  • The top of this page should read "Welcome to the Fayetteville State University eContent Collection" or "Welcome to the UNC-Pembroke eContent Collection" or "Welcome to the UNC-Wilmington eContent Collection." This will ensure that you are recognized as a FSU, UNCP, or UNCW student, faculty or staff member, and be allowed to view contents and read eBooks in the customized collection as well as books in the public collection.

Logging in from netLibrary

  • Although you can use some netLibrary features without logging in, in order to view contents and read eBooks or access your account from off campus locations, you must create a user account and log in to netLibrary.
  • To log in, click the Log In link at the top of theNetLibrary main page.
  • Enter your user name and password and click Submit.
  • Note: If you forget your user name or password, click on Forgot your username or password? and follow the instructions displayed.

Searching netLibrary

  • From the netLibrary homepage you can search for books by Title, Author, Subject, Full-Text or Keyword.
  • You can view lists of books available in the netLibrary collection.
  • To view contents and read an entire book, however, you must log in to your netLibrary account.

Viewing and Reading

If you have located an eBook using the Library catalog

  1. From the Library catalog, please click the "View this book" link found in the library record.
  2. If you are accessing netlibrary from off campus, you must login to your netLibrary account to view contents and read eBooks.
  3. You can now view the table of contents (in the left panel) or read the book (in the right panel).

If you have located an eBook using netLibrary's catalog

  1. Click the "View this book" link found in the library record.
  2. If you are accessing netlibrary from off campus, you must login to your netLibrary account to view contents and read eBooks.
  3. You can now view the table of contents (in the left panel) or read the book (in the right panel).

Printing and Copying your eBook

  • You are allowed to print one page at a time using your Web browser's print function or the print function on the Adobe Acrobat toolbar.
  • Copy selections of the full-text eContent item using your Web browser's copy function or the Select Tool on the Adobe Acrobat toolbar.
  • Copying and Printing the entire eContent item violates copyright laws and precautions are taken to protect those copyright laws. If a suspicious usage pattern indicates excessive copying, the activity is logged and you are sent a copyright warning message.

Questions?

If you have additional questions using NetLibrary, please contact the appropriate Reference Desk for further assistance.

  • FSU, Chesnutt LIbrary, 910-672-1233
  • UNCP, Sampson-Livermore Library, 910-521-6656
  • UNCW, Randall Library, 910-962-3760
Page maintained by: 
Lisa Williams