My Library Account
The focus of this guide is almost entirely on primary sources.
Because this course has a particular focus on analyzing primary sources, the finding aids for primary sources are listed first here, followed by those that are more likely to result in secondary sources. You will need those as well.
Also consider using databases in related disciplines. For instance, if you are researching shell-shock, the PsycInfo database may be useful.
An index to about 250 popular magazines, mostly American, from 1890-1984. Use the search box to limit the date of publication to the period you wish to study.
A companion indes to Readers' Guide, this indexes more scholarly periodicals, 1907-1984.
Full-image of the NYT from 1851.
Index to periodicals, books, government documents, etc., from 1915-1976.
This link is for the electronic version of the 5 volume encyclopedia. The library also has a print copy in the Reference Collection D510 .E53 2005. One volume has texts of key documents.
A 2-volume chronology.
An excellent bibliography focusing on material published during and shortly after the war.
Memoirs are arranged by nationality of writer. There is also a subject index.
Browse chronologically for documents from the war period.
The Library of Congress digital collections contain text, photographs, audio and video on U.S. history. Be sure to look at American Leaders' Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election and Stars and Stripes, 1918-1919.
This BBC site has assembled articles of scholarly interpretations about the war and audio versions of oral histories and dramatized diaries. An animated map of the Western front is also included.
A bare bones list of links to mostly primary sources, compiled by Dr. Vincent Ferrar, Mount Holyoke College. Chronological order.
From the German Historical Museum, this site provides information on the war, politics, art, industry, propaganda and daily life. Includes recordings of Kaiser Wilhelm II speeches.
Although created as a hobby, this site provides a rich collection of primary source documents, audio, photographs, music, art and literature.
This BBC special report includes audio interviews, newsreel footage, and soldiers' letters.
Organized by country and topics such as films, pacifism, and poetry, this site is maintained by a staff member at the University of Pittsburgh.
One of a series of sourcebooks providing electronic access to documents in the public domain, the site links to documents on the origins of war, the war, resistance to war, literary responses and the aftermath.
War times Journal is a free online magazine of military history and science, emphasizing eyewitness accounts and personal narratives.
Assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List, the list is searchable by keyword and can be browsed by year or document type.
Not as scholarly as other sites listed here, but still a valuable list of links to resources.
Here are some key compilations of official documents. No memoirs are listed here, but be sure to use World War I Memories and A Subject Bibliography of the First World War (listed above in books) to help identify memoirs. And be sure to search personal names as authors to find memoirs, and correspondence. Memoirs can also be found by searching World War, 1914-1918 -- Personal narratives.
Google Book - Full view. Unfortunately, volume 2 is only available on Google Books in snippet view.
Have a question? Chat now with a UNCW Librarian!
You can also get help by email, text or phone.
Ask a UNCW Librarian a question by email or phone.
Click to chat with NCknows.
UNC Wilmington | Randall Library | 601 S. College Rd., Wilmington, NC 28403-5616 | 910-962-3272