In addition to the databases in the "Starting Points" list, be sure to give these databases a try. Those marked as EbscoHost databases can be searched simultaneously by going to the EbscoHost page and selecting the databases you wish to search.
The library catalog and WorldCat use Library of Congress Subject Headings. The list of authorized subject headings is available online from the Library of Congress Classification/Subject Headings database. However, you can also start with keyword searches to gather some relevant titles, then look at their subject headings to discover the official terms to use.
Using these Library of Congress Subject Headings will aid your searches.
Aliens Americanization Citizenship Civil rights [e.g., African Americans -- Civil rights] Civil rights demonstrations Civil rights movements Discrimination Discrimination in education Election law Emigration and immigration law Freemen Immigrants Indians of North America [or specific tribe] -- Tribal citizenship Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945 Literacy tests (Election law) Naturalization Race discrimination Sex discrimination against women Racism -- Political aspects Slaves Slavery United States. Constitution. 14th Amendment [or other amendment] Voter registration Women immigrants Women -- Suffrage Women's rights -- United States [or individual state or other geographic area] -- History Women -- United States [or individual state or other geographic area] -- History [Group name] -- Legal status, laws, etc. [e.g., Slaves -- Legal status, laws, etc.] [Place name] -- Race relations
For reference sources on the history of race and ethnicity in the U.S., browse the Reference collection in the call number range E184-E185.
For reference sources on women's history, browse HQ1115-HQ1420.
You will find videos in the catalog as you search for books and other materials. To limit your search to videos, go to the "Advanced Keyword Search" option and use the "Material type" box to select videorecordings. Or, after performing a search, click the "Modify Search" or "Limit/Sort" button and select the material type videorecordings option there. You can also browse the documentary section by the same call number ranges mentioned under Books above.
The following PBS videos are available as streaming video online:
See the guide "Finding Primary Resources for Historical Research" for a more complete discussion of the library's resources.
Search the Randall Library catalog and WorldCat (see below for links) for history makers' names as authors. This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence.
As you search subject topics in the catalog and WorldCat, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source: Archives* Caricatures and cartoons Correspondence* Diaries* Early works to 1800 Facsimilies Interviews Newspapers [e.g., African Americans -- Newspapers] Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc. Pamphlets Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only) Photographs Pictorial works Songs and music Sources Speeches, addresses, etc.* Treaties
*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.
Many databases provide a recommended citation in a variety of style manuals. This is very helpful, but always review the citation to be sure it is accurate.
You can also get help by email, text or phone.
Ask a UNCW Librarian a question by email or phone.
Click to chat with NCknows.