Randall Library Home

Seminar in Environmental Studies

Course Number: 
EVS 495

Objective: To introduce you to the various methods and resources for obtaining information on environmental problems and management issues. Specifically, this guide will address methods for beginning your research, finding journal articles, and other sources of information.

Starting Points

Beginning the process:

  • Identify the topic or question that you are addressing in your paper.
  • Create a list of keywords or buzzwords that relate to your paper.
  • Determine what resources are most likely to index articles on your topic. Note that when submitting articles to journals for publication scientists are often asked to develop descriptive titles and keywords for their articles. This not only aids readers when browsing the literature, it helps users who are searching databases as well. For example, if someone was searching for articles on the effects of biofouling on oysters a simple search might be to search the database's title field for appearances of the term(s) biofouling and oysters.
Multidisciplinary database that covers all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. Also includes abstracts of environmental impact statements (1985 - present) issued by the US government. Each entry includes a description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.
Provides a basic overview and detailed information on environmental topics including the atmosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere, and geosphere.
BIOSIS Previews directs users to information on life science topics from botany to microbiology to pharmacology, serving to connect researchers with critical international journal coverage, meeting and conference reports, books and patents.