Non-Fiction Books Primarily about the 1898 Incident:
Cecelski, David S. and Timothy B. Tyson, eds. Democracy Betrayed: The Wilmington Race Riot of 1898 and Its Legacy.
General Collection F264.W7 D46 1998
SENC-Books F264.W7 D46 1998
netLibrary
Hayden, Harry. The story of the Wilmington rebellion.
SENC-Books F264 .W7 H29 1936
Hossfeld, Leslie H. Narrative, political unconscious and racial violence in Wilmington, North Carolina.
General Collection F264 .W7 H67 2005
SENC-Books F264 .W7 H67 2005
Kirk, J. Allen. Statement of the Facts Concerning the Bloody Riot in Wilmington, N.C., of Interest to Every Citizen in the United States.
Included in Manuscript Collection 69
Documenting the American South Website
Prather, H. Leon. We Have Taken a City : Wilmington Racial Massacre and Coup of 1898.
General Collection F263.5 .P7 1984
SENC-Books F263.5 .P7 1984
Umfleet, LeRae. 1898 Wilmington race riot report, draft.
Reserves F3 102:W75 ncdocs
1898 Race Riot Commission Website
Non-Fiction Books with chapters about the 1898 Incident:
Edmonds, Helen G. The Negro and Fusion Politics in North Carolina, 1894-1901.
General Collection E185.93 N6 E4 1973
Gilmore, Glenda Elizabeth. Gender and Jim Crow: Women and the Politics of White Supremacy in North Carolina, 1896-1920.
General Collection E185.93 N6 G55 1996
Reaves, Bill. "Strength Through Struggle": The Chronological and Historical Record of the African-American Community in Wilmington, North Carolina 1865-1950.
General Collection F264.W7 R42 1998
Reference Collection F264.W7 R42 1998
SENC-Books F264.W7 R42 1998
Shapiro, Herbert. White Violence and Black Response: From Reconstruction to Montgomery Amherst.
General Collection E185.2.S52 1988
Smith McKoy, Sheila. When whites riot : writing race and violence in American and South African cultures.
General Collection E184 .A1 S664 2001
SENC-Books E184 .A1 S664 2001
Sprunt, James. Chronicles of the Cape Fear River, Being Some Account of Historic Events on the Cape Fear River.
Special-Books F262.C2 S68
Sprunt. James. Chronicles of the Cape Fear River, 1660-1916.
Reference Collection F262.C2 S68 1973
General Collection F262.C2 S68 1992
SENC-Books F262.C2 S68 1916 and F262.C2 S68 1992
Tyson, Timothy B. Blood done sign my name : a true story.
Recreational Reading Collection F264 .O95 T97 2004 and F264 .O95 T97 2004b
Audiobook Collection F264 .O95 T97 2004c
Waddell, Alfred M. Some Memories of My Life.
General Collection E664.W115 A3
SENC-Books E664.W115 A3
Dissertations, Theses, and Other Research Papers:
Byrd, John Timothy. The disfranchisement of blacks in New Hanover County, North Carolina.
Microfilm LD3941.8 R63 1998 Reel 1
Cody, Sue Ann. After the Storm : Racial Violence in Wilmington, North Carolina and Its Consequences for African Americans, 1898-1905
General Collection LD3971.7.H5 2000 .C62
Archives
Glancy, Michael L. The Wilmington Riot of November 10, 1898.
General Collection F263.5 .G45
SENC-Books F263.5 .G45
Higuchi, Hayumi. White Supremacy on the Cape Fear: The Wilmington Affair of 1898.
Microfilm Collection F264.W7 H53 1980a
Hodges, Alexander Weld. Josephus Daniels, Precipitator of the Wilmington Race Riot of 1898.
General Collection F263.5 .H62 1990
SENC-Books F263.5 .H62 1990
Hossfeld, Leslie H. They Say the River Ran Red with Blood: Narrative, Political Unconscious and Racial Violence in Wilmington
General Collection F264.W7 H68 2003a
Kirshenbaum, Andrea Meryl. Race, Gender, and Riot : the Wilmington, North Carolina White Supremacy Campaign of 1898.
General Collection F263.5 .K57 1996
Kornegay, Ralph B. The Wilmington Riot, November 10, 1898.
General Collection F263.5 .K6
SENC-Books F263.5 .K6
Kraft, Andrew Clinton. Wilmington's Political-Racial Revolution of 1898 : a Geographical and CartographicAnalysis of the Wilmington North Carolina Race Riot.
General Collection LD3971.7.H6 1993 .K72
Archives LD3971.7.H6 1993 .K72
McDuffie, Jerome A. Politics in Wilmington and New Hanover County, North Carolina, 1865-1900: The Genesis of a Race Riot.
General Collection F263.5 .M3 1979a
Microfilm F263.5 .M3 1979
SENC-Books F263.5 .M3 1979a
McDuffie, Jerome A. The Wilmington Riots of November 10, 1898.
General Collection F263.5 .M32
SENC-Books F263.5 .M32
Smith McKoy, Sheila. Riot : Episodes of Racialized Violence in Africa and African American Culture.
General Collection PS374.N4 M38 1994
Microfilm PS374.N4 M38 1994
Rivers, Patrick. Unholy Minglings: Miscegenation and the White Revolution in Wilmington, North Carolina, 1898-1900.
Microfilm LD3941.8.R63 1998 Reel 1
Wooley, Robert Howard. Race and Politics : the Evolution of the White Supremacy Campaign of 1898 in North Carolina.
General Collection E185.93.N6 W66 1977
Microfilm E185.93.N6 W66 1977
Novels
Bland, Celia. The Conspiracy of the Secret Nine.
Juvenile Fiction B61c
SENC-Juvenile B61c
Upperman Collection-Juvenile B61c
Chesnutt, Charles W. The Marrow of Tradition.
General Collection PS1292.C6 M3 1969
Special-Books PS1292.C6 M3 1901
Documenting the American South Website
Gerard, Philip. Cape Fear Rising.
General Collection PS3557.E635 C36 1994
SENC-Books PS3557.E635 C36 1994
Thorne, Jack [pseudeonym for David Bryant Fulton]. Hanover, or, The Persecution of the Lowly, a Story of the Wilmington Massacre.
General Collection PS3511.U6625 H3 1969
Documenting the American South Website
Manuscripts and Other Collections
1898 Centennial Foundation Commemoration Documents. Special-Manuscript MS 217
Contains the official records of the 1898 Centennial Foundation, newspaper clippings about the commemoration activities, and some photocopies of reference materials about race relations and the 1898 racial violence.
Confronting dangerous memories : Wilmington's Centennial Commemoration of the Coup of 1898.
SENC-Books F264 .W7 C66 1999
Minute Book of the 1898 Foundation, Inc.
SENC-Books HD62.6 E43 1996
No more sorrow to arise : 1898 commemorative drama, November 3-5 Thalian Hall, 1998.
SENC-Books F263.3 .N67 1998
Source Documents of the Wilmington Riot of November 10, 1898. (photocopy.) Special Collections, Special-Manuscript MS 69
Contains photocopies of newspaper clippings, correspondence, Resolution by " White People of Wilmington and New Hanover County " and memoirs by Thomas W. Clawson, George Rountree, B. F. Keith, and Rev. J. Allen Kirk.
McDonald-Howe Family Papers, 1861-1966. Special Collections, Special-Manuscript MS 34
Contains an undated eyewitness account of the violence by Mrs. N. McDonald Cotton, providing a rare account from an African American witness.
Moore, Susan Eugenia Beery, Wilmington, to an unnamed newspaper editor, n.d. Autograph letter signed. Special Collections, Special-Manuscript MS 130
Describes the involvement of Roger Moore, husband of Susan Eugenia Beery Moore, and Dr. J. E. Matthews during the Wilmington Riot of 1898.
Wilmington Town Minutes.
Microfilm F262 .W7 W54
Media
The 1898 Wilmington Racial Violence and Its Legacy [video recording] : A Symposium. SENC Video F263.5 .E53 1998 (5 video cassettes)
A video presentation of 1998 UNCW symposium lectures on 1898 riot in Wilmington, North Carolina.
DeCoursey, Francine. Remembering 1898: Moving Forward Together, Wilmington, North Carolina: A Community Effort Toward Reconciliation.
A/V Videocassettes F263.5 .R45 2002
SENC-Video F263.5 .R45 2002
National Public Radio. " Report Released on 1898 North Carolina Race Riot."
"WECT-TV news coverage of 1898 riot commemoration event."
SENC-Video F263.5 .W42 1998