Randall Library Home

Flash Fiction 2013: The Winners!

The judges have made decisions in our annual Flash Fiction contest and for the first time ever there is a tie for first place!  

Congratulations to Nicola DeRobertis-Theye and Rachel Richardson whose stories Alphabets and The Architect (respectively) both earn the distinction of coming out on top!

This year's second place prize is awarded to Anastasia Hilton for her story The Zoo and third place to L.B. Lane's Bloomers.

In addition to a cash prize, all winners will be published in our annual Flash Fiction anthology produced by UNCW's Publishing Lab with illustrations provided by one section of ART260.  Also featured in the anthology will be the stories of 11 Honorable Mentions, listed here in alphabetical order:

Derek Backer, Blair Callahan, Garrard Conley, Jennifer A. Dotsey, Heather Hammerbeck, Sarah V. Howard, Lucy Huber, Rachel Jackson, Louis Lalire, Ryan Geoffrey Smith, and Isabel Zermani. 

This year's theme was Laboratory and our hope was to engage students in a discussion about the changing landscape of academic libraries.  Submissions ranged from the creative and touching to the wacky and humorous.  

Please join us on Thursday, April 18 at 6 p.m., for a reading/reception/book party.