North Carolina Resident Borrowers
Welcome to the William Madison Randall Library
North Carolina residents (over 18 and out of high school) may purchase a Borrower's Card, valid for one year, for $25.00 upon presentation of a valid North Carolina driver's license or a valid military ID. The $25.00 fee is waived for citizens over 65 years of age.
How to borrow materials
When borrowing materials, please observe a few regulations:
- NC Resident borrowers may have as many as four (4) items checked out. In addition, you may borrow as many U.S.. or N.C.. Government documents as you wish.
- Audiovisual materials may be checked out of the building for seven (7) days.
- Collections restricted to in library use include periodicals, reference, index, Curriculum Materials, Special Collections (rare books, Southeastern North Carolina Collection, manuscripts) and the University Archives.
- Randall Library provides an extensive array of electronic databases, most of which are available to the general public on computers in the library.
- Please remember that borrowing privileges are not transferable with one exception. High school students enrolled in grades 9-12 may be added as an authorized user to an adult parent's or guardian's borrower's card. By sponsoring their child, the parent or guardian assumes responsibility for the return of all materials and the payment of any charges assessed for damage or over dues. To check out materials, the high school student should present their parent's or guardian's borrower card and their high school identification card or driver's license at the Randall Library Circulation Desk.
- Borrowers are responsible for items checked out until the items are returned to the Circulation Desk. Lost or damaged materials must be paid for.
- Most items may be renewed at the Circulation Desk. Unless overdue or requested by another user, items may also be renewed by telephone (962-3272), or using the Library's online system.
The loan period is:
- 28 days for books from the general and juvenile collections and for government documents.
- 21 days for books from the featured new books collection.
- Audiobooks, DVDs, VHS tapes, and CDs circulate for seven (7) days.
- Reference items and periodicals must be used in the building.
You may renew overdue materials online (access My Library Record,) by phone (910-962-3272), or in-person but if another person has placed a hold (request) on an item, renewal is not permitted.
A/V Renewals: Renewals for videos, DVD's, CDs and audiobooks are limited to two (2) per item.
Featured New Books: Renewals for this collection are limited to one (1).
The library does not charge fines but borrowing privileges may be revoked if a user continually has overdue books. If items are not returned or renewed, bills will be issued for items that are at least 45 days overdue. The bill will include the replacement cost and a $15.00 non-refundable billing fee per item. If items are returned to the Library within two months after a bill has been issued, a waiver of the replacement charge(s) may be requested but the non-refundable billing fee(s) will not be waived.
Payment of Charges
Payment may be made by check, cash (exact change only) or with Visa or MasterCard at the Circulation Desk; checks should be made out to UNCW.
- Collections restricted to in library use include periodicals, reference, index, Special Collections and the University Archives.
- No holds (i.e.. requests for items already checked out) are allowed.
- NC Resident borrowers are not eligible for UNCW's Interlibrary Borrowing services. Please use your local public library for this service.
- NC Resident borrowers are not eligible for laptop, equipment or eReader checkout.
- NC Resident borrowers are not eligible for Reserve material checkout.
Please inquire at the Research Help Desk for assistance in using the Library. We hope that you will enjoy using the Randall Library.
Questions about this policy may be addressed to brownmd [at] uncw [dot] edu (Dawn Brown), Circulation Supervisor.
Last Update: September 17, 2012.