| Connecting to Biological Abstracts |
| Searching Biological Abstracts 2 ("+" refers to an advantage and "-" refers to a downside) |
| Search Principle 1: Free-text v. Field-specific | |
| Free-text: Free-text words are key words that are important to the topic and finds words or phrases anywhere in the record. | Field-specific: Field Specific words include the scientific terms and focuses the search on a specific part of the record (e.g. author field, subject field) |
|
|
| For example: Let's let's say you want information on the role of algae in fish kills. The Free-text (key) words would be "algae" and "fish kills." Notice that these search terms are separated by an operator. |
For example: Genetic-polymorphism Pfiesteria-piscicida Chaetoceros-calcitrans. |
|
Search Principle 2: Controlled Vocabulary (Terms in Thesauri and Index) |
|
|
The free text index contains a sorted list of all the terms that were used
to index the database. It allows you to look up, select, and search for variations of a term. The free text index is particularly useful if you are uncertain of the spelling of a term or how the terms appear in the database. Since the free text index shows all terms that have been used in indexing, your search will always yield results. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Search Principle 4: Proximity Operators |
|
|
|
Search Principle 4: Wildcards |
|
| HOW TO SEARCH FOR AN AUTHOR USING THE INDEX |
| For best results, use the Free-text Index to select authors' names. The normal form of
author's name in Biological Abstracts is last name and initials, e.g.,
Mallin-M-A. However, if there is any variation in the name,
such as Mallin-M, using the Index will show it to you.
Click the |
| Reading and Understanding Biological Abstracts Records |
Sample Record using the search: North Carolina and (fish kills or Pfiesteria)
| 1 AU: Castro-Jose-J {a}; Caballero-Catalina SO: Aggressive-Behavior. 1998; 24 (3) 197-204. FTXT: EBSCOhost EJS WEBLH: Search Randall Library Holdings Complete Record In Database: Biological Abstracts 1998/07-1998/12. |
Each "record"
(citation) is divided into "fields." The "fields" begin with two letter
labels.
Ex: TI = title
AU = author
SO = source
PY = publication year
LA = language
AB = abstract (not all records will include this field)
AN = accession number
UD = update code
= available in Randall Library
To identify more
fields, click on Complete
Record
under the record (citation).
Sample Complete Record:
|
Other fields include:
| Abstract Indicator | indicates if the record contains an abstract. A "y" in this field identifies a record that includes an abstract. |
| Major Concepts | contains the broad subject areas in the life sciences covered in the source document. Use hyphens when searching for multi-term concepts. The 168 Major Concepts are listed in the Thesaurus. |
| Super Taxa | contains high-level taxonomic terms used to permit retrieval of citations that refer to broad categories of organisms, including microorganisms. Use hyphens when searching multi-term names. For a broader search, use the Subject Terms (TS) field. |
| Organisms | contains the formal scientific or informal common name for organisms (living, extinct, or fossil), the higher taxonomic categories, or the names of cell lines referenced in the source document. This field may also contain additional controlled and non-controlled terms that relate to the organism(s) discussed in the source document. Use the Thesaurus to locate appropriate controlled terms. Use hyphens when searching multi-term names. For a broader search, use the Subject Terms (TS) field. |
| Taxa Notes | contains the common names of broad groups of organisms and microorganisms referenced in the source document. Use hyphens when searching by multi-term names. For a broader search, use the Subject Terms (TS) field. |
| Miscellaneous Descriptors | contains additional words and phrases, added by BIOSIS editors, that do not fit into any of the other fielded categories. Literalizations are substituted for special characters and symbols, such as Greek letters. |
| Does Randall Library Own the Article Cited? |
To find out if Randall
Library owns the periodical cited, click on the Search
Randall Library Holdings link at the
bottom of
each citation. A catalog record for the periodical displays if
Randall Library owns it.
Periodicals
are located on the
ground floor of
Randall Library.
NOTE: The check for holdings works by matching the journal's International Standard Serial Number (ISSN). If it is not entered in the Biological Abstracts record or is entered incorrectly, the match may not work even though the library owns the publication. Biological Abstracts' quality control seems quite good, but you may wish to double check journal titles in the catalog with a journal title search.
| Can the Full Text Article Be Found Online? |
You may come across a citation
that includes this field: FTXT: Clicking on the "linked database
name" will open up the
full text article in
a new window.
| Printing Citations from Biological Abstracts |
1. Check the article abstracts you want to
send by pressing the mouse in the box to the left of the abstract.
2. Select the "
"
icon to the right of the search screen.
3. Select the options you would like your print out to have.
4. Click on the "
"
button.
| E-mailing Citations from Biological Abstracts |
1. Check the article
abstracts you want to send by clicking in the box to the left of the abstract.
2. Select the "
"
button to the right of the search screen. The e-mail delivery screen appears.
3. In the "Mail Records to:" box, type in a complete e-mail address.
4. In the "Mail Subject" box, type "Biological Abstracts"
or another phrase that describes your search.
5. Click on the
at the top of the page.
Saving Citations from Biological Abstracts
There is also the option to save the citations you've
retrieved through your search. Check the article(s) you want to
save to a disk and click on the
icon. The next page will ask you which records you want to save,
which
fields you want to save and will automatically include the
search history and field labels.
If you need anymore help searching Biological Abstracts click on the Help link at the top right of the page.
|
|
1
"Systematic Thesaurus." BIOSIS,
http://www.biosis.org/free_resources/zr_taxhier.html
(Last accessed 2/5/2003).
2 Modified with thanks to Sue Cody, Randall Library, University of North
Carolina-Wilmington.
3 Recall essentially means retrieving everything important to your
topic.
4 Relevance requires choices about what is most important.