ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information
Center database, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and
education-related journals. This database also contains full text of more than
2,200 digests along with references for additional information. The ERIC
database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in
education, containing over a million citations.
| What
Dates Are Available In ERIC? |
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
database consists of two integrated files:
- ERIC Journal (EJ) records index articles
from over 750 professional journals in education and related disciplines. Indexing
dates back to 1969.
- ERIC Document (ED) records index a variety
of documents which are available on microfiche and some are full text in the database. Documents include research reports, curriculum
guides, handbooks, conference papers, etc. Indexing dates back to 1966.
1. Go to the Randall Library's Homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu)
2. Click on "Search the Research Databases" Databases are listed alphabetically.
3. Select ERIC (EBSCOHost) from the
list.
If you are connecting to ERIC from off campus, complete instructions for
off-campus set up are located at
http://library.uncwil.edu/offcampus.html
Create a search statement consisting of the following two items:
- Key words/terms (literal words) are important words that describe your concept.
- Search operators (logical words) are important words that instruct the system to
relate your key words in a certain way.
AND instructs the system to retrieve both words it joins out of one
single citation. AND is restrictive
OR instructs the system to retrieve either word it joins out of one
single citation. OR is expansive.
For example: teaching and pottery
teaching and (pottery or ceramics)
When choosing terms to search, consider using ERIC Descriptors, ERIC's
controlled vocabulary of indexing terms. The advantages of using these
terms are:
- Consistency -- you don't have to think of every conceivable synonym
for a term.
- Recall -- using the "approved" descriptor term may increase your
retrieval. For instance, a keyword search on "teacher retention" only
retrieves about 150 records. A search on the descriptor "Teacher
Persistence" retrieves nearly 800 records.
- Relevancy -- if a record has the term as a descriptor, you know it
is a key point of the article or document.
- "Major Concept" -- It is possible to further designate the term as
a major concept. A few descriptors in each record are designated as the
major topics covered.
- "Explode" -- This operation, available in the Thesaurus search,
automatically selects the term you chose plus all the narrower terms in the
Thesaurus hierarchy for that term.
One disadvantage of the ERIC descriptors is they are slow to change.
So, if the term you are searching is not a descriptor, do a keyword search
instead. If you don't find your term in the Thesaurus, do a keyword search
and look at a few records retrieved to see if a descriptor term describing your
topic is in a record. Then, do a new search on that descriptor.
To use the online Thesaurus, click the Thesaurus tab near the top of the
page. Enter your term in the "Browse for" box. You can easily select
terms from the lists to include in your search without re-keying. You can
also use the EBSCOhost Advanced search page:
- Select "Advanced."
- Select the arrow by the first blank box,
and select "SU Subject."
- Key in the thesaurus term, and submit the
search. (You may combine thesaurus terms by keying in thesaurus terms in
each box--as long as you have selected "SU Subject.")
A paper copy of the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors is availalbe in the
US Documents Collection.
Mandatory Education Level Descriptors
If an article or document relates to a specific educational level, it must be
labeled with at least one of the following "Mandatory Education Level
Descriptors." If an article relates to Grade 3, for instance, it will be
indexed under "Primary Education." An article that discusses education for
toddlers would be indexed under "Preschool Education." A more general
article about the development of children from pre-kindergarten through Grade 3
would be indexed under "Early Childhood Education." Consider using the
most specific of these education level descriptors. If you want to broaden
your search, go to a higher level in the hierarchy.
.Early Childhood Education: Birth through Grade 3
..Preschool Education: Birth through entrance to Kindergarten
..Primary Education: Kindergarten through Grade 3
.Elementary Secondary Education: Kindergarten through Grade 12
..Elementary Education: Kindergarten through Grade 6, 7, or 8
...Adult Basic Education: Education for adults at the elementary level (through
Grade 8)
...Primary Education: Kindergarten through Grade 3
...Intermediate Grades: Middle and/or upper elementary grades, usually 4, 5, and
6
..Middle Schools (added 1999): Various combinations of Grades 5-9, mainly 6-8
..Secondary Education: Grades 7 through 12
...Junior High Schools: Grades 7 through 9
...High Schools: Grades 9 or 10 through 12
...High School Equivalency Programs: Adult education leading to high
school equivalency certificate.
.Postsecondary Education: All education beyond Grade 12
..Higher Education: All education beyond Grade 12 leading to a formal
degree
..Two Year Colleges: Postsecondary institutions providing at least 2 but
not 4 years of education.
Education Level is one of the "Limit" options on
the EBSCOhost Advanced Search page.
To view ERIC records, click the title of the citation.
ERIC indexes two kinds of records: journal articles, and ERIC documents. ERIC
documents are typically unpublished materials, such as curriculum guides, conference papers,
handbooks, etc. Occasionally, books are also included as ERIC documents.
Most ERIC documents are available on microfiche. Documents added since
1996 are also available full-text online. Links to full-text are in the
ERIC database record.
To identify which format is being cited, look for the "ERIC No." near the bottom
of the record. If the number begins with EJ, the citation is a journal
article. If it begins with ED, the citation is an ERIC document.
If the item is an ERIC document, look at the NOTE field to identify the purpose of the
document. Many ERIC documents are quite long, so be careful to check
before printing.
ED Documents:
If the full text document is not available in EBSCO Host then you will want to use the microfiche collection. The ED collection is on the ground floor of
the library. Search by the six-digit ERIC No. Read and print the item in the
Microforms Reader/Printer Room.
EJ Documents: If the article in EBSCOhost is not available in full-text online then click the "Check library catalog
for title" in each
record to search the Library automatically. If the record contains a
"Linked Full Text" link, it is available in full text online through one of the
EBSCOhost databases.
Interlibrary Loan - You may request
copies of articles from Interlibrary Loan if Randall Library does not subscribe to the
periodical cited. Please allow two to three weeks for the materials to arrive.
UNCW students, faculty and staff are eligible for this service. Register
and submit your requests
online.
Select the "Print/E-mail/Save" button while
viewing the record. You can also add records to a folder for batch
printing. But, don't let too much time pass before printing so you don't
lose your records.
- Select "Advanced." Key in your search.
- Scroll to the bottom of the screen to the box entitled,
"Special Limiters for ERIC." Click the arrow by the line, "Journal or
Document." Select "Journal Article."
- Submit your search.
Advanced searching has other limit capabilities, too, including educational
level, publication type, and target audience.
Last Update: December 12, 2005