this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

MLA International Bibliography


Connecting to MLA 

Searching MLA 
Reading and Understanding MLA Records
Does Randall Library Own the Article Cited?
Printing and Emailing from MLA
Specialized Searches in MLA
How to Use the Thesaurus

MLA includes indexes and abstracts articles on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide.  It also covers relevant books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.  Produced by the Modern Language Association.

Connecting to MLA 

1.   Go to the Randall Library's Homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu)
2.   Click on "Database and Article Searching."  Databases are listed alphabetically.
3.   Select MLA from the list.

If you are connecting to MLA from off campus, complete instructions for off-campus set up are located at http://library.uncwil.edu/homelist.html.

Searching MLA 


1. SEARCH STATEMENTS:

    MLA Search statements consist of a) literal words and b) logical words

    Literal Words
    Literal words are key words that are important to the topic. Let's look at two topics: first, you want information on social 
    class in literature.  The literal (key) words you should choose would be "social," "class." Another topic could be the role 
    of women in the works of Faulkner and O'Connor. The literal (key) words would be "women" "Faulkner," and "O'Connor."

    Logical Words
    Logical words, also called "operators," instruct the system to retrieve records containing the literal words according to 
    the logic assigned. (Ex: "and", "or")

2.  COMBINING SEARCHES:

        AND retrieves records containing BOTH words. For instance, the search statement, "social and class," retrieves
        records that contain both words. AND is restrictive.

            VARIANTS OF "AND"

            WITH retrieves records with both search terms in the same field. For example, the statement "social 
            with class" retrieves records in which the two words, "social" and "class" appear in a single field, but 
            they may be separated by several sentences.

            NEAR retrieves records with both search terms in the same sentence. For example, the statement 
            "social near class" retrieves records in which both terms, "social" and "class" appear in the same 
            sentence, but in anyorder.

            **NOTE: Add a number next to near to specify how close the terms are to appear to each other. 
            For example "social near2 class" retrieves records in which the words "social" and "class" appear 
            within two words of each other.

            ADJ retrieves records with search terms next to each other in a specified order. For example, the 
            statement "social adj class" retrieves records in which the term "social" immediately precedes "class."


        [No operator]--includes both terms beside each other--[ex. William Faulkner]

        OR retrieves records containing EITHER word. For instance, the search statement, "Faulkner or O'Connor," 
        retrieves records containing either "Faulkner" or "O'Connor." The records do not have to contain both words. 
        OR is expansive.

3.  COMPLEX SEARCH STATEMENTS--USING PARENTHESES:

    Search statements are complex when you use more than one operator in a statement, especially "AND
    (or one of its variants) and "OR."

        Ex. women and (Faulkner or O'Connor)

    Placing parentheses around "Faulkner or O'Connor" nests those two words, so that the system knows the order in 
    which to search. To put it simply, the numbers of records comes out right when you use parentheses.


4. After you enter the search statement, click on the Search button.

Reading and Understanding MLA Records

Sample Record:

The Tyranny of Things (Trivia in Karl Marx and Mark Twain) By: Brown, Bill; Critical Inquiry, 2002 Winter; 28 (2): 442-69. (journal article)
Linked Full TextLinked Full Text  

   Sample Complete Record:

Title: The Tyranny of Things (Trivia in Karl Marx and Mark Twain)
Author(s): Brown, Bill
Source: Critical Inquiry (CritI) 2002 Winter; 28 (2): 442-69. [Journal Detail]
ISSN: 0093-1896
General Subject Areas: Subject Literature: American literature;
Period: 1800-1899;
Primary Subject Author: Clemens, Samuel;
Genre: fiction; and prose;
Subject Terms: treatment of objectstrivia; relationship to commodity fetishism; compared to Marx, Karl
General Subject Areas: Subject Literature: German literature;
Period: 1800-1899;
Primary Subject Author: Marx, Karl;
Genre: prose;
Subject Terms: treatment of objectstrivia; relationship to commodity fetishism; compared to Clemens, Samuel
Document Information: Publication Type: journal article Language of Publication: English Update Code: 200201 Sequence Numbers: 2002-1-11541; 2002-2-4977
Accession Number: 2002630040
Database: MLA International Bibliography
Persistent Link to this Article:
Does Randall Library Own the Article Cited?

     To find out if Randall Library owns the periodical cited, click on the Check library catalog for title link at the bottom of
     each citation. A catalog record for the periodical displays if Randall Library owns it. Periodicals are located on the ground
     floor of Randall Library.

Printing Citations

    To print the abstracts or full text articles from MLA, click on the Print button at the top of the page.

E-mailing Citations  

    1. Check the article abstracts you want to send by pressing the mouse in the box to the left of the abstract.
    2. Click on the E-mail   button at the top of the search screen. The e-mail delivery screen appears.
    3. Type in a complete e-mail address.
    4. In the "Subject:" box, type "MLA Abstracts" or another phrase that describes your search.

Saving Citations

    There is also the option to save the citations you've retrieved through your search.  Check the article(s) you want to 
    save to a disk and click on the folders link at the top of the page.  Next click on the Save button.  

Specialized Searches in MLA

    A.  To limit searches to journal articles only
        To narrow your search to journal articles only, limit your publication type to "journal articles".

    B.  Searching for entries on a particular work or an author


        1.Click on the "author"button 
        2.Type name of work in TERM box. If you are searching for an author, type last name in first.
        3.Select work from the list that displays.

        Or you can choose the advance search option and change the "default" to "author"

How to Search the Thesaurus

    Use the thesaurus when you want the official, controlled vocabulary for a topic.  For instance, you want to search the 
    topic, night terrors. 
        1.    To use the thesaurus, click on the "thesaurus" button.
        2.    Enter who done it fiction.  The system responds, "who-done-it fiction, see detective-fiction."
        3.    When you click "detective-fiction," the system responds with the thesaurus entry on that topic, including cross
               references to other related thesaurus entries.
        4.     To search "detective-fiction," click the "Search Subject" button at the top of the screen.

If you need anymore help searching MLA International Bibliography click on the Help link at the top right of the page.


Last Update: December 12, 2005