Freely available on the Internet, PubMed is a database developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine. Higly regarded by scientists, PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database available. |
![]() |
PubMed provides access to more than 15 million citations and abstracts from nearly 5,000 biomedical and life science journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. PubMed also includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources; coverage extends from the 1950s to the present. |
|
For more information or assistance on using PubMed, please see the PubMed HELP file or tutorials.
Each citation appear as a record containing searchable fields, including:
| Basic Search Techniques (Back to Top) |
PubMed searching is relatively easy, just enter
search terms in the query box, and press Enter or click Go. The Features
bar is located directly beneath the query box provides access to additional search
options. A very useful tutorial of the PubMed homepage is available at this web
address: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m2002.html
The PubMed query box and Features bar are available from every screen, so you
don't need to return to the homepage to enter a new search.
Field Tags:
Use
PubMed's search field tags to refine your search strategy. Enter the specific
term qualified with the appropriate search field tag. Below is a list of some of
the more frequently used PubMed search field tags with examples of how to use
them. A complete list of search field tags is available in the Additional
Search Commands Section, Search Field Descriptions and Tags in PubMed's
Online Help.
Common Field Tags:
| Affiliation [AD] Author [AU] Journal Title Abbreviation [TA] Language [LA] MeSH Terms [MH] Personal Name as Subject [PS] Publication Date [DP] Publication Type [PT] |
Subset [SB] AIDS = aids [sb] Bioethics = bioethics [sb] Complementary and Alternative Medicine = cam [sb] History of Medicine = history [sb] Toxicology = tox [sb] Text Words [TW] Title Words [TI] |
Author Searching:
Enter the author's name
in the format of last name first followed by initials (e.g., koshland me).
Initials are optional. However, to search for an author in the author field when
only the last name is available it's best to qualify the author name with the
author search field tag [au].
| Example 1: hagley rd | Example 2: hagley [au] |
Keyword Searching:
Enter one or more
subject terms (e.g., molecular motors) in the query box and click Go.
PubMed will search terms as phrases under the following circumstances:
| Examples: | |
| The phrase is entered with a search tag: | molecular motors [ti] |
| The phrase is enclosed in double quotes. | "molecular motors" |
| The term is hyphenated: | molecular-motors |
| The term is truncated: | molecular-motor* |
Journal Searching:
To retrieve articles in
a specific journal, enter the full journal title (e.g. Current Biology) or use
the MEDLINE title abbreviation (e.g. curr biol) in the query box. Qualify
single word journal titles using the Journal Title [ta] search field tag. (e.g.
Cell [ta]).
Truncation:
Use an asterisk (*) at the end
of a search term to find multiple endings of a term. For example, bacter* retrieves bacteria, bacterium,
bacteriophage, etc. Truncation turns off automatic term mapping and the
automatic explosion of a MeSH term.
Limits:
Click on 'Limits' on the Features
bar to go to the Limits page. Using pull-down lists you can restrict the search
to frequently used publication types such as review, or Entrez date, the
date when a citation was added to the PubMed system. Use fill-in boxes if you
want to restrict by publication date. Limits remain in effect until you
remove the check to the left of 'Limits' on the Features bar. Limits other
than language or date will exclude "records in process". A very useful tutorial
explaining Limits is available at this address: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m4002.html
Boolean operators:
Use to combine terms or
phrases. AND,
OR,
and NOT must be entered in UPPERCASE. PubMed processes all Boolean
connectors in a left-to-right sequence. To change the order in which search
statements are processed, enclose a concept in parentheses, e.g. "common cold" AND
("vitamin c" OR zinc). Terms inside a set of parentheses are processed as a unit
and then incorporated into the overall strategy.
|
Example of a Boolean
Search depicted using Ven Diagrams |
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
chickenpox AND diagnosis = 2005 hits |
chickenpox OR diagnosis = 4,829,087 hits |
History:
Found on the Features bar,
History holds all your search strategies and results. Combine searches or add
additional terms to an existing search by using the pound sign (#) before the
search number, e.g., #2 AND (#6 OR #3) AND microarray. A very useful tutorial
explaining the History is available at this address: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m4006.html
Related Articles:
Clicking on the
"related articles" link next to a citation will retrieve closely
related citations. The original citation is always displayed first in the new
list.
Clipboard:
The Clipboard is a place to collect selected
citations from one search or several searches. Citations are added to the
clipboard by selecting Clipboard from the "Send to" pulldown list.
(see below). Once you have added items to the Clipboard, you can click on
Clipboard from the Features bar to view your selections. Within the Clipboard
you can Sort results by author, journal title, or publication date using
a pulldown list. A very useful tutorial explaining the Clipboard is available at
this address: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m4014.html
| Advanced Search Techniques (Back to Top) |
MeSH [mh] or [majr]: MeSH is the acronym for "Medical Subject Headings." MeSH is the authority list of the vocabulary terms used for subject analysis of biomedical literature at the National Library of Medicine. The MeSH controlled vocabulary is a distinctive feature of MEDLINE, which imposes uniformity and consistency to the indexing of biomedical literature. The [majr] tag retrieves all MeSH terms that are marked as being of major importance in an article. Use either search field tag to search. For more information on MeSH, please see the Medical Subject Headings page at the National Library of Medicine.
Example 1: Looking up
MeSH subject headings in PubMed
Example 2: Database finds the official MeSH
subject heading: "Technology, Medical"
and offers Suggestions and Subheadings
Example 3: Using the MeSH
subject headings to find subheadings about specific-related topics.
Note: Searching with only MeSH terms will exclude "MEDLINE record in process" citations as they have not yet been indexed with MeSH.
Explode feature: MeSH terms are
automatically exploded by PubMed; that is, all terms which are logical
subsets of the term entered are also included. For instance, vision disorders
includes blindness. MeSH terms found using the "All Fields"
search, however, are NOT exploded. If you want to turn off the automatic
explosion enter the MeSH and qualify it with [mh:noexp].
| Reading and Understanding PubMed Records (Back to Top) |
PubMed abbreviates the journal titles of all articles that are indexed indexed in the database. To determine what the journal abbreviation stands for, you will need to search the Journals Database, which is located on the left of the screen PubMed Services. Simply type the abbreviation of the journal in the query box, and the database will translate it into the full name of the journal. For help understanding a PubMed citation, please see the sample record at the following address. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m3003.html
| Does Randall Library Own The Article Cited? (Back to Top) |
The PubMed database is a stand alone database. This means that if you enter a search, PubMed will only tell you what has been published on the term(s) that you entered. You will then need to search the library's catalog to see if the library subscribes to the journal referencing your article. By searching the library's catalog, you will be able to determine if the library has print and/or electronic access to the journal referencing your article.
Example:

If Randall Library subscribes to that journal, you will then need to see if the library has the particular volume and issue of that journal in which your article appeared. If the library has the issue, you can then go retrieve it from the stacks or download it to your computer.
| What if the Library doesn't own the journal in which your article was published? (Back to Top) |
Use Randall Library's Interlibrary
Loan and Document Delivery service, and the library will order articles
you need from another library. This is a FREE
service for students, faculty, and staff at UNCW. You do not need to know which
library owns the journal that you need. Simply login into your ILLiad account
and provide us with the citation, and we'll obtain the article for you. It
generally takes 3-4 days for the library to process your request and obtain the
article, so don't wait until the last minute for materials that you need!
To access this service, please see Randall Library's homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu) and under the Library Services section click on the following: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery