this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

ScienceDirect



Connecting to ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is available to UNCW students, faculty and staff. From the Library Homepage click on Databases,
then click on ScienceDirect. To begin click on "group-wide login".

If you are connecting to
ScienceDirect from off campus, complete instructions for off-campus set up are located at http://library.uncwil.edu/homelist.html.

You can also access an Elsevier online journal via the library catalog. Choose Search library catalog by journal title. Click the link "Full text available..."

Example

Browsing Journal Titles

Click "Browse" on the ScienceDirect menu bar, to view and browse title list of journals. Journals are grouped in subject categories. The default grouping is "All Sciences" to change your subject view select another subject in the Subject View drop-down menu at the top of the page.

Example


Display
Once you have selected a Subject View you can display the type of journal list you want to browse. From the Display drop-down box select the type journal list you wish to browse:  (see example below)

Sort
You can also sort your list. From the Sort drop-down box, select a sorting option to organize the journal list you wish to browse. (see example below)
  • Select by Title and journals are displayed in alphabetical order.
  • Select by Subject   
    Journals are organized according to their subject category. (This is the default selection for Sort.) To display the journal titles which are within a specific subject category, click on the subject category. A subject category may have more than one level (or a hierarchy). For example: Mathematics/Mathematics (General)
  • Select by Publisher and journals are organized by their publisher.

The example below illustrates which Mathematical/Mathematics (General) journals are available. Remember the green icon means UNCW has full text access to those journals. You can click on a title to browse an issue. For journals that we do not subscribe to you can view only the table of contents.

Example

 

Searching ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is not case sensitive. If you use the singular form of a word ScienceDirect will also search for the plural and possessive form of the word assuming it has standard endings. The truncation symbol in ScienceDirect is an ! 
For more tips click the search tips button at the bottom of the search form. (See example below)

Basic Search (this is the default search mode).
Click the Search button at the top of the page and, then click the Journals tab at the top of the search form.

  • At the first Term(s) field, enter the search terms which must appear in an article.
  • From the within drop-down menu, select the fields or segments in which the search terms must appear. Abstract, title, keywords is the default. You can select journal name, full text, affiliation or segments of the record.
  • You can do a Boolean search and combine terms using the connectors and, or, and not. Select the term from the And drop-down menu.
  • From the Source drop-down menu, select the group of journals you want to search. (The default setting is "All journals and abstracts database" .) Select "Subscribed journals" to limit your search to full text articles available to UNCW users.
  • At the Subject list box the default setting is "All Sciences". You can restrict your search by selecting the journal subject group you want to search. You can select more than one subject group by holding the Control (Ctrl), Shift or Apple key and clicking on each subject.
  • Select Dates and select a date range from the drop-down menu. OR Select Year only and select a year from the drop-down menu. 
  • Optional:   Enter the volume number, issue number, and/or page number or page range in the appropriate field(s). (For more information on these fields click on Help.)

Example

 

Understanding Your Search Results

The articles found which match the search you performed are listed on the Search Results page. The number of hits is listed as is your search string. (See example below)

Example

 

Printing from ScienceDirect

If the links | Full Text + Links | PDF (261 K) are listed below the citation, you can print out the full text article.  If you select the Journal-PDF format click on the printer icon at the top of the Adobe window, for all other formats click on the browser printer of click "File" then "Print".

Emailing from ScienceDirect

Choose the link | E-mail Articles | at the top of the citations page or at the bottom of the full-text page. 

The information in this guide was taken from the Help pages of ScienceDirect. The button is located on the menu bar of each ScienceDirect page.
Last Update: December 12, 2005