this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Social Services Abstracts


Connecting to Social Service Abstracts 

   
1.    Go to the Randall Library's Homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu)
    2.    Go to middle of the screen. Click on "Databases."  Databases are listed alphabetically.
    3.    Select Social Services Abstracts from the list, this will allow you to search from 1980 to present.  
   
        
If you are connecting to Social Services Abstracts from off campus, complete instructions for off-campus set up are located at http://library.uncwil.edu/homelist.html.

How To Search Social Service Abstracts 

Keyword:
The simplest search is for a word or phrase.  For example, to find records discussing conflict resolution, enter conflict resolution. 

Truncation:
The truncation and wildcard symbols can be used anywhere in your search term, except as the first character.  You can use the truncation symbol (*) as a substitute for any string of zero or more characters in your search term.  For example, the search adolesc* retrieves any record containing "adolescent," "adolescents," "adolescence," etc.

You can use the wildcard symbol (?) as a substitute for one character or none.  For example, the search m?cdonald retrieves records containing "McDonald" or "MacDonald".
Combining Search Terms:
Beginning a search request with an operator (and, not, or, with, near, or in) automatically combines that request with the previous one.  For instance, if the search you just completed is child abuse, searching for and intervention will give you the same results as if you search for child abuse and intervention.  Similarly, the search stress followed by the search in ti is the same as stress in ti.

Subject Terms:
The Descriptor (DE) and the Classification Code (CL) fields help you focus your search to articles on a specific topic. For example, to find records about group therapy methods for victims of wife abuse, you might perform the following search:
    1. Enter (battered-women or spouse-abuse) in de. This finds records containing either descriptor term.
    2. Enter and 2240 in cl. This limits the search to records discussing group therapy (the code 2240 stands for
       Group-Work-Group-Therapy). Beginning the search with an operator automatically combines it with the previous 
       search.

Author:
The AU field identifies the person(s) responsible for the intellectual content of the document. When searching, put the last name first and hyphenate all names and initials.  If you are uncertain of an author's name, look it up in the Index.

Title:  TI field allows you to search by specific titles of articles, books, films, journal names, etc.
Date:  The (PY field) Publication year allows you to search a single year or year ranges. 
                Examples: 1988 (single year)
                                1988 - 1990 (range of years)
                                1988 - (works published since 1987)
Document Type: There is not a field indicating which document type is listed so you should look at the Source (SO) to see whether this citation is from a journal, or dissertation.
Classification Codes:
All codes and phrases used in the Classification Code (CL) field are listed below. Note that some groups of codes (the 1300, 2300, 3300 and 4300 groups) are valid only for records dating from 1994. Some of these code phrases are duplicates; for most effective searching, use both codes.
 
1000 Dissertation-Abstracts

1200 Social-Work-Profession
1205 General
1210 Certification-Licensing-and-Credentials
1215 Education-and-Training
1220 Ethics-and-Values
1225 History
1230 Interprofessional-Relationships
1235 Organizations-and-Associations
1240 Personnel-Issues
1245 Public-Community-Relations
1250 Quality-Assurance-Standards
1255 Reimbursement-and-Financing

1300 Social-Work-Profession (1994-present)
1305 Certification-Licensing-and-Credentials
1310 Education-Supervision-and-Training
1315 Ethics-and-Legal-Issues
1320 History
1325 Interprofessional-Relationships
1330 Organizations-Associations-and-Agencies
1335 Human-Resources-Issues

2000 Fields-of-Service
2005 Aging-and-the-Aged
2010 Alcoholism-and-Drug-Addiction
2015 Civil-Rights-and-Civil-Liberties
2020 Crime-and-Delinquency
2025 Economic-Security
2030 Employment
2035 Family-and-Child-Welfare
2040 Health-and-Medical-Care
2045 Housing-and-Urban-Development
2050 Mental-Health
2055 Mental-Retardation
2060 Schools

2200 Theory-and-Practice
2205 General
2210 Administration-Management
2215 Case-Management
2220 Casework-Psychotherapy
2225 Community-Organization-Community-Development
2230 Family-and-Couples-Therapy
2235 Consultation-Supervision
2240 Group-Work-Group-Therapy
2245 Research-Methodology
2250 Theory-Conceptual-Frameworks

2300 Theory-and-Practice (1994-present)
2305 Administration-Management
2310 Case-Management-and-Casework
2315 Clinical-Practice-Psychotherapy
2320 Community-Organization-Community-Development
2325 Family-and-Couples-Therapy
2330 Group-Work-Group-Therapy
2335 Research
2340 Theories-and-Conceptual-Frameworks

3000 Social-Policy-and-Action

3200 Areas-of-Service
3205 General
3210 Aging-and-the-Aged
3215 Children-and-Families-Child-and-Family-Welfare
3220 Crime-and-Delinquency-Justice
3225 Developmental-Disabilities-Mental-Retardation
3230 Education-Schools
3235 Health-and-Health-Care
3240 Mental-Health-Mental-Illness
3245 Occupational-Industrial-Services
3250 Substance-Use-and-Abuse-Alcoholism

3300 Areas-of-Service (1994-present)
3305 Addictions
3310 Aging-and-the-Aged
3315 Children-and-Families-Child-and-Family-Welfare
3320 Criminal-Justice-and-Violence
3325 Disabilities-and-Mental-Retardation
3330 Education-Schools
3335 Health-and-Health-Care
3340 Mental-Health-and-Mental-Illness
3345 Occupational-Industrial-Services

4000 Service-Methods
4005 All-Service-Methods
4010 Administration
4015 Casework
4020 Community-Organization
4025 Group-Work
4030 Research

4200 Social-Issues-Social-Problems
4205 General
4210 Civil-legal-Rights
4215 Economics-Poverty
4220 Employment-Affirmative-Action
4225 Legislation-and-Lobbying
4230 Peace-Nuclear-Disarmament
4235 Rural-Urban-Issues
4240 Social-Policy-Social-Action
4245 Special-Populations

4300 Social-Issues-Social-Problems (1994-present)
4305 Civil-Legal-Rights
4310 Economics-Public-Welfare
4315 Employment
4320 International-Issues
4325 Rural-Urban-Issues
4330 Social-Action-Lobbying
4335 Social-Policy-Legislation
4340 Special-Populations

5000 The-Profession
5005 Education-and-Training
5010 Ethics-and-Values
5015 Interprofessional-Relationships
5020 Manpower
5025 Professional-Community-Relationships
5030 Public-Relations
5035 Societies-and-Organizations
5040 Standards-and-Practices

6000 History

7000 Related-Fields-of-Knowledge
7005 Economics
7010 Philosophy
7015 Psychiatry-and-Medicine
7020 Psychology-and-Social-Psychology
7025 Sociology-and-Anthropology
7030 Other

Searching With the Index 
You can use the Index
within Social Services Abstracts for the:

  • Author Index
  • Journal Name Index
  • Publication Type Index

Viewing Search Results:

First you will see a brief record for each item which matches your search request. 
1 of 70 View Record
 Send request to UNCW ILLiad Check Your Library
TI: Voices from the System: A Qualitative Study of Foster Children's Stories
AU: Whiting, Jason B; Lee, Robert E , III
SO: Family Relations, 2003, 52, 3, July, 288-295

To see the full record, click on the View Record link. As you find relevant records, click once in the "Marked Record" boxes next to each citation, to mark the record for printing, e-mailing or saving.
 
How To Determine If Randall Library Owns The Article Cited

To find out if Randall Library owns the resource cited, click on the Check Your Library link at the top right of each 
    citation. A catalog record for the periodical displays if Randall Library owns it. Periodicals are located on the ground floor  
of Randall Library.

NOTE: The check your library function works by matching the journal's International Standard Serial Number (ISSN). If it is not entered in the Social Services Abstracts record or is entered incorrectly, the match may not work even though the library owns the publication. Social Services Abstracts' quality control seems quite good, but you may wish to double check journal titles in the catalog with a journal title search.

Printing Citations

1.  Check the article abstracts you want to send by checking the box to the left of the abstract.
Select Print.

Emailing Citations

1. Check the article abstracts you want to send by checking the box to the left of the abstract.
2. Select the email link.  The e-mail delivery screen appears.
3. In the email box, type in a complete e-mail address.
4. In the "Comments" box, type Social Services Abstracts" or another phrase that describes your search.
Last Update: December 12, 2005