this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Sociological Abstracts


From the Randall Library Homepage [http://library.uncwil.edu], click on "Databases".  Databases are listed alphabetically. Select "S" and then choose Sociological Abstracts from the list.

Searching Sociological Abstracts

There are a number of helpful tips and hints you can use to improve your search results. For example, you can use Boolean operators to link terms together; limit the search to a specific title; and /or restrict the search to a particular date range. 

Note: Stopwords are commonly used words such as articles, pronouns, and prepositions. These words are not indexed for searching in the database. For example, 'the', 'for', and 'of' are stopwords. When a stopword is used in a query, any single word or
no word is retrieved in place of the stopword.

Boolean Operators 
Sometimes a search
can be overly general (results equal too many hits) or overly specific (results equal too few hits). To fine tune your search, you can use AND, OR, and NOT operators to link your search words together. These operators will help you narrow or broaden your search to better express the terms you are looking for and to retrieve the exact information you need quickly.

Operator Search Result
AND juvenile and crime Retrieves records that contain both "juvenile" and "crime."
Note: Unless you define a specific search field, the result list will contain references where all your search terms are located in either the citation
or abstract. 
OR juvenile or crime Retrieves records that contain either "juvenile," "crime," or both.
WITH juvenile with crime Retrieves records that contain both "juvenile" and "crime" in the same field.
NEAR juvenile near crime Retrieves records that contain both "juvenile" and "crime" in the same sentence.
NOT crime not delinquency Retrieves records that contain "crime" but not "delinquency."
Note: Add a number next to near to specify how close the terms are to appear to each other. For example "elder near2 abuse" retrieves records in which the words "elder" and "abuse" appear within two words of each other.
IN juvenile in ti Retrieves records that contain "juvenile" in the TI (Title) field.

Complex Searches - Using Parenthesis

Search statements are complex when you use more than one operator in a statement, especially "AND" (or one of its variants) and "OR." For example if you where searching for item that the abuse of the elderly or children your seach would look like this:
abuse and (elderly or children)
Placing parentheses around "elderly or children" nests those two words, so that the system knows the order in which to search. To put it simply, the numbers of records comes out right when you use parentheses.

Finding Word Variants

You can use the truncation symbol (*) as a substitute for any string of zero or more characters in your search term. For example, the search elect* retrieves any record containing "election," "electoral," "elects," "electorate," etc.
You can use the wildcard symbol (?) as a substitute for one character or none. For example, the search m?cdonald retrieves records containing "McDonald" or "MacDonald."

The truncation and wildcard symbols can be used anywhere in your search term, except as the first character.

Reading and Understanding Records in Sociological Abstracts


This is an ex
ample of a record from Sociological Abstracts.

Risky Spaces and Dangerous Faces: Urban Surveillance, Social Disorder and CCTV
Hier, Sean P , Social & Legal Studies, 2004, 13, 4, Dec, 541-554
Since the early 1990s, there has been a steady increase in the use of closed circuit television cameras to monitor public space(s) across Europe & North America. The existing theoretical literature has tended to explain the resort to CCTV in the ...
View Record | Links to Holdings | Send request to UNCW ILLiad

How to know what type of document your citation is for:

  • To identify what kind of record (journal article, book review, etc.) is being cited, you should first look at the document type field, called "DT." 
The following are valid field contents for the DT field:



Field Code Field Content Explanation of Field
aja Abstract-of-Journal-Article A citation to a summary of a periodical article.
asp Association Paper A citation to a paper read at a professional association.
bca Book-Chapter-Abstract A citation to a chapter out of a book
bka Book-Abstract A citation to a book.
brv Book-Review A citation to a review of a book.
dis Dissertation A citation to a doctoral dissertation.
frv Film-Review A citation to a review of a film.
swr Software Review A citation to a review of a software program

How to Determine if Randall Library owns the item cited


To find out if Randall Library owns the periodical cited, click on the Links to Holdings link at the bottom of each citation. A catalog record for the periodical displays if Randall Library owns it. Periodicals are located on the
ground floor of Randall Library. The check for holdings works by matching the journal's International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) in our Library Catalog,  may wish to double check journal titles in the catalog with a journal title search just in case the ISSN is not correct.

NOTE:
If the item is not an article, you will have to search the Library Catalog using a "Title" search. 

Specialized Searches Examples


I want to search only journal articles.

To narrow your search to journal articles only, select the advance search tab and check the box next to Journal Articles.

I want to find information about the feminist perspective on birth control.

  1. Search for the code for "feminist studies" in the Classification Code, which is (CL) field: cl=2959
  2. Combine the results with a search for "birth control": and birth control
    Search should be typed as: cl=2959 and birth control

Search using Classification Codes (CL)


The following classification codes and subject headings categorize each document into broad areas of sociology and related disciplines. There are two classification schemes used in Sociological Abstracts: sa and SOPODA. Because the two schemes overlap in coverage, you may want to search for categories from both schemes for comprehensive results.

Each record in the database contains one or more four-digit classification codes that describe the major focus of the document. You can search for a specific code, such as 2079 (substance use/abuse and compulsive behaviors), or search for the broad code 2000 (sociology of health and medicine) to retrieve all records classified with any of the more specific codes. The corresponding text for the codes appears in the Subject Heading (SH) field.

Search for the codes in the Classification Code (CC) field, and for the headings in the Subject Heading (SH) field. You can search for any word or phrase of a subject heading.
sa Classification Codes
0100 methodology and research technology
0101 of general interest
0103 methodology (conceptual & epistemological)
0104 research methods/tools
0105 statistical methods
0161 models: mathematical & other
0188 computer methods, media, & applications
0200 sociology: history and theory
0202 of professional interest (teaching sociology)
0206 history & present state of sociology
0207 theories, ideas, & systems
0233 sociology of knowledge
0267 macrosociology: analysis of whole societies
0285 comparative & historical sociology
0300 social psychology
0309 interaction within (small) groups (group processes, space use, leadership, coalitions, & teamwork)
0312 personality & social roles (individual traits, social identity, adjustment, conformism, & deviance)
0322 leadership
0364 deviance
0373 cognitive/interpretive sociologies, symbolic interactionism, & ethnomethodology
0394 life cycle & biography
0400 group interactions
0410 social group identity & intergroup relations (groups based on race & ethnicity, age, & sexual orientation)
0491 refugees
0500 culture and social structure
0508 social organizations
0513 culture (kinship, forms of social organization, social cohesion & integration, & social representations)
0514 social anthropology
0600 complex organization
0621 jobs, work organization, workplaces, & unions
0623 military sociology
0624 bureaucratic structure/organizational sociology
0665 social network analysis
0671 sociology of business & entrepreneurism
0674 voluntary associations/philanthropy
0686 modes of production, employment patterns, social division of labor
0700 social change and economic development
0715 social change & economic development
0749 market structures & consumer behavior
0770 capitalism/socialism-world systems
0800 mass phenomena
0826 social movements
0827 public opinion
0828 communication
0829 collective behavior
0842 sociology of leisure/tourism
0850 popular culture
0868 transportation systems & behaviors
0869 sociology of sports
0900 political sociology/interactions
0911 interactions between societies, nations, & states
0925 sociology of political systems, politics, & power
0989 welfare state
0995 nationalism
1000 social differentiation
1019 social stratification/mobility
1020 sociology of occupations & professions
1022 generations/intergenerational relations
1100 rural sociology and agriculture
1116 rural sociology (village, agriculture)
1117 sociology of communities & regions
1200 urban sociology
1218 urban sociology
1300 sociology of language and the arts
1330 sociology of language/sociolinguistics
1331 sociology of art (creative & performing)
1375 sociology of literature
1400 sociology of education
1432 sociology of education
1500 sociology of religion
1535 sociology of religion
1600 social control
1636 sociology of law
1653 police, penology, & correctional problems
1700 sociology of science
1734 sociology of science
1772 sociology of technology
1800 demography and human biology
1837 demography (population studies)
1844 human biology/sociobiology
1864 genetic engineering/reproductive biotechnology
1900 the family and socialization
1938 sociology of the child
1939 adolescence & youth
1940 sociology of sexual behavior
1941 sociology of the family, marriage, & divorce
1976 socialization
1977 birth control (abortion, contraception, fertility, & childbearing)
1978 sociology of death & dying
2000 sociology of health and medicine
2045 sociology of medicine & health care
2046 social psychiatry (mental health)
2079 substance use/abuse & compulsive behaviors (drug abuse, addiction, alcoholism, gambling, eating disorders, etc.)
2100 social problems and social welfare
2143 social gerontology
2147 sociology of crime
2148 social work & welfare services
2151 juvenile delinquency
2187 social service programs/delivery systems
2190 victimology (rape, family violence, & child abuse)
2192 sociological practice (clinical & applied)
2200 sociology of knowledge
2233 sociology of knowledge
2252 history of ideas
2300 community/regional development
2317 sociology of communities & regions
2400 policy, planning, forecasting
2454 planning & forecasting
2460 social indicators
2462 policy sciences
2496 negotiation, dispute settlements
2499 sociology of ethics & ethical decision making
2500 radical sociology
2555 Marxist & radical sociologies
2580 critical sociology
2600 environmental interactions
2656 environmental interactions
2681 disaster studies
2682 social geography
2697 famine, hunger, & malnutrition
2700 studies in poverty
2757 studies in poverty
2793 homelessness
2800 studies in violence
2858 studies in violence
2884 terrorism
2898 genocide
2900 feminist/gender studies
2959 feminist studies
2983 sociology of gender & gender relations
3000 marxist sociology
3063 marxist sociology
3100 clinical sociology
3166 clinical sociology
3200 sociology of business
3268 sociology of business
3300 visual sociology
3371 visual sociology

SOPODA Classification Codes
6100 social welfare
6110 welfare services
6120 social case work/community organization
6121 therapeutic interventions
6122 crisis intervention, diversion programs, & residential treatment
6123 informal support groups/networks
6124 health care promotion/delivery systems
6125 social security/insurance/pensions
6126 acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
6127 social gerontology
6128 women's health problems & services
6129 addiction
6130 private sector &/or public sector activities in social welfare
6140 illness & health care
6141 poverty & homelessness
6142 mental & emotional problems
6143 child abuse/neglect, family violence
6144 marital & family problems
6145 education, work, & occupations
6146 crime & public safety
6147 adolescence
6148 problems of minorities
6150 professional issues & perceptions in social welfare work
6160 social problems in developing countries
7200 social planning/policy
7210 social policy & decision-making sciences
7211 health policy
7212 science/technology policy
7213 communication/information policy
7214 environmental policy/housing policy
7215 education policy
7220 evaluation research
7225 social indicators
7230 social policy implementation/administration
7240 social planning & forecasting
7250 development policy
8300 social development
8309 social development/modernization
8310 activism/action research/citizen participation
8320 community development
8325 man/work/environment
8330 collectivism/voluntarism
8340 public sector &/or private sector activities in social development
8350 rural development
8355 urban development
8370 economic development/industrialization
8375 education for social development
8380 population dynamics in less-developed countries
8381 health emergencies, disaster preparedness, relief efforts
8390 women & development



Last Update: February 8, 2006