DESCRIPTION:
SciFinder Scholar is the proprietary online version of
Chemical Abstracts, and includes 16 million abstracts of journal articles and patents extending back to 1907, and 22 million substance and 33 million sequence records of the CAS Registry. To learn more about the database's coverage, please see the American Chemical Society's guide, "
SciFinder Scholar Content at a Glance ."
An interface for searching six integrated bibliographic, substance, and reaction databases,
SciFinder Scholar can be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or author's name. In addition to chemistry, it includes coverage in the areas of agricultural sciences, biology and life sciences, engineering sciences, food sciences, geological sciences, material sciences, medical sciences, physics, and polymer science.
ACCESS: On campus (Valid UNCW IP address). 2 concurrent users and restricted to UNCW students, faculty, and staff only.
SciFinder Scholar requires installation of client software to use. For more information on accessing this database, please contact Peter Fritzler, 910-962-7807. For installation on UNCW campus computers,
Download SciFinder Scholar client software.
FULL-TEXT: No
SUBJECT COVERAGE:
- agricultural chemistry
- analytical chemistry
- biochemistry
- biomedical an medicinal chemistry
- biotechnology
- chemical engineering
- chemistry
- environmental science
- geochemistry
|
- hazardous waste management
- inorganic chemistry
- materials science
- organic chemistry
- pharmacology
- physical chemistry
- physics
- physiology
- toxicology
|
YEARS: Coverage Varies
VENDOR: Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:
| Bibliographic Databases |
- Chemical Abstracts Plus (CAplus) - literature (journals, patents, proceedings, etc.) from 1907 to the present (more ...)
- Medline - biomedical literature from 1950 to the present (more ...)
|
| Substance Databases |
- CAS Registry -
Structure database for finding chemical
substances from 1957 to the present (more ...)
- CHEMLIST - regulatory information from 1979 to the present (more ...)
- CHEMCATS - chemical source information (more ...)
|
| Reaction Database |
- CASREACT -
Reaction information on single and multi-step reactions (more ...)
|
| Other |
| Explore By:
- Research Topic -
"How to" from CAS.
- Chemical Structure -
"How to" from CAS.
- Substructure -
"How to" from CAS.
- Structure Similarity -
"How to" from CAS.
- Reaction -
"How to" from CAS.
- Molecular Formula -
"How to" from CAS.
- Author Name -
"How to" from CAS.
- Company Name -
"How to" from CAS.
Locate By:
- Substance Identifier -
"How to" from CAS.
- Citation / Paten Information -
"How to" from CAS.
Browse By:
- Journal Table of Contents -
"How to" from CAS.
|
Marking and Exporting Records
As you go through your results, you may mark those records of interest. To view only those records you have marked, go to Tools and click on Keep References. Be sure to save these records (how?) before starting a new search (task). All results from a previous "task" are lost when you begin a new one.
If you would like to export SciFinder data into another program (such as EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager), details on setting this up can be found at http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/techsupport/2006/bibapps2006.html.
Acknowledgments
This guide is based on the "Introduction to SciFinder Scholar 2006" guide from Oregon State University.
|
Last Update: November 30 , 2007
Conditions of Use:
Electronic resources are owned by independent providers and are protected by copyright and other laws. They are provided for UNCW students, faculty, staff and library users only.
UNCW is not responsible for the content, format, accuracy or availability of electronic resources.