DESCRIPTION:
Sociological Abstracts provides
access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines,
both theoretical and applied. The database includes abstracts of journal
articles selected from over 2500 journals, abstracts of conference papers
presented at various sociological association meetings, relevant
dissertation listings from Dissertations Abstracts International, enhanced
bibliographic citations of book reviews, and abstracts of selected
sociology books. Approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages
from about 55 countries are scanned for inclusion, covering sociological
topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine,
community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and
social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations,
groups, faculties, and institutes, and periodicals containing the term
"sociology" in their titles, are abstracted fully, irrespective of
language or country of publication. Non-core journals are screened for
articles by sociologists and/or articles of immediate interest or
relevance to sociologists.
ACCESS: On and Off campus
FULL-TEXT: No
SUBJECT COVERAGE:
Social Sciences; Aging; Cultural Studies; Education; Sociology; Gay and Lesbian Studies; Population; Psychology; Social Work
YEARS: 1952 -
present
Print indexes available: v.1(1953)-10(1963)
VENDOR: ProQuest
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:
Types of Alerts: Saved Search
and Daily/Weekly Alerts
Guide to Using Sociological Abstracts
List of Titles Indexed in Database
Last Update: June 4, 2007
Conditions of Use:
Electronic resources are owned by independent providers and are protected by copyright and other laws. They are provided for UNCW students, faculty, staff and library users only.
UNCW is not responsible for the content, format, accuracy or availability of electronic resources.