this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

African American Studies - Databases



Primary Contact:
Sue Cody
Email:
codys@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-7409
IM Chat Name:
AIM: sueann53

Start Here

Other Suggestions

Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
1975 – present
(more information)

African-American Poetry
African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.
1750 - 1900
(more information)

African-American Poetry (20th Century)
Over 9,000 poems from the past century.

African American Studies Center (access to this resource will end on August 31, 2008)
Oxford University Press combines combines the content of several reference resources on the African American experience into one digital resource.

Alternative Press Index
Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1991 - present
(more information)

Alternative Press Index Archive
Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1969 - 1990
(more information)

Aluka (access to this resource will end on June 30, 2008)
Aluka is a digital library of scholarly information by and about Africa. It includes archival documents, periodicals, books, manuscripts, reference works, oral histories, maps, photographs, etc.

America: History and Life  (EBSCOHost Platform)
Indexes scholarly journals and dissertations on the history of the U.S. and Canada, published since 1964.

Annals of American History
Includes over 2,000 primary documents from U.S. history —the original words of history-makers. Read primary source documents on discrimination and diversity and much more.
1493 - present

Anthropological Literature
Citations to anthropology and archaeology, some art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
One simultaneous user
1880's - present
(more information)

AnthroSource (NEW)
Full text of the journals of the American Anthropological Association.

eHRAF World Cultures
Primary source documents on cultural traditions.

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

Ethnic News Watch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information)

Government Periodicals via CIS
Index of approximately 250 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences. 

HarpWeek
Harper's Weekly; the Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II.
1857-1877
(more information)

HeritageQuest
Provides searchable full text of U.S. Census records, records of the Freedman's Banks, and an index to genealogy and local history books and periodicals.

Historical Abstracts
Indexes scholarly literature of world history, 1450-present (not U.S. or Canada).
One simultaneous user
1971 - present
(more information)

Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Pre-Colonial America - present
(more information)

In the First Person
An in-depth index of more than 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. Some of the documents require a subscription.

JSTOR
Online archive of scholarly journals covering anthropology, history, literature, ecology, economics, and more.
(more information)

Lexis-Nexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)

MasterFILE Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Full text of letters and diaries from the colonial period to 1950. 46 of the authors are African American women.

PBS Video Collection
Streaming video of PBS programs. Browse by subject to see the titles relating to African American studies.

ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. (more information)

Sage eReference
45 full-text reference works, including the Encyclopedia of African American Society and the Encyclopedia of Black Studies.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade CD-ROM
Contains the records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. You can use this cd-rom to track information by time period and geographic region and to conduct keyword searches. Ask at the reference desk for help with this resource.

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: June 12, 2008