this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Guide to Using Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)


What are the Human Relations Area Files?
The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) is a collection of ethnographies on cultures worldwide. It was founded in 1949 at Yale University, with the texts issued on microfiche Randall Library has a selection of cultures from the microfiche collection. The library also has an excellent encyclopedia based upon the HRAF collection You may want to start your research by consulting The Encyclopedia of World Cultures (10 volumes or on CD-ROM) UNCW Reference Collection GN 307 .E53

Where is the HRAF Collection?
The collection is on the first floor and is part of the cataloged microfiche collection The call number is GN4 .H85 The guides to the cultures and cultural elements (described below) are kept on top of the microfiche cabinet

How are the files organized?
The information in the HRAF Collection is arranged first by culture The cultures are arranged geographically. Each culture is assigned an alpha-numeric classification code The codes are based upon The Outline of World Cultures (OWC), which identifies all known cultural groups A copy of the OWC is kept on the microfiche cabinets where the HRAF Collection is filed. The first letter of the code corresponds to the geographic region where it is (or was) located:

A=Asia
E=Europe
F=Africa, excluding the northern and northeastern portions with belong culturally in the Middle East
M=Middle East
N=North America
O=Oceania
R=Russia, including cultures located in the former Soviet Union
S=South America

Within each culture, the information is organized according to the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), a numerical classification system that provides subject indexing for cultural traits. There are approximately eighty broad headings that are subdivided into approximately 700 specific topics This guide is also kept on top of the microfiche cabinets and is available the Outline of World Cultures website.

How can I find which cultures are available?
Randall Library has a representative selection of the cultural files produced by HRAF, known as the Probability Sample Files These cultures were chosen because they are suitable to meet the probability sampling requirements for cross-cultural analysis The cultures in the collection and their classification numbers are listed below

ASIA NORTH AMERICA, continued
AB6 Ainu (Japan) NU7 Aztec (Mexico)
AB43 Okayama (Japan) NU28 Papago (Mexico)
AD5 Taiwan Hokkien NU33 Tarahumara (Mexico)
AJ1 Tibet NV9 Tzeltal (Mexico-Yucatan)
AO7 Central Thai (Thailand) NW8 Mam (Guatamala)
AR5 Garo (Assam, India) OCEANIA
AR7 Khasi (Assam, India) OA19 Ifugao (Philippines)
AW16 Tamil (India) OC6 Iban (Borneo)
AW42 Santal (India) OE5 Javanese (Java, Indonesia)
AX4 Sinhalese (Sri Lanka, formerly Ceylon) OG11 Toradja (Celebes)
AX5 Vedda (Sri Lanka, formerly Ceylon) OI8 Aranda (Australia)
AZ2 Andaman (Andaman & Nicobar Islands, India) OI20 Tiwi (Australia)
EUROPE OJ23 Orokaiva (New Guinea)
EC1 Hungary OJ29 Kapauku (New Guinea)
EF6 Serbs OL6 Trobriands (Kiriwina Islands)
EH1 Greece (modern) OQ6 Lau (Fiji)
EP4 Lapps (Norway) OR19 Truk (Micronesia)
ES10 Highland Scots (United Kingdom) OR21 Woleai (Micronesia)
AFRICA OT11 Tikopia (Micronesia)
FA16 Dogon (Mali) OU9 Tonga (Western Polynesia)
FA28 Mossi (Burkina Faso, formerly Upper Volta) RUSSIA
FE12 Twi (Ghana) RV2 Yakut
FF57 Tiv (Nigeria) RY2 Chukchee (Northeast Siberia)
FF62 Yoruba (Nigeria) SOUTH AMERICA
FJ22 Nuer (Sudan) SA 15 Mosquito (Central America)
FK7 Ganda (Uganda) SA19 Talamanca (Central America)
FL12 Masai (Kenya) SB5 Cuna (Panama)
FO4 Pygmies (Congo, formerly Zaire) SC7 Cagaba (Columbia)
FO7 Azande (Congo, formerly Zaire) SC13 Goajiro (Columbia)
FO42 Rundi , including Bahutu (Hutu), Batutsi (Tutsi) and
Tatwa (Twa) (Burundi and Rwanda)
SC15 Paez (Columbia)
FQ5 Bemba (Zambia) SD6 Cayapa (Ecuador)
FQ9 Lozi (Zambia) SD9 Jivaro (Ecuador)
FX10 San (Bushmen) (Botswana, Namibia
and South Africa)
SE13 Inca (Peru)
FX20 Zulu (South Africa) SF5 Aymara (Bolivia)
MIDDLE EAST   SF10 Chiriguano (Bolivia)
MA11 Kurd (Iran, Iraq and Turkey) SF21 Siriono (Bolivia)
MO4 Somali (Somalia) SF24 Uru (Bolivia)
MP5 Amhara (Ethiopia) SG4 Araucanians (Chile)
MS12 Hausa (Nigeria and Niger) SH4 Ona (Patagonia)
MS14 Kanuri (Nigeria and Niger) SH5 Tehuelche (Patagonia)
MS22 Teda (Chad, Niger and Libya) SH6 Yahgan (Patagonia)
MS25 Tuareg (Algeria, Libya,Mali and Nigeria) SI4 Abipon (Argentina)
MS30 Wolof (Senegal and The Gambia) SI7 Mataco (Argentina)
MT9 Libyan Bedouin SI12 Toba (Argentina)
MW11 Shluh (Morocco) SK6 Choroti (Paraguay)
NORTH AMERICA   SK7 Cuana (Paraguay)
NA6   Aleut (Alaska) SM3 Caingang (South Brazil)
NA10  South Alaska Eskimo SM4 Guarani (South Brazil)
NA12  Tlingit (Alaska) SO8 Timbira (Northeast Brazil)
ND8  Copper Eskimo (Northern Canada) SO9 Tupinamba (Northeast Brazil)
ND9  Hare (Northern Canada) SO10 Bahia Brazilians (Northeast Brazil)
NE11  Nootka (British Columbia) SP7 Bacairi (Mato Grosso, Brazil)
NF6  Blackfoot (Prairie Provinces) SP8 Bororo (Mato Grosso, Brazil)
NG6  Ojibwa (Ontario) SP9 Caraja (Mato Grosso, Brazil)
NH6  Montagnais (Quebec) SP17 Nambicuara (Mato Grosso, Brazil)
NJ5  Micmac (Maritime Provinces) SP22 Tapirapa (Mato Grosso, Brazil)
NM7 Delaware (U.S. Mid-Atlantic States) SP23 Trumai (Mato Grosso, Brazil)
NM9 Iroquois (U.S. Mid-Atlantic States) SQ13 Mundurucu (Amazonia)
NN11 Creek (U.S. Southeastern States) SQ18 Yanoama (Amazonia)
NO6 Comanche (U.S. South Central States) SQ19 Tucano (Amazonia)
NP5 Fox (U.S East Central States) SQ20 Tucuna (Amazonia)
NP12 Winnebago (U.S East Central States) SR8 Guiana Maroons (Guiana)
NQ6 Arapaho (U.S. West Central States) SR9 Carib (Guiana)
NQ10 Crow (U.S. West Central States) SS16 Pemon (Venezuela)
NQ12 Dhegiha (U.S. West Central States) SS18 Warao (Venezuela)
NQ17 Mandan (U.S. West Central States) SS19 Yaruro (Venezuela)
NQ18 Pawnee (U.S. West Central States) ST13 Callinago (Lesser Antilles)
NR10 Klamath (U.S. Northwestern States) SU1 Puerto Rico
NS29 Yokuts (California) SV3 Haiti
NT9 Hopi (U.S. Southwestern States) SY1 Jamaica
NT13 Navajo (U.S. Southwestern States)  
NT14 Plateau Yumans (U.S. Southwestern States)  
NT18 Tewa (U.S. Southwestern States)  
NT20 Washo (U.S. Southwestern States)  
NT23 Zuni (U.S. Southwestern States)  
NT25 Mescalero  (U.S. Southwestern States)  

How can I look up specific aspects of a culture or compare cultures?

After selecting the culture or cultures you wish to investigate, consult the Outline of Cultural Materials to find the classification for the cultural traits you wish to examine Use the table of contents and keyword index to identify the category, then consult the scope note to verify the definition for the category For example, category 58 is where you will find information about marriage Nine specific categories cover aspects of marriage, including Arranging a Marriage (584), Nuptials (585), and Termination of Marriage (586) The scope notes for 58 and 584 read as follows:

58 Marriage

58 MARRIAGE--general statements dealing with several specific aspects of marriage. Marriage is a socially sanctioned relationship between a man and a woman involving economic cooperation and residential and sexual cohabitation The culturally patterned norms of the relationship regularly specify who may and may not enter into it, how it may be established and terminated and what each partner may and may not do within it As a relationship, marriage is to be distinguished sharply from the family, the social group within which it is typically embedded.
 

584  ARRANGING A MARRIAGE--marriage preliminaries; courtship (e.g., opportunities, methods); initiation of negotiations (e.g., by youth, by girl, by parents of either); conduct of negotiations (e.g., by parents, through a go-between); marriage brokers; proposal of marriage; methods and consequences of rejection; requirement of consent (e.g., of youth, of girl, of parents, of chief); betrothal (e.g., conceptualization, announcement, ceremonial, symbols, duration); status and behavior of betrothed persons; infant betrothal (e.g., prevalence, procedure, nullification); breaking an engagement (e.g., reasons, procedures, consequences); adjustment to death of betrothed (e.g., substitution of a sibling); etc See also:

Adolescent activities . . . . 883 Sex status. . . . . . . . 562
Contractual relationships. . . 675 Sex overtures. . . . 832

Murdock, George P., et. al 1987 Outline of Cultural Materials, 5th ed. New Haven: Human Relations Area Files, pp. 98, 99-100.

Next, consult the microfiche collection, first finding the culture by its alpha-numeric code, then finding the category Each piece of microfiche has a header that indicates the categories included "Flasher" frames provide eye-readable numbers showing where a new category begins:

FIGURE 1: HRAF microfiche #16 for the Tiwi culture (OI20)

Pages from sources dealing with that aspect of the culture are reproduced on the subsequent frames Each source is analyzed at the paragraph level, and numerical codes are written in the margins of the work (sometimes several codes are listed on each page.)  A dot beside the code you looked up will help you locate the portion of the page dealing with the cultural trait you have selected That page will also appear under each additional cultural code indicated on the page For example, Figure 2 shows a page retrieved under category 584 The same page will be reproduced under categories 592 (Family: Household), 589 (Marriage: Celibacy), 581 (Marriage: Basis of Marriage), 582 (Marriage: Regulation of Marriage), 842 (Reproduction: Conception), and 587 (Marriage: Secondary Marriages)

FIGURE 2: Page found under category 584 for Tiwi culture

Another useful category within the HRAF Collection is 116: Texts This category provides the full text of most processed sources If the selected pages reproduced under each topical category does not provide enough context for your research, consult this category for the full set of pages

How do I know what source the information comes from?

The header at the top of each page identifies the source Complete source information is given under cultural category 111 (Bibliography: Sources Processed) The header in Figure 2 lists the source as #1, by Hart and Pilling A code indicating the role of the author, evaluation score, field dates, and publication date are also given Under category 111 is found the complete information about this source (see Figure 3) The bibliographic reference and physical description of the source is followed by a brief critique.

Figure 3:  Source 1 under Category 111 for the Tiwi culture

The source description ends with the field dates, analyst's name, year processed for inclusion in HRAF and an evaluation stating the role of the authors and an evaluation score Author roles are: 

A Archeologist, Antiquarian N Natural or Physical Scientist
B Folklorist O Lawyer, Judicial personnel
C Technical personnel (engineers, agricultural expers, foreign aid advisors, etc.) P Psychologist
D Physician, Physical anthropologist Q Humanist (philosopher, critic, editor, writer, etc.)
E Ethnologist, Social anthropologist R Artisan (artist, musicaian, architect, dancer)
F Foreign resident S Social scientist (other than those designated)
G Government official (administrator, soldier, foreign diplomat T Traveler (tourist, explorer)
H Historian U Unknown
I Indigene V Political scientist, Propagandist
J Journalist W Organizational documents and reports (constitutions, law codes, government or UN reports and documents, censuses)
K Geographer X Economist, Businessman
L Linguist Y Educator
M Missionary, Clergyman Z Sociologist

Evaluation scores are:

1 Poor sources
2 Fair sources
3 Good, useful sources, but not uniformily excellent
4 Excellent secondary data (e.g., compilations and/or interpretations of original data and primary documents
5 Excellent primary data (e.g., travelers' accounts, ethnological studies, etc., as well as primary documents such as legal codes, other legal documents, autobiographies, etc.)

How do I cite information from HRAF?

Cite the original source as you normally would It is not necessary to mention HRAF

Chicago Manual of Style format:
Hart, C. W. M. and Arnold R. Pilling. The Tiwi of North Australia. New York: Holt, Rinehart & Winston, 1960.

APA format:

Hart, C. W. M & A. R. Pilling. (1960). The Tiwi of North Australia. New York: Holt, Rinehart & Winston.

Where do I go next?

There are a few other categories in the Bibliography section of the HRAF that will lead you to additional sources:
112:  Sources consulted, but not processed for inclusion in HRAF
113:  Additional references This category includes bibliographical lists, annotated bibliographies, works referred to in the processed sources and other information sources such as museums and archival collections
117:  Field data Includes field journals and diaries and unorganized field notes.
118:  Fiction Works of fiction about the culture by non-native authors Fiction about the culture by native authors is in categories 538 (Literature) and 539 (Literary texts)

For more information about the cultures, cultural traits, and cross-cultural analysis, be sure to consult the databases for anthropology, especially:

Anthropological Index Online

Anthropological Literature

Acknowledgments:

The following websites were use to compile this guide:
Human Relations Area Files (Yale)
Human Relations Area Files (Boston)
Human Relations Area Files (Cornell)
Guide to Citing HRAF (Indiana)
Accessing the HRAF Collection of Ethnography (Akron)
HRAF (University of Calgary Library)
Guide to the Human Relations Area Files (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)


Last Update: February 15, 2006