Search for materials in Randall Library by using the online
Library Catalog located center of the Randall Library homepage [http://library.uncwil.edu].
Searching the Library Catalog will give you call numbers and locations for
books, maps, N. C. documents, U.S. Government documents, special collections,
microforms, music scores, periodicals titles, audiovisual materials, reserve
materials and the Curriculum Materials Center materials help in the Library.
STARTING POINTS
Basic Key Terms to use when searching for materials related to
Non-Western Art & Artifacts are:
Art and [country name]
Antiquities and [country name]
**REMEMBER the library catalog does not use the term "Artifacts",
instead it uses the term "Antiquities".
The following reference resources can help you get a basic
overview of a topic and help you identify key terms to use when searching both
the Library Catalog and the Article Indexes.
Dictionary of Art
Reference N31 .D5 1996
Encyclopedia of World Art
Reference N31 .E533
World Guide to Antiquities
Reference CC165 .K85
Results list will provide titles of items found, click on the underlined title
for the full record. There are 3 important items to look at in the items record:
- LOCATION - what collection the item is in determines
the location and if the item can be checked out of the library. e.g.,
General Collection on the second floor can be checked out while the
Reference Collection on the first floor can not be checked out.
- CALL # - provides exact location of the item within
the collection.
- STATUS - "AVAILABLE" means item is on the
shelf and "DUE" with the date it is due back to the library.
Check out for undergraduates is 21 days and the check-out desk is
located next to the exit/entrance doors of the Library. You must have your
university id card in order to check-out materials.
RESERVE MATERIALS
Reserve materials are readings or media assigned in UNCW courses. To
search for materials go to the center of the Library home page and click on
"ERes". You can search either by course number or instructor. Check
out of reserve materials can be done at the Reserves/AV desk located directly
across from the Reference desk on the first floor of the library. To print out
Electronic Reserves simply follow the instructions on the screen.
Article Indexes
Online, CD-ROM and Print periodical indexes provide
citations (e.g., author, title, a journal name, volume, issue, page numbers,
etc.) to identify articles. Most indexes also include abstracts (summaries) and
a small handful of online indexes provide selected full text of the actual
article. The Library does not own every article cited in each index so remember
to check the Library Catalog to verify if we own the journal the article was
published in.
| PRINT INDEXES |
ONLINE INDEXES |
CD-ROM INDEXES |
Art Index
Index Collection N1 .A437
RILA = International Repertory of the Literature of Art
Index Collection N5300 .R46 |
Anthropological
Abstracts
Anthropological Literature
EBSCOhost - MasterFILE Premier; Academic Search Premier
WorldCat for books
Humanities International Index
Historical Abstracts |
Art Historian
Ask Reference Library for CD. |
Online Indexes can be found using the Databases link on the Library Homepage. Simply click on the Databases link and scroll
down to the Index title you wish to search. Results list will provide
titles of items found, click on the underlined title for the full record.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service to UNCW students, faculty,
staff and administration through which research materials (articles, books,
etc.) not owned by Randall Library may be borrowed from other library
collections. Allow up to two weeks for delivery of materials. Photocopies are
mailed directly to your campus mailbox. Pickup notices for books are mailed to
your campus address as well.
ILL materials are requested online from the ILL webpage.
Before using ILL, check the Library Catalog and the appropriate electronic
databases. If the material you need is not available in any of these sources,
you may request the item using one of the above listed forms.
Helpful Information
WORKING FROM OFF CAMPUS
UNCW Students and Faculty may access Databases from Home. If you are NOT on
campus, you must have a library PIN number.
PIN Number:
To set a PIN (Personal Identification Number) on your library record, simply
click on the "My Library Record" link on the Library homepage and
follow the instructions. In addition to using your PIN for home access to
library resources you need to have a PIN number when printing out certain
electronic reserves.
Last Update: February 26, 2006