Class Guide: BIO 204 - Cell Biology
Objective: Despite perceived ubiquitous access to information via Google and other popular search engines, access to trustworthy and/or peer-reviewed scholarly/scientific literature remains problematic. And with multiple systems for accessing information, knowing where to begin can be a difficult and overwhelming task; particularly if one is not an expert or familiar with a specific area of study. Thus, the objective of this workshop and guide is to introduce you to resources available in Randall Library and on the Web that will assist you in developing your assignments for this class.
Using the library, databases, or other sources to find information can be complex and frustrating. If you need help at any time, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to help you.
Peter Fritzler
Randall Library, #2074
(2nd floor, NE corner of building)
Phone: 910–962–7807
Email: fritzlerp@uncw.edu
Instant Messager (AIM): peterfritzler1
Contents of this Guide |
|
I. Encyclopedias and Overview Literature
The list of books below provide syntheses, definitions, topic overviews, and bibliographies on a variety of subjects relating to molecular and cell biology. The library maintains many more sources than those listed here, so it is important to browse the shelves around the titles listed below to locate other relevant resources. The Reference Collection is located on the first floor of the library to the right of the library's entrance.
Books (Available in Library's Reference Collection)
Blanchard, Stacey L., ed. The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders.
Call Number: RB155.5 .G35 2002 (2 volumes)
Creighton, Thomas E., ed. Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology.
Call Number: QH506 .C74 1999 (4 volumes)
Glick, David M. Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.
Call Number: QP512 .G55 1997
Books (Available in Library's General Collection)
Alberts, Bruce, et al. Molecular Biology of the Cell. 4th ed.
Call Number: QH581.2 .M64 2002
Harold, Franklin M. The Way of the Cell: Molecules, Organisms, and the Order of Life.
Call Number: QH582.4 .H37 2003
Harris, John. On Cloning.
Call Number: QH442.2 .H37 2004
Humber, James M., and Robert F. Almeder, eds. Stem Cell Research.
Call Number: QH587 .S7226 2004
Lodish, Harvey, et al. Molecular Cell Biology, 4th ed.
Call Number: QH581.2 .M655 2000
Minelli, Alessandro. The Development of Animal Form: Ontogeny, Morphology, and Evolution.
Call Number: QH491 .M559 2003
Sperelakis, Nicholas, ed. Cell Physiology Sourcebook: a Molecular Approach. 3rd. ed.
Call Number: QH631 .C458 2001
Yeagle, Philip L., ed. The Structure of Biological Membranes.
Call Number: QH601 .S777 2005
Selected Websites
Cell and Molecular Biology Online - an extensive collection of cell and molecular biology sites, coordinated by researchers at MIT and Brown University.
Access: http://www.cellbio.com/
Cells Alive! – an interactive animated website providing an easy-to-read overview of cell and microbiology. Access: http://www.cellsalive.com
Inside the Cell - available from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), this online publication describes the cellular organelles within and between which some of the most critical functions take place. Includes images and definitions of key terms. Access: http://publications.nigms.nih.gov/insidethecell/
Introduction to Genetics - available from the National Biological Information Infrastructure at the U.S. Geological Survey, this site provides an introduction with images on the formation of living organisms, genetics analysis and diversity, DNA, mitosis, meosis, and other basic molecular biology information. Access: http://genetics.nbii.gov/
II. Reviews and Important Journals in Molecular and Cell Biology
|
|
III. Finding Articles
The following databases (i.e. indexes) will be helpful for finding scientific articles relating to human diseases. A particularly useful database to begin with is PubMed. PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine and is considered the most comprehensive index to biomedical literature.
The PubMed and Biological Abstracts databases are both stand alone resources. This means that if you enter a search, they will only tell you what has been published on the term(s) that you entered. You will then need to search the library's catalog to see if the library subscribes to the journal referencing your article. By searching the library's catalog, you will be able to determine if the library has print and/or electronic access to the journal referencing your article.
IV. Interlibary Loan (ILLiad)
What if the Library doesn't own the journal in which your article was published? Use Randall Library's Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service, and the library will order articles you need from another library. This is a FREE service for students, faculty, and staff at UNCW. You do not need to know which library owns the journal that you need. Simply login into your ILLiad account and provide us with the citation, and we'll obtain the article for you. It generally takes 3-4 days for the library to process your request and obtain the article, so don't wait until the last minute for materials that you need!
To access this service, please see Randall Library's homepage ( http://library.uncw.edu ) and under the Library Services section click on the following: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery