Class Guide: BIO 246 - Microbiology of Human Diseases
Objective: Despite perceived ubiquitous access to information via Google and other popular search engines, access to trustworthy and/or peer-reviewed scholarly/scientific literature remains problematic. And with multiple systems for accessing information, knowing where to begin can be a difficult and overwhelming task; particularly if one is not an expert or familiar with a specific area of study. Thus, the objective of this workshop and guide is to introduce you to resources available in Randall Library and on the Web that will assist you in developing your assignments for this class.
Using the library, databases, or other sources to find information can be complex and frustrating. If you need help at any time, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to help you.
Peter Fritzler
Randall Library, #2074
(2nd floor, NE corner of building)
Phone: 910–962–7807
Email: fritzlerp@uncw.edu
Instant Messager (AIM): peterfritzler1
Contents of this Guide |
|
I. Encyclopedias and Overview Literature
The following sources will provide very useful introductions, overviews, and syntheses of human diseases. They will also provide valuable references to journal literature on topics in epidemiology and offer helpful information in diagnosis and identifying symptoms of human disease.
The Reference Collection is located on the first floor of the library to the right of the library's entrance.
Books (Available in Library's Reference Collection)
Anderson, Douglas M., et al. Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary.
Call Number: R121 .M89 2002
Dambro, Mark R., and Jo A. Griffith. Griffith's 5 Minute Clinical Consult.
Call Number: RC71.A2 G74 1999
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary.
Call Number: R121 .D73 2003
Izenberg, Neil, ed. Human Diseases and Conditions.
Call Number: RC81.A2 H75 (3 volumes & 2 supplements)
Knipe, David M., et al. Fields' Virology.
Call Number: QR360 .V5125 2001 (2 volumes)
Langford, Rae W., and June D. Thompson. Mosby's Handbook of Diseases.
Call Number: RT65 .L36 2000
Mandall, G.E. Essential Atlas of Infectious Diseases.
Call Number: RC113.2 .E84 2001
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy.
Call Number: RC55.M4
Potparic, O. A Dictionary of Infections and Infectious Diseases.
Call Number: RC112.P78 1995
Tan, James S. Expert Guide to Infectious Diseases.
Call Number: RC112.E97 2002
Webster, Robert G., and Allan Granoff. Encyclopedia of Virology.
Call Number: QR358 .E52 1994 (3 volumes)
Books (Available in Library's General Collection)
Brogden, Kim A., and Janet M. Guthmiller, eds. Polymicrobial Diseases.
Call Number: RC112 .P774 2002
Bryan, Charles S. Infectious Diseases in Primary Care.
Call Number: RC111 .B745 2002
Handbook of Signs and Symptoms.
Call Number: RC69 .H246 1998
Lashley, Felissa R., and Jerry D. Durham, eds. Emerging Infectious Diseases: Trends and Issues.
Call Number: RA643 .E465 2002
Nelson, Kenrad E, et al. Infectious Disease Epidemiology: Theory and Practice.
Call Number: RA643 .I644 2001
Phillips, Jonathan, Paul Murray, and Paul Kirk. The Biology of Disease.
Call Number: RB111 .B48 2001
Professional Guide to Signs and Symptoms.
Call Number: RC69 .P77 2004
Richman, Douglas D., et al. Clinical Virology.
Call Number: RC114.5 .C56 2002
Selected Websites
II. Reviews and Important Journals in Infectious Diseases
|
|
III. Finding Articles
The following databases (i.e. indexes) will be helpful for finding scientific articles relating to human diseases. A particularly useful database to begin with is PubMed. PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine and is considered the most comprehensive index to biomedical literature.
The PubMed and Biological Abstracts databases are both stand alone resources. This means that if you enter a search, they will only tell you what has been published on the term(s) that you entered. You will then need to search the library's catalog to see if the library subscribes to the journal referencing your article. By searching the library's catalog, you will be able to determine if the library has print and/or electronic access to the journal referencing your article.
IV. Interlibary Loan (ILLiad)
What if the Library doesn't own the journal in which your article was published? Use Randall Library's Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service, and the library will order articles you need from another library. This is a FREE service for students, faculty, and staff at UNCW. You do not need to know which library owns the journal that you need. Simply login into your ILLiad account and provide us with the citation, and we'll obtain the article for you. It generally takes 3-4 days for the library to process your request and obtain the article, so don't wait until the last minute for materials that you need!
To access this service, please see Randall Library's homepage ( http://library.uncw.edu ) and under the Library Services section click on the following: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery