Class Guide: BIO 475/574 - Plant Taxonomy
Objective:
Despite perceived ubiquitous access to information via Google and other popular search engines, access to trustworthy and/or peer-reviewed scholarly/scientific literature remains problematic. And with multiple systems for accessing information, knowing where to begin can be a difficult and overwhelming task; particularly if one is not an expert or familiar with a specific area of study. Thus, the objective of this workshop and guide is to introduce you to the various resources and methods for obtaining information on plant biology. Specifically, we'll discuss using the library's research databases to find journal articles, technical reports, government documents, and other materials related to plant biology.
Using the library, databases, or other sources to find information can be complex and frustrating. If you need help at any time, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to help you.
Peter Fritzler
Randall Library, #2074
(2nd floor, NE corner of building)
Phone: 910–962–7807
Email: fritzlerp@uncw.edu
Instant Messager (AIM): peterfritzler1
Contents of this Guide |
|
I. Encyclopedias and Overview Literature
The list of books below provide syntheses, definitions, topic overviews, and bibliographies on a variety of subjects relating to plant biology. The library maintains many more sources than those listed here, so it is important to browse the shelves around the titles listed below to locate other relevant resources. The Reference Collection is located on the first floor of the library to the right of the library's entrance.
Selected Books (Available in Library's Reference Collection)
Cox, D.D. Naturalist's Guide to Seashore Plants: an Ecology for Eastern North America.
Call Number: QK110 .C68 2003
Frodin, D.G. Guide to Standard Floras of the World: an Annotated, Geographically Arranged Systematic Bibliography of the Principal Floras, Enumerations, Checklists, and Chorological Atlases of Different Areas. Call Number: QK45.2 .F76 2001
Harris, J.G., and M.W. Harris. Plant Identification Terminology: an Illustrated Glossary.
Call Number: QK9 .H37 2001
Harris, M. Botanica North America: the Illustrated Guide to our Native Plants, their Botany, History, and the Way they have Shaped our World.
Call Number: QK115 .H365 2003 (very good book to start with for an overview)
Hutchinson, J. Genera of Flowering Plants, Angiospermae.
Call Number: QK495.A56 H8 (2 volumes)
Wiersema, J.H., and B. León. World Economic Plants: a Standard Reference.
Call Number: SB107 .W485 1999
Selected Books (Available in Library's General Collection)
Cox, D.D. Naturalist's Guide to Wetland Plants: An Ecology for Eastern North America.
Call Number: QK115 .C72 2002
Eastman, J. Book of Swamp and Bog: Trees, Shrubs, and Wildflowers of the Eastern Freshwater Wetlands. Call Number: QK115 .E285 1995
Flora of North America: North of Mexico.
Call Number: QK110 .F55 (multiple volumes)
Goldberg, A. Classification, Evolution, and Phylogeny of the Families of the Monocotyledons.
Call Number: SI 1.29:71 (Available in Library Government Document Microfiche collection)
Hickey, M., and C. King. 100 Families of Flowering Plants.
Call Number: QK495.A1 H53
Hutchinson, J. The Families of Flowering Plants.
Call Number: QK97 .H82 (2 volumes)
Judd, W.S., et al. Plant Systematics: a Phylogenetic Approach.
Call Number: QK95 .P548 2002
Porter, C.L. Taxonomy of Flowering Plants.
Call Number: QK95 .P6 1967
Radford, A.E. Manual of the Vascular Flora of the Carolinas.
Call Number: QK178 .R32 1968
Radford, A.E., et al. Vascular Plant Systematics.
Call Number : QK95 .V37
Small, J.K. Manual of the Southeastern Flora; being descriptions of the seed plants growing naturally in Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, eastern Louisiana, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. Call Number: QK125.S64 1933a (2 volumes)
Stuckey, I.H. Coastal Plants from Cape Cod to Cape Canaveral.
Call Number: QK122 .S78 2000
Takhtajan, A. Flowering Plants: Origin and Dispersal. Translated by C. Jeffrey.
Call Number: QK495.A56 T323 1969b
Selected Websites
Botany - available from the National Biological Information Infrastructure website with links to USGS and non-USGS websites on botanical science, paleobotany, plant functions, species, applied plant science, gardening, collections and organizations, botany for kids and teachers, and references.
Access: http://www.nbii.gov/disciplines/botany/ (Last accessed July 20, 2006)
PLANTS Database – available from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, PLANTS is single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information. Access: http://plants.usda.gov/ (Last accessed: July 20, 2006)
Weakley, A.S. Flora of the Carolinas, Virginia, and Georgia, and Surrounding Areas.
Access: http://herbarium.unc.edu/flora.htm (Last accessed July 20, 2006)
II. Reviews and Important Journals in Botanical Research
|
|
III. Finding Scientific Articles
The following databases (i.e. indexes) will be helpful for finding scientific articles relating to plant families. Particularly useful databases to begin with are Biological Abstracts and JSTOR, although each of the databases below will likely yield information on your research topics. When searching the databases try searching for your plant family's name in the title of articles. Authors of scientific papers will generally include the family's name in the title of the paper and this help you find relevant articles easier.
IV. Interlibary Loan (ILLiad)
What if the Library doesn't own the journal in which your article was published? Use Randall Library's Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service, and the library will order articles you need from another library. This is a FREE service for students, faculty, and staff at UNCW. You do not need to know which library owns the journal that you need. Simply login into your ILLiad account and provide us with the citation, and we'll obtain the article for you. It generally takes 3-4 days for the library to process your request and obtain the article, so don't wait until the last minute for materials that you need!
To access this service, please see Randall Library's homepage ( http://library.uncw.edu ) and the section to the left of the photograph of the library. Click on the following: Interlibrary Loan.