- Determine
what resources are MOST likely include information on your
topic and those that are most likely to INDEX article citations to
articles on your topic:
Databases (indexes) for Finding Articles:
- Agricola - Compiled
by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of
Agriculture (USDA), Agricola is the most comprehensive database
to citations of journal articles, theses, patents,
software and technical reports on all aspects of agriculture and
allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences,
forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and
nutrition. (1979-current).
- Biological
Abstracts
- both the electronic (1969-present) and print editions
(1926-1996) are available via Randall Library. Biological
Abstracts (BA) is the most comprehensive index for worldwide
journal literature in the life sciences and is also the most
important index to biologists. Please see the BA
Fact Sheet for more information or the Guide
to Using Biological Abstracts for more information on
using this database.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
(ASFA) - via Randall Library's
subscription to the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts suite of
databases. ASFA is a premier reference database for citations
and abstracts of the world's literature dealing with the
science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and
brackish water environments and organisms. This source combines
three major files that cover the biological sciences and living
resources; ocean technology, policy and non-living resources,
and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Two specialized
files are also included, which are aquaculture and marine
biotechnology. The complete ASFA database provides the most
comprehensive coverage; if preferred, the five, more focused
files that comprise this unique database are also available as
separate databases.
- PLANTS
Database - single
source of standardized information about plants. This database
focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and
lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database
includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification
information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop
information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials
information, plant links, references, and other plant
information. Also includes States
PLANTS
list.
- PubMed
- free database developed by the National Center
for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of
Medicine, PubMED is the most comprehensive biomedical
research database available. It provides access to 12 million
citations and additional life science journals published in the
US and 70 foreign countries published from 1951 to the present. PubMed
includes links to many sites providing full text articles and
other related resources.
The NLM
Gateway allows users to search in multiple
retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of
Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway searches MEDLINE/PubMed,
OLDMEDLINE, TOXLINE Special, LocatorPlus, MedlinePlus,
ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Genetics Home Reference,
Meeting Abstracts, HSRProj, OMIM, and HSDB. See the Overview
for details.
|
- Zoological Record
(ZR) - oldest continuing database of animal biology
(1864-present), ZR indexes every aspect of zoology including
biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, etc. ZR
indexes over 4,500 international serials, and includes
approximately 1,500 non-serial publications (i.e. professional
journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews,
and conference proceedings). ZR is published by BIOSIS and the
Zoological Society of London. The online version only searches
1978 to the present. See the ZR
Fact Sheet for more information.
- These databases are all
citation-based. They do NOT include the full-text of the
articles. These are stand-alone indexes
identifying literature that has been published on your topic. This
means that Randall Library may or may not have access to a
particular journal
article you found in the databases.
- What if the
Library doesn't own the journal? Use
Randall Library' Interlibrary
Loan service, and the library will order the article you need
from another library. This is a free service for students, faculty,
and staff at UNCW. You do not need to know what library owns the
journal that you need. Simply give us the citation and we'll obtain
the article for you.
- Websites and
other resources (BOOKS!) can be good to use for background and
introductory information.
Last Update: December 12, 2005
|