Objective:
Despite perceived ubiquitous access to information via Google and other popular search engines, access to trustworthy and/or peer-reviewed scholarly/scientific literature remains problematic. And with multiple systems for accessing information, knowing where to begin can be a difficult and overwhelming task; particularly if one is not an expert or familiar with a specific area of study. Thus, the objective of this workshop and guide is to introduce you to the various resources and methods for obtaining information on reef fish ecology and behavior. Specifically, we'll discuss using the library's research databases to find journal articles, technical reports, government documents, and other materials related to reef fish ecology and behavior.
Using the library, databases, or other sources to find information can be complex and frustrating. If you need help at any time, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to help you.
Peter Fritzler
Randall Library, #2074
(2nd floor, NE corner of building)
Phone: 910–962–7807
Email: fritzlerp@uncw.edu
Instant Messager (AIM): peterfritzler1
I. Encyclopedias and Overview Literature
The list of books below provide syntheses, definitions, topic overviews, and bibliographies on a variety of subjects relating to reef fish ecology and behavior. The library maintains many more sources than those listed here, so it is important to browse the shelves around the titles listed below to locate other relevant resources. The Reference Collection is located on the first floor of the library to the right of the library's entrance.
Selected Books (Available in Library's Reference Collection)
- Lieske, E., and R. Myers. Coral reef fishes: Caribbean, Indian Ocean, and Pacific Ocean; Including the Red Sea. Call Number: QL621.58 .L54 1996
- Randall, J.E., G.R. Allen, and R.C. Steene. Fishes of the Great Barrier Reef and the Coral Sea. Call Number: QL636 .R36 1990
Selected Books (Available in Library's General Collection)
- Pitkin, L. Coral Fish.
Call Number: QL620.45 .P58 2001
- Polunin, N.V.C., and C.M. Roberts. Reef Fisheries.
Call Number: SH321 .R44 1996
- Wilson, R., and J.Q. Wilson. Pisces Guide to Watching Fishes: Understanding Coral Reef Fish Behavior.
Call Number: QL620 .W55 1992
Selected Websites
- FishBase - FishBase covers over 25,000 species of fish and has over 70,000 synonyms and 180,000 common names in over 200 languages. Over 35,000 pictures illustrate these fish. Information about them has been extracted from 20,000 references. The classification of higher taxa follows the version of Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes . Data includes family, order, class, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, biology, ecology, diet, reproduction, and references. Developed at the International Center for Living Aquatic Resources Management (ICLARM) in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC). Access: http://www.fishbase.org/home.htm
- REEF Survey Project Database - .
Access: http://www.reef.org/data/data.htm (Last accessed July 20, 2006)
- ReefBase -
Access: http://www.reefbase.org/ (Last accessed July 20, 2006)
II. Finding Scientific Articles
The following databases (i.e. indexes) will be helpful for finding scientific articles relating to plant families. Particularly useful databases to begin with are Biological Abstracts and JSTOR, although each of the databases below will likely yield information on your research topics. When searching the databases try searching for your plant family's name in the title of articles. Authors of scientific papers will generally include the family's name in the title of the paper and this help you find relevant articles easier.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) - via Randall Library's subscription to the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts suite of databases. ASFA is a premier reference database for citations and abstracts of the world's literature dealing with the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms. This source combines three major files that cover the biological sciences and living resources; ocean technology, policy and non-living resources, and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Two specialized files are also included, which are aquaculture and marine biotechnology. Please see the ASFA Fact Sheet or the Guide to Using ASFA for more information on using this database.
- Biological Abstracts - both the electronic (1969-present) and print editions (1926-1996) are available through Randall Library. Biological Abstracts (BA) is the most comprehensive index for worldwide journal literature in the life sciences and is one of the most important index to biologists. Please see the BA Fact Sheet or the Guide to Using Biological Abstracts for more information on using this database.
- NOAA Central Library Catalog - An online catalog containing the holdings of NOAA libraries around the country. Collections consist of reports, special data files and datasets, documents, articles, and audiovisual resources related to ocean science and atmospheric sciences.
- WorldCat - a combined catalog of thousands of libraries, including Randall Library. Search WorldCat if you want to search the largest universe of book and other cataloged items.
- Zoological Record (ZooRecord) - the premier resource comprehensively indexing literature in zoology, ZooRecord indexes every aspect of zoology including biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, etc. ZooRecord indexes over 4,500 international serials, and includes approximately 1,500 non-serial publications (i.e. professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings). ZooRecord is published by BIOSIS and the Zoological Society of London. Please see the Zoological Record Fact Sheet or the Guide to Using Zoological Record for more information on using this database.
Return to top
III. Interlibary Loan (ILLiad)
What if the Library doesn't own the journal in which your article was published? Use Randall Library's Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service, and the library will order articles you need from another library. This is a FREE service for students, faculty, and staff at UNCW. You do not need to know which library owns the journal that you need. Simply login into your ILLiad account and provide us with the citation, and we'll obtain the article for you. It generally takes 3-4 days for the library to process your request and obtain the article, so don't wait until the last minute for materials that you need!
To access this service, please see Randall Library's homepage (http://library.uncw.edu) and the section to the left of the photograph of the library. Click on the following: Interlibrary Loan.
Return to top
| |
Last Update:
21 July, 2006 13:43