Library Catalog
Why use the Library Catalog?
The library has many varied resources that can help you with
your policy research paper. From academic books covering the many aspects of
your issue to actual hearings held in Congressional and Senate
committee/subcommittee meeting can be found in the Library Catalog.
Finding Articles
TIPS for effective searching:
-
Once you have established
your topic, write down research questions and from those questions, identify
the keywords and use them in your search statement. You do not want to enter
questions or full sentences into when searching electronic databases.
Instead, you should break down your questions into major keywords or
concepts
-
After you have identified
keywords, think of synonyms for those words. You should also determine if it
will be helpful for you to search for the singular and plural form of the
word.
-
Next you should combine
your keywords in a way the computer can understand. To do this you will be
using what is called Boolean Logic. The most important aspect of Boolean
Logic is using AND to specify exactly what you are looking for in
your results
Listed below are a few of the many databases that
you can search for your policy paper. These databases will provide you with
citations and abstracts to articles, once you have this information simply
perform a Journal Title search in the library catalog to see if Randall Library
has the title.
PAIS International
The database covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics,
finance, law, international relations, public administration, government,
political science, and other social sciences -- with emphasis on issues that are
or might become the subjects of legislation. (indexing: 1974+)
America: History & Life
Citations and abstracts from journals, books, dissertations about history and
culture of the U.S. and Canada. (indexing: 1964+)
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports,
dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
(indexing: 1968+)
Sociological Abstracts
Access to the latest worldwide findings in theoretical and applied
sociology, social science, and policy science. Entries cover sociological
aspects broad topics, including business, collective behavior, community
development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, law and
penology, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social
work, sociological theory, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.
(indexing 1963+)
Also take a look at the Randall Library Subject Research Guides for Business & Economics for additional databases to search.
Scholarly Articles
First and foremost: Accountability and content of the specific article
are the key criteria used to determine if an article is scholarly.
- The audience of the journal will be geared
toward researchers and professionals in the field. There will be little or
no advertisements.
- The content of the journal will be
research projects, methodology, and theory articles written by contributing
authors. Articles are usually based on original research using established
methodology that supports conclusions arrived at by the author.
- Accountability, meaning that
articles are peer review or refereed and every article has an extensive
bibliography.
Simple things to look at are
the appearance of the journal: plain cover, plain paper, black/white graphics
and illustrations, pages consecutive throughout each volume, and length of the
article can be an indicator of type--longer articles (more than ten pages) will
tend to be scholarly.
A note about Peer Review: "Peer review" refers to the policy of having
experts in the field examine journal articles before acceptance for publication.
Peer review insures that the research described in a journal's articles is sound
and of high quality. Sometimes the term "refereed" is used instead of
peer review.
Legal & Governmental Resources
Lexis- Nexis Academic Universe -
Legal Research - federal, state & international legal materials.
Congressionial Universe - access to publications on key American policy
issues.
New to legal and governmental research? Take a look at the Legal Research page
located via the Subject Research Guide page. [URL:
http://library.uncwil.edu/Subject/Legal/index.html ]
Evaluation of Websites
The reliability and quality of information from Web sources has created many debates
in the academic world.
Researchers must always remember that the Web is a vast, unregulated information
resource that ANYONE with the proper tools and a little money can create a site
on the Web. Much like scholarly articles, accountability and content of the
webpage are the key criteria used to determine if a site When viewing a site for
research purposes the three most important features to consider are:
Authority: Who's responsible for the
page content? Are there any clues about that person's qualifications?
Content: Does it seem accurate? If
you don't know much about the topic yet, consider these other questions. Are
there citations to other works? Has the page been updated recently? Are there
facts you could try to verify?
Audience/Objectivity: Who designed
it? And for whom? Is there obvious (or not so obvious) bias? Is the page nothing
more than a marketing tool? What level of audience is it designed for (e.g.
children, adults, students, professionals)?
Last Update: March 1, 2006