this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Business - Databases



Primary Contact:
Beth Kaylor
Email:
kaylorj@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4232
IM Chat Name:
AIM: bethk379

Start Here

Other Suggestions

Wall Street Journal
1984 - present

Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
1975 – present
(more information)

CenStats
Custom reports from Census Bureau.
Free
(more information)

Demographic Yearbook: Natality Statistics
The United Nationas Demographic Yearbook is the world's most comprehensive compilation of currently available international demographic statistics for all countries and areas of the world. This is the second issue of dYB statistics on CD-Rom. It covers natality statistics for the period 1980-1998, presented in twenty tables. See see the library's Reference Desk to use these materials.

Disclosure
Corporate Snapshots
(more information)

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

JSTOR
Online archive of scholarly journals covering anthropology, history, literature, ecology, economics, and more.
(more information)

MasterFILE Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)

Morningstar Library Edition
Search over 18,000 stocks and mutual funds to determine where to invest your money. Identify stocks and funds that meet your criteria and read reports prepared by Morningstar. Obtain an analysis of your current portfolio or see how the stocks and funds you select work together to form a balanced portfolio.

New York Times
ProQuest Newspapers
Jan 1999 - present
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
June 1980 - present

New York Times Archives
Digital archives for the New York Times
1851 - 2001
(more information)

Newsbank: America's Newspapers
Articles from regional general and business newspapers.
1993 - present
(more information)

NTDB and NTDB Export
CD (National Trade Database). Also available at STAT-USA

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Website from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics with information about careers.
Free
2006-2007
(more information)

PAIS International
Citations to public policy, economics, government, law, etc.
(more information)

Reference USA
Directory information for 10.5 million businesses. Locate every business in the U.S. by company name, location, or type of business. In addition to contact information, ReferenceUSA provides full corporate affiliation linkage, multiple contact names, FAX and toll free numbers, single point mapping, and credit ratings.
(more information)

RIA Checkpoint
Checkpoint(TM) research system offers you fast, effective ways to find answers to your tax and financial research questions.

ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection. 1995 - present
(more information)

State Data Center
North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles.
Free

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Website from the U.S. Census Bureau. The paper version or CD version is available at the Reference Desk.
Free
(more information)

Statistics of U.S. Business
U.S. Census Bureau.
Free

STAT-USA
U.S. government business and trade information. Password required inquire at Reference Desk.
(more information)

Thomasnet
Search ThomasNet.com, the most comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more…
(more information)

Valueline (Now available off campus)
One user at a time. Library use only. Inquire at Reference Desk
(more information)

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: January 29, 2008