this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Resources in Finance


This is a selective list of sources available at Randall Library relating to finance. Other Fast Facts Guides for business research are available for company information, industry information, international business and business statistics. If you are not able to find the information that you need, please ask for help at the Reference Desk.

ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

Database Description Full Text
Business Newsbank Articles from regional general and business newspapers. (1993-current) Yes
Business Source Premier Business articles from journals, newspapers and magazines. (indexing 1984-current; full text 1990-current) EBSCOhost Yes
CenStats Collection of databases of census information on housing starts, county business patterns, international trade and more. Data
Disclosure Corporate description, earnings, stock and dividend information and more financials. Lexis-Nexis Yes
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) Database of e-journals. Includes a search engine for finding articles. Yes
Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles Basic information on public and private companies. Not searchable by SIC code. ProQuest (rolling ten years) Yes
JSTOR (On Campus)
JSTOR (Off Campus)
Online journals covering history, literature, ecology, economics, and more. Yes
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe News, business and company information and financials, legal and reference information. (various dates) Yes
MasterFILE Premier General reference, business, and heath periodicals. EBSCOhost (indexing 1984-current; full text 1990)
MergentOnline Source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.  
New York Times from Proquest Available: Newspaper Source, Lexis-Nexis, and InfoTrac custom Newspapers. (various dates) Yes
New York Times Archive Digital archives for the New York Times from 1851 - 1999. ProQuest Yes
NewsBank Infoweb Newspaper articles from regional general and business newspapers. Yes
State Data Center North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles. Data
Statistics of U.S. Business-North Carolina Economic data form the U.S. Census Bureau. Data
STAT-USA U.S. government business and trade information. Password required inquire at Reference Desk. Yes
Value Line One user at a time. Library use only. Inquire at Reference Desk Yes
Wall Street Journal Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Yes

PRINT RESOURCES
The following resources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. (several are available online)

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of business  information sources  Ref. H5353 .E2
"A detailed listing of primary subjects of interest to managerial personnel, with a record of sourcebooks, periodicals, organizations, directories, handbooks, bibliographies, on-line data bases, and other sources of information on each topic".

Encyclopedia of banking and finance  electronic copy available from netLibrary

Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance   Ref. HG151 .E63
Contains nearly 4200 in depth entries covering all aspects of the financial world. In addition this volume contains a comprehensive list of abbreviations and acronyms.

A dictionary of statistical terms  Ref. HA17 .K4 1990

The Financial Times A-Z of international finance    Ref. HG3880 .M34 1997
"A comprehensive guide to the language and techniques of international finance, covering markets, instruments, institutions, theories and jargon."

Guide to Futures and Options Marketing Terminology from the Center for Future's Education

International Financial Encyclopedia


Investment and securities dictionary    Ref. HG4513 .T48 1986
Summary of over 2,000 terms from the fields of securities, brokering, investment management, and financial planning.

The New Palgrave dictionary of money & finance     Ref. HG151 .N48 1992
Encyclopedic dictionary covering more than 1000 essays in the field of money and banking, written by expert contributors.

Reuters Glossary of international economic & financial terms     Ref. HB61 .R48 1989
Over 1,200 definitions of terms used in finance, economics, banking, and international business.


Handbooks and Manuals

The handbook of financial market indexes, averages, and Indicators  Ref. HG4636 .B49
Covers the securities, options, and futures markets, as well as over 200 major financial market barometers in the U.S. and 24 other countries.

Barron's finance and investment handbook
.      Ref. HG173 .D66
Contains descriptions of financial and investment terms, lists of financial organizations and companies, and historical statistical data.

Business Plans Handbook
: A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses       Ref. HD62.7 .B865

Handbook of Internet stocks      Ref. HG4501 .H37

Evaluates and ranks Internet companies by performance, market caps and assets, and by revenues and net income.

Handbook of investment products and services     Ref. HG4527 .H32

Evaluates retirement plans, commodity packages, zero-coupon bonds plus more familiar forms of securities.

Moody's bank and finance manual
.       Ref. HG4961 .M65
Provides brief company information on banks, insurance companies, investment trusts and other financial institutions. Updated by semi-weekly Moody's bank finance: News reports.

Moody's handbook of common stocks      Ref. HG4905 .M815

Contains price charts and concise financial statistics for over 900 stocks. Also includes a brief background, recent developments, and offices of companies.

Moody's handbook of dividend achievers      Ref. HG4050 .M66
Complete, concise profiles of more than 300 companies with the strongest dividend records in America.

International business information: how to find it, how to use it    Ref. HF54.5 .P33

Contains chapters on: Company information, Accounting standards and practices, Marketing, Advertising, media, and direct marketing, Exporting and importing, Industrial and economic statistics, International transactions, and International financial markets.
 

Guides and Directories

The American Stock Exchange: a guide to information resources    Ref. HG4575.2 .W86 1995
Covers the literature of the American Stock Exchange from 1900 through 1993.

Directory of companies required to file annual reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, alphabetically and by industry groups    
  U.S. Gov Doc. SE 1.27:year
Published annually by the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Directory of corporate affiliations.     current year Ready Ref. HG4057 .A219

A five volume set including the two Master Indexes is a directory of U.S. and foreign public and private companies providing extensive information including a complete hierarchy of each firm's structure. The Master Index of company names leads one to the parent company if there is one.

The global economy in the 90s: a user's guide      Ref. HG3881 .O772
Contains hundreds of graphs and tables on global economic activity, including foreign exchange, balance of payments, capital markets, stock and bond markets, banking, saving and investment, and fiscal management.

Mergent bond record    Ref. HG4905 .M78

Formerly Moody's Bond Record. Contains price and date information for over 56,000 corporate, convertible, and government bonds. Updated monthly.

Mergent dividend record
      Ref. HG4537 .M59
Formerly Moody's Dividend Record. Covers dividend statistics such as stock splits, stockholders rights, tax status of dividends. Updated annually.

Moody's unit investment trusts     Ref. HG4530 .M67
(subscription dropped 1998)
Provides detailed payment information on over 35,000 fund series.

Mutual fund fact book
      Ref. HG4930 .M8
Brief description and explanation of mutual fund industry and statistics on assets, sales, money market fund.  [http://www.ici.org/aboutfunds/factbook_toc.html] available online

Standard & Poor's stock reports: New York Stock Exchange
     Ref. HG4907 .S72
Provides company history and financial record for firms listed on the New York Stock Exchange.

The 100 best stocks to own in America
     Ref. HG4963 .W35
Company information on the 100 best-performing stocks.

Finance

Annual Reports
U.S.  Report Gallery  |  The Public Register's Annual Report Service  |   Fortune 500 Companies list of companies plus links to Web page and some annual reports | EDGAR Database Security and Exchange Commission filings | Barron's Annual Reports | IRN Investor Relations Information Network |
Foreign  Carol World Asia, Europe and U.S. | Yuka Shoken Hokokusho Japan's SEC | SEDAR Canada's EDGAR


Banking

American Bankers Association Web Site  Information about the largest banking trade association in the U.S., it includes links to U.S. and international banking sites such as the Federal Reserve Banks.
FDIC- Federal Deposit Insurance Corp.
  Data on FDIC insured institutions plus current statistics on the banking industry and information on regulations and consumer affairs.
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
  Full text of selected publications including forecasts and overviews for specific geographic areas.
Federal Reserve Board
  Information about the Federal Reserve system, press releases, reports to Congress, research reports, regulations, and publications.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) 
  Historical database of economic and financial data.
Independent Community Banks of America
  Listing of bank locations, state associations, money management tips, and links to other banking sites on the Web.
World Bank Group  Information about the organization, current news, publications, and topics in development. This is a great resource for information on companies in emerging markets

Economy
Economic Statistics Briefing Room
from the White House it provides access to current Federal economic indicators.
USA Today Economy Track
  Latest reports on the Economic Indicator Index, gross domestic product, consumer price index, consumer confidence surveys.
Financial Data Finder  This search engine will search the web for databases appropriate to your topic.
Wall Street Resource Net news, market data, annual reports and more.
North Carolina State Data Center
Wachowicz's Web World 

Stocks
U.S. NYSE | NASDAQ | AMEX | BigCharts current and historical stock prices |  FinancialWeb focuses on content from the North American and Latin American markets | Yahoo! Finance Ticker Symbol Lookup
Foreign Tokyo Stock Exchange | World Stock Exchanges


Last Update: December 12, 2005