This is a very selective list of reference books, databases and internet resources available at Randall Library relating to international business. Other Guides for business research are available for company information, industry information and business statistics. If you are not able to find the information that you need, please ask for help at the Reference Desk.
Electronic Databases
Most of the following sources are available through
Randall Library's Home Page, Click "
Databases and Articles" or click the links provided below. Information available from these databases include citations to periodical and newspaper articles, industry information, company information, and statistical information.
Full Text
Business Source Premier
EbscoHost indexes 850 business periodicals
Lexis-Nexis
Click on Business to find Industry and Market News, General Company News,
Country Profiles--full-text. Includes access to WorldScope (company background, general product analysis, SIC codes, financials, competition) and Disclosure.
Mergent Online
Financial Information Services online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies
PAIS International
citations to articles about public policy, economics and more
Stat-USA
International market research, country analysis, trade analysis. Search entire NTDB. Also look at International Trade Library. Use in library only--librarian must enter password.
Statistical Universe
U.S. statistical info from Congressional Information Service, Inc
Print and Internet Resources
Internet Meta Directories
Background Information On Countries
Directories & Company Profiles
Company Financial Information
Statistics
Encyclopedias Of International Economics
Dictionaries
Guides To Additional Sources
Internet META Directories
globalEDGE
International business resources from Michigan State University
VIBES: Virtual
International Business and Economic Sources from UNC Charlotte provides over 1,600 links to Internet
sources of international business and economic information that are in English and available free of charge.
Business 2.0 Commercial site with lots of links to basic sources
SIC Codes online search
engine print manual - Ready Ref. HF1042 .A55
Harmonized
Tariff Schedule B search engine for exports print schedule - Ready Ref. KF6654 .599
Background Information On Countries
Background Notes. State Department - US Documents S 1.123: (also a
file on the NTDB) available online Background Notes.
Big Emerging Markets. - Ref. HF3000 .B54 1996
Country Commercial Guides. (Export.gov)
Country Studies/Area Handbooks. (Library of Congress)
Culturgrams: The Nations Around Us. - Ref GT150. C85 1995 (2 vols.)
Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World. - Ref HF1416. M78 1997
Europa World Year Book.- Ref JN1 .E85
Exporters' Encyclopedia. - Ref HF3011 .E9
International Business Practices list of informational reports on business practices, business protocols and etiquette by country.
International Trade Administration. Country Commercial Guides (CCG) are prepared by US Embassy Staff.
Portrait of the Regions. - Ref HA1107.5 .P67 1993 (European Economic Community)
Statesman's Year-Book. - Ready Ref JA51 .S7. Earlier editions in the Reference Collection.
World Economic and Business Review. - Ref HC10 .W7975 1991
World
Factbook (CIA) .
Also Ref G122 .U56. (also a file on the NTDB) Earlier editions, US Documents PrEx3.15:
World Markets Desk Book: A Region-by-Region Survey of Global Trade Opportunities. - Ref HF1009.5 .T85 1993
World Trade Almanac. - Ref HF1379 .W67 1996-97
Directories & Company Profiles
Canada Business Directory. Lexis-Nexis Business/Company Financial/International Company Reports
CorporateInformation.
This site offers company and industry information in addition to background, current news and more. Pick a country from pull down menu.
Directory of American Exporting Companies.
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries. Ref HG4538.A1 D5
Directory of Foreign Manufacturers in the United States. - Ref HD9723.D39 1993
Directory of Multinationals. - Ref HD2755.5.S79 1992
Directory of Multinationals: the world's top 500 companies. - Ref HD2755.5 .S78 1998
Foreign-Owned Firms Operating in North Carolina. - Ref
HF1 .N8
Foreign Trader's Index. (NTDB Disc 2)
Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles Database. ProQuest
Company Reports
Hoover's Handbook of World Business: Profiles of Major European, Asian, Latin American, and Canadian Companies - Ref HG4009 .H66
International Directory of Company Histories. - Ref HD2721 .I57
International Directory of Corporate Affiliations - Ref HG4057 .A219
International Firms North Carolina. NC-Docs Microfiche B96 15:F71 year
Japan Company Handbook and Teikoku (Japanese companies in the U.S.). Lexis-Nexis
Business/Company Financial/International Company Reports
Major Companies of Europe. - Ref HC241.2 .M34
Major Companies of the Far East and Australasia. - Ref HC460.5 .M34a
Medium Companies of Europe. - Ref HC241.2 .M42a
Mergent/Moody's International Manual. Moody's Investor Services. - Ref HG4009 .M6
Principal International Businesses. - Ref HF54 .U5 P74 (1997)
Thomas Global Register. First time visitors must register.
Worldscope-International Company Profiles. Lexis-Nexis
Business/Company Financial/International Company Reports.
Worldwide Branch Locations of Multinational Companies. - Ref HD2755.5 .W7 1994
Company Financial Information
Extel Cards Database.
Lexis-Nexis
Business/Company Financial/International Company Reports
Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles Database. ProQuest
Company Reports
Hoover's Handbook of World Business: Profiles of Major European, Asian, Latin American, and Canadian Companies. - Ref HG4009 .H66
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe Business
Japan Company Handbook and Teikoku (Japanese companies in the U.S.). Lexis-Nexis
Business/Company Financial/International Company Reports
Mergent/Moody's International Manual. Moody's Investor Services. - Ref HG4009 .M6
Standard and Poor's Corporation Records. - Ref HG4501 .S76635
SEC 20-F filings. (non-U.S. companies that trade on the U.S. stock exchange) Lexis-Nexis
and Dow-Jones Interactive
Worldscope-International Company Profiles.
Lexis-Nexis
Business/Company Financial/International Company Reports and
Annual Reports Carol World Asia, Europe and U.S. | SEDAR Canada's EDGAR
Remember that some financial information will be in currency other than U.S. dollars.
Statistics
Beige Book of Current Economic Conditions
Demographic Yearbook. - Ref HA17 .D45
European Business Rankings. - Ref HG4132 .A2 1992
FAO Production Yearbook. - Ref HD1421 .F585
Foreign Labor Trends. - US Documents L 29.16:
Foreign Trade of the United States : including State and Metro Area Export Data. - - Ref HF1416.5 .F68 1999
The Global Economy in the 90s: A User's Guide. - Ref HG3881 .O7222 1992
Handbook
of International Economic Statistics. CIA
International Financial Statistics Yearbook. - Ref HG61 .I57
Industrial Statistics Yearbook. - Ref HC59 .Y4
International Trade Administration
of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce
International
Trade Statistics 2000. World Trade Organization
International Trade Statistics Yearbook. - Ref HF91 .U473
National Accounts Statistics. - Ref HC79.I5 N388
OECD Economic Surveys. Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. For paper copy search the online catalog by this title for call numbers of individual country surveys.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. - Ready Ref HA202 .A3
Statistical Yearbook. - Ref HA12 .5 .U63
Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific. - Ref HA1665 .S73
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the
Caribbean. - Ref HA755 .A68
Statistical Yearbook of China. - Ref HA4631 .S83
Taiwan Statistical Data Book. - Ref HA1710 .5 .T35
U.S. Census Bureau Foreign Trade Statistics.
U.S. Exports of Merchandise. CD-ROM (Gov. Doc. C3.287:15)
U.S. Global Trade Outlook. - Ref HC101 .U54
U.S. Imports of Merchandise. CD-ROM (Gov. Doc. C3.278/2:998)
World Market Share Reporter. - Ref HD2757 .I5.W67
Encyclopedias of International Economics
Resources and Industry. - Ref HF1025 .R385 1992
World Economic & Social Survey. - Ref HC59 .A169 1994
World Economy. - Ref HC15 .W67 1993
World Resources. - Ref HC10 .W827
Dictionaries
Dictionary of International Business Terms. - Ref HD62.4 .C36 1966
Dictionary of International Trade. - Ref HF1373 .R67 1994
Encyclopedia of International Commerce. - Ref HF1001 .M55 1985
Multinational Enterprise; an Encyclopedic Dictionary of Concepts and Terms. - Ref HD2755.5 .M8337 1987
Guides To Additional Sources
Books & Periodicals Online: an International Directory of Sources Available Online and On CD-ROM; Indexed, Abstracted and Full Text. - Ref HF5351 .B66 1994
Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It. - Ref HF5351
Business Information Sources, 3rd ed. - Ref HF5351 .D35 1993
Data Sources for Business and Market Analysis. - Ref HF 5415.124 .F7 1994
Handbook of Business Information: A Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers. - Ref HF5351 .S834 1988
International Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It. – Ready Ref
HF54.5 P33 1998
Last Update: March 24, 2006