this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide: MGT 352 - Resources for International Management


Access Randall Library's databases from your home computer

Company Information

Guide to Company Information Using Randall Library and Mergent Online

Guide to Company Information Using Randall Library and Lexis-Nexis Academic

International Business Information

Searching Sources by SIC/NAICS Codes

General Product Information

How to identify the SIC code for a product: you can search the print manual - Ready Ref. HF1042 .A55 or the online manual (http://www.osha.gov/cgi-bin/sic/sicser5 ) or do a keyword search for a code at (http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html )

What is a Harmonized System number How to identify the HTS number assigned to a product that is being exported: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/www . Choose Schedule B Search Engine from the drop down menu in the upper right corner of the page.

The Harmonized Tariff System is available in print - Ready Ref. KF6654 .599 or online at http://hotdocs.usitc.gov/tariff_chapters_current/toc.html

General Market Information

Export.gov -- http://www.export.gov/ -- Provides access to a wide variety of country, market and industry information resources.
U.S. Commercial Service-- BuyUSA
International Trade Administration -- Trade Information Center - Provides country information, an tariff and tax information, export resources and industry information.
International Trade Administration website also contains export prospects and market information for various countries and regions.
Google: Type in the name of your country and "business culture"
Country Profiles from BBC News -- Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
Google Uncle Sam -- country information
HSBC Business Profiles: Economic and business information for over 40 countries. Includes useful links to government departments, chambers of commerce and business organizations.
VIBES: Virtual International Business and Economic Sources from UNC Charlotte provides over 1,600 links to Internet sources of international business and economic information that are in English and available free of charge.
STAT-USA http://www.stat-usa.govis the Internet source for business and economic information produced by the federal government. One user at a time. Password required, available at the Reference Desk.
There are two main collections: State of the Nation includes U.S. economic data and release calendars, exchange rates, industrial data, and consumer credit reports. GLOBUS & NTDB includes trade opportunity leads, international industry analysis, market analysis, imports, exports and guides for U.S. companies doing business in different countries.
Economist Country Briefings: Includes profiles for 60 countries including economic forecasts and political climates.
Background Notes http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/

Resources for Economic, Customer and Industry Information

Country Commercial Guides: Annual publications prepared by U.S. Embassies with assistance from a variety of government agencies. The reports provide an expansive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. They are available via the internet from the U.S. State department at http://www.state.gov/www/about_state/business/com_guides and available through Export.gov at http://www.usatrade.gov/website/ccg.nsf . They are also available through Stat-USA.

Country Studies/Area Handbooks: The Country Studies collection presents descriptions and analysis of the "historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of counties throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors." The original series was designed to provide information on lesser known areas of the world. As a result the series is not all-inclusive. Over 100 countries are covered but Canada, France, the United Kingdom, other Western nations, and a number of African nations are not covered. They are available through the internet from http://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html or http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html

World Fact Book: The World Fact Book is published by the Central Intelligence Agency from information gathered by the organization. It provides a wealth of demographic, social, and economic information on each country. Use the field Listing link at the top of the page to help you locate what information is available in what section of the report. It is available online from the CIA website at http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook /. A print copy is located in the Reference Collection under the call number - Ref G122.U56

How do I get up-to-date access to current trade news?

Try bank pages www.google.com (ex. Bank of Kenya) Handbook of International Economic Statistics http://www.cia.gov/cia/di/products/hies/ US Trade Balances by Country http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/balance/index.html Trade Agreements, Trade Barriers and more:

Trade Barriers

Trade Compliance Center: Search trade agreements.

Print Resources include:

Europa World Year Book - Ref JN1 .E85

Exporter's Encyclopedia - Ref HF3011 .E9

CulturGrams - Ref GT150 .C85 1995

World Trade Almanac - Reference HF1379 .W67

Peoples and Cultures - Ref G128 .P46 1992

Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands - Reference HF5389 .M67 1994

Dun and Bradstreet's Guide for Doing Business Around the World - Ref HF1416 .M78 1997

The Do's and Taboos of International Trade - General Collection HF5387 .D66 1993

Going International: How to Make Friends and Deal Effectively in the Global Marketplace - General Collection HD62.4 .C66 1984

Statistics Aneki.com: Offers country, regional and world rakings on a variety of socioeconomic factors Foreign Trade Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau

HOW TO CITE BUSINESS SOURCES


Last Update: March 24, 2006