Business News
Company Directories
Company Profiles
SEC Filings/Reports
Company Comparisons
The following databases are available through the
Databases and Articles link on the Randall Library Web page [http://library.uncw.edu/].
For more resources go to the
Subject Research Guide - Business
[http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/subjects/business/index.html] or ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
Lexis-Nexis Business News
Business & Finance : Business and finance news sources and selected business and finance stories from major newspapers.
Industry News : A variety of industry and trade sources on over fifty industries.
Mergers& Acquisitions : Selected stories from major US and international newspapers, business journals and business wires on corporate mergers and acquisitions, including news on the buyers and sellers, friendly acquisitions and hostile takeovers, proxy fights, leveraged transactions, and the details of individual acquisition agreements.
Lexis-Nexis Industry
News from over 25 industries. (Search keywords in each individual industry.)
Lexis-Nexis Accounting
Articles and information from numerous accounting journals and other accounting
literature.
Company Directories Lexis-Nexis Business
Directory of Corporate Affiliations Information on international public and private companies, including financials, personnel, outside service firms, and subsidiaries. The DCA has an executive index to link names with companies. Available in - Ref HG 4057.A219
Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives
Corporate listings that include address, telephone and web sites, names, titles and functions of officers, primary accounting firm, bank firm and law firm, stock exchange, ticker symbol, description of products/services, SIC codes, annual sales, number of employees, division names and functions, subsidiary listings, address of officers. Individual listings for directors and executives that include principal business affiliations with official titles, business address, residence address, year and place of birth, college and year of graduation, fraternal memberships and email
addresses. Available in Reference HG 4057.A4
Company Profiles
Disclosure
Contains business and financial information on more than 10,000 companies that have at least 500 shareholders of on class of stock, at least $5 million in assets, and must have filed a 10-K or 20-F in the past 18 months.
Information available:
State of incorporation standard stock ownership summaries on inside ownership, five percent ownership and institutional ownership complete principal address
management discussion text from the Annual Report to
Shareholders (ARS) or SEC form 10-K balance sheets
text of the President's letter from the ARS assets and liabilities
the text of the Other Corporate Events Section that
contains a record of unusual events in the last two
years (i.e. bankruptcy notifications, auditor changes,
and elections of directors, etc.)
five-year summary
the text of the Exhibits segment that discusses
partnership agreements,
certificates of incorporation
and company incentive plans.
industry segment
Disclosure is available through Lexis-Nexis Company Financial - If you search in the US Public Companies, Disclosure will be included, or you can search only the Disclosure Online Database.
Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles Database
Hoover's Company Profiles provides access to in-depth profiles of 3,400 public and
private companies in the U.S. and around the world.
Information available:
company operations and history products
addresses, phone and fax numbers
key competitors
list of officers
financial data
names of key officers
stock symbols
sales and employment figures
other SEC reports
Hoover's Handbook of American Business
Profiles of 750 major companies.
Information available:
Company strategy
officers
reputation
ages and pay of key officers
ownership
auditors
history
address, phone, fax and website
geographic distribution of business
products/operations
competitors
historic financials (sales, net income, income as
percent of sales, earnings per share, stock price, high
and low price/earnings ratio
book value per share
number of employees
Print copy available in Reference HG4057.A286217
Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies
In-depth profiles on growth enterprises in America, an extra 400 basic profiles on key emerging companies. Useful business rankings are also available.
Information available:
Company strategy
officers
reputation
ages and pay of key officers
ownership
auditors
history
address, phone, fax and website
geographic distribution of business
products/operations
competitors
historic financials (sales, net income, income as
percent of sales, earnings per share, stock price, high
and low price/earnings ratio
book value per share
average number of employees
Print copy available in Reference HG 4057.A28618
Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
Profiles of 770 major U.S. private enterprises and basic information on 520 of key private companies.
Information available:
company strategy
officers
reputation
ages and pay of key officers
ownership
auditors
history
address, phone, fax and website
geographic distribution of business
products/operations
competitors
historic financials (sales, net income, income as
percent of sales, earnings per share, stock price, high
and low price/earnings ratio
book value per share
number of employees
Print copy available in Reference HG4057.A2819
International Directory of Company Histories
Thorough descriptions of the development of almost 5,000 of the world's most important companies.
Information available:
name
number of employees, most recent available sales
figures
address, phone, fax and website
exchanges and ticker symbol
statement of public, private, state or parent ownership
NAIC code
Founding or earliest incorporation date
Company perspectives (mission, goals, ideals)
key dates
principal
operating units
principal subsidiaries
principal competitors
principal divisions
articles for further reading
Print copy available in Reference HD2721.I57
Nelson's Public Company Profiles
Brief descriptions of 22,000 publicly traded corporations worldwide.
Information available:
contact information
key executives
business descriptions
Nelson's Public Company Profiles is available in Lexis-Nexis
Company Financial U.S. Public Companies and U.S. Lexis-Nexis
Company Financial International Company Reports
U.S. Business Directory
Information on about ten million public and private U.S. businesses.
Information available:
Company name and modeled sales volume figures
Mailing address
Employment size
telephone and fax numbers
carrier route
employment data
size of Yellow Page ad
key contacts with titles
six position SIC codes
The U.S. Business Directory is available through Lexis-Nexis Company Financial
U.S. Public Companies, Lexis-Nexis Company Financial U.S. Private Companies
Standard and Poor's Corporate Descriptions
In-depth information on publicly held corporations.
Information available:
capitalization summary
corporate office address and telephone number
company business description
officers and directors
subsidiaries & affiliates
bond descriptions
property & facility locations
S&P bond rating
capital expenditures
details of stock securities and offerings
number of employees
number of stockholders
incorporation history
transfer agent and registrar
stock prices (annual highs/lows for ten years)
dividend payment history for up to 10 years
annual report-audited consolidated income account
and balance sheet
Standard and Poor's Corporate Descriptions is available through Lexis-Nexis
Company Financial
Worldscope
Financial reports on companies worldwide.
Information available:
Address and telephone numbers
shareholder information
ticker symbol
number of employees
stock exchange
trading volume
SIC codes
Fiscal year
industry classes, groups and categories
product data
brief description
geographic segment data
status
officers
financial items
ratios annual
annual stock price and trading data
stock performance
Worldscope is available through Lexis-Nexis Company Financial
SEC Filings and Reports
SEC Form 10-K
Annual report filed by most U.S. companies 90 days after the end of their fiscal year. It provides a comprehensive overview of the registrant's business.
description of business
properties
legal proceedings
market for registrant's common stock and related security holder matters
selected financial data
management's discussion and analysis of financial conditions and results of operations
directors and executive officers of the registrant
exhibits index and financial schedules
SEC Form 10-Q
A quarterly report for each of the first three quarters of a company's fiscal year filed within 45 days of the end of each fiscal quarter. It includes un-audited financial statements and provides a continuing view of the company's
financial position during the year.
income statement
balance sheet
statement of source
application of funds
results of operations analysis
computations of earnings per share and dividends per share
can include the dollar amount of backlogged orders
can include an explanation of commitments and contingent liabilities
SEC Form 8-K
A report of unscheduled material events or important corporate changes. Reports
are filed for the following changes:
Changes in control of registrant
Acquisition or disposition of assets
Bankruptcy or receivership
Changes in registrant's certifying accountant
Other materially important events
Resignation of registrant's directors
Financial statements and/or exhibits
Change in fiscal year
SEC Form 20-F
Form 20-F is the report filed annually by most foreign issuers six months after the end of their fiscal year. (Similar to 10-K, but for foreign issuers)
description of the business
properties
legal proceedings
market for registrant's common stock and related security holder matters
selected financial data (all schedules)
management's discussion and analysis of financial condition
results of operations
directors and executive officers of the registrant
exhibits index and financial
SEC Annual Report to Shareholders
Although not a required SEC report, the ARS is the principal document major corporations use to communicate directly with their shareholders. Much of the
information in the ARS is referenced by the 10K filing.
It is usually a state-of-the-company report including an
opening letter from the Chief Executive Officer
financial data
results of continuing operations
market segment information
new product plans
subsidiary activities and research
development activities on future programs
SEC Proxy Statements
The official notification to shareholders of matters to be voted on at the company's annual meeting.
election of company directors
executive compensation plans
changes to bylaws etc.
SEC Prospectuses
The prospectus is a key document in the sale of securities that must be made available to investors before the sale of any security is initiated.
description of securities to be registered
use of proceeds
risk factors
determination of offering price
potential dilution
selling security holders
plan of distribution
interests of named experts and counsel
information with respect to registrant
description of business
legal proceedings
market price and dividends on common equity
financial statements
management discussion and analysis
changes in and disagreements with accountants
directors and executive officers
security ownership of certain beneficial
owners and management
certain relationships and related transaction
For descriptions of other SEC filings, go to
http://www.sec.gov/edaux/forms.htm
Where to go to get SEC Reports at Randall Library
Paper Copy: A small, selective collection of annual reports for publicly traded companies is available in the General Collection. The call numbers on these reports all begin with HD63. A TITLE search of the company name in the Randall Online Catalog will tell you if the Library owns a paper copy for a specific company.
Microfiche: Annual reports for all companies traded on the New York, American, or OTC Stock Exchanges are available in a microfiche collection called SEC File (Microfiche HG4028.B2 S4). Formerly known as Q-file, reports are available in this collection back to 1983. The company name index to the collection is at Ready Ref HG4028.B2 S4. Photocopying machines are available for the microfiche ($.10 per page).
Lexis-Nexis SEC Filings and Reports
SEC Form 10-K (1987-current)
SEC Form 10-Q (varies by form and type)
SEC Form 8-K (April 1993-current)
SEC Form 20-F (1991-current)
SEC Annual Report to Shareholders
SEC Form 10-K
SEC Proxy Statements (1993-current)
SEC Prospectuses (April 1993-current)
SEC Registration Statements (November 1994-current)
SEC Williams Act Filings (April 1993-current)
EDGAR Database: The EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval) File is a database of electronic reports submitted by
corporations to the Securities and Exchange Commission. Currently over 8,000
corporations take part in this service. The files available to the public
include the 10-K and 10-Q reports.
Dow Jones Company and Industry Center SEC Full-Text Filings
Company Websites: Annual reports are often
available on individual companies' websites.
Company Comparisons
Lexis-Nexis
Compare Companies allows you to enter data (sales, net income, employees and
location) to find companies that meet your specified criteria according to Hoover's
Company Reports, which includes: Hoover's
Handbook of American Business, Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies, Hoover's
Handbook of World Business, and Hoover's Guide to Private Companies.
Last Update: March 24, 2006