Class Guide: MKT 442 Resources for International Marketing
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Beth Kaylor |
| Email: |
| kaylorj@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-4232 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: bethk379 |
Create a Library PIN
Access Randall Library databases from your home computer
Ask a Libraian - contact the Reference Desk by phone, email or chat
Library Resource Guides:
Country Information Resources
International Business Information
Searching Sources by SIC/NAICS Codes
Useful Print Resources include:
Europa World YearBook-- UNCW Reference JN1 .E85
Exporter's Encyclopedia -- UNCW Reference HF3011 .E9
CultureGrams -- UNCW Reference GT150 .C85
The Statesman's Yearbook -- UNCW Reference JA51 .S7
World Trade Almanac -- UNCW Reference HF1379 .W67
Databases:
ABI Inform -- U.S. and international articles on business and management
Business Source Premier -- Includes detailed country reports as well as the abilaity to search a wide range of business sources.
Lexis-Nexis Academic -- Covers news sources from other countires.
Mergent Online -- International company information
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS) International -- PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
WDI (World Development Indicators) Online (choose Institutional Subscribers) -- provides direct access to more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2005, where data are available.
STAT-USA is the Internet source for business and economic information produced by the federal government. One user at a time in the library. Password required, available at the Reference Desk.
There are two main collections:
State of the Nation includes U.S. economic data and release calendars, exchange rates, industrial data, and consumer credit reports.
GLOBUS & NTDB includes trade opportunity leads, international industry analysis, market analysis, imports,
exports and guides for U.S. companies doing business in different countries.
Map Sources:
Perry-Castañeda Library, University of Texas, an excellent site for a wide variety of thematic maps spanning the entire globe.
Central Intelligence Agency political maps of the world.
Geography Network
Oddens' Bookmarks--Maps and Atlases
The UC Atlas of Global Inequality
USGS Global Visualization Viewer satellite images from all over the world.
Gapminder allows one to demonstrate changes over time for countries on a graph or on a map.
University of Alabama's online map library
Harvard Library Cartography and GIS Links is a good resource for a number of different sites.
Blank Outline Maps of Political Boundaries
General Product Analysis -- including product codes and tariffs
How to identify the SIC code for a product: you can search the print manual Ready Ref. HF1042 .A55 or the online manual (http://www.osha.gov/cgi-bin/sic/sicser5 )or do a keyword search for a code at (http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html )
How to identify the NAICS (North American Industry Classification system) number: http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html
What is a Harmonized System number? How to identify the HTS number assigned to a product that is being exported: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/www.
The Harmonized Tariff System (also available in print Ready Ref. KF6654 .599)
Country Tariff Information -- Tariff and Tax Resources
European Union Tariff Schedule - Including VAT (Value Added Tax) and CIF (cost,insornace and freight)
Tariff Information Center Database -- find the correct tariffs for other countires.
General Market Analysis
Export.gov -- Provides access to a wide variety of country, market and industry information resources.
U.S. Commercial Service -- BuyUSA
International Trade Administration -- Trade Information Center - Provides country information, an tariff and tax information, export resources and industry information.
International Trade Administration -- Contains export prospects and market information for various countries and regions.
Background Notes -- Country reports from the U.S. State Department.
Economist Country Briefings -- Includes profiles for 60 countries including economic forecasts and political climates.
Country Profiles from BBC News -- Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
Google Uncle Sam -- Use Google Uncle Sam to locate country information from U.S. Government sources.
VIBES: Virtual International Business and Economic Sources from UNC Charlotte provides over 1,600 links to Internet sources of international business and economic information that are in English and available free of charge.
Search country bank pages = www.google.com (ex. Bank of Kenya)
Handbook of International Economic Statistics http://www.cia.gov/cia/di/products/hies/
US Trade Balances by Country http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/balance/index.html
International Business Ettiquette and Manners
Statistics Sources
U.S. Department of Labor -- This site provides links to principle U.S. federal statistical agencies as well as the statistical agencies of most foreign countries. (A word of caution: detailed data on some country web sites is available only in the language native to that country).
U.S. Census Bureau -- Foreign Trade Statistics
NationMaster.com -- NationMaster is a massive central data source and provides a way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster compiles data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. This web site allows the user to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics. Note the countries tab but main page is also interesting.
World Trade Organization -- The Statistics Database allows access to the most up-to-date WTO trade statistics. Within this database, the Trade Profiles section provides predefined information on the trade situation of selected economies. The Time Series section allows an interactive data retrieval of trade statistics.
Countries of the World -- Each country profile provides information on topics such as geography, history, government, economy, ethnicity/race, and literacy. A map of each country is also provided.
Library Spot – Countries -- Provides links to the CIA World Fact Book online, Country Studies (Library of Congress), Ecomomy.com (World Bank), Map Machine (National Geographic), and much more.
International Trade
BUBL Link Catalog of Internet Resources on International Commerce
Links to academic trade centers, chambers of commerce, international trade resources, trade and environment, fair trade organizations and information.
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/linkbrowse.cfm?menuid=5604
Federation of International Trade Associations
See their "Really Useful Sites for International Trade Professionals" along with resources for country, legal, language, international markets and business directories.
http://www.fita.org/
United Nations/ECE. Trends in Europe and North America
Thumbnail statistical profiles of 55 countries.
http://www.unece.org/stats/trend/trend_h.htm
U.S. International Trade Commission Dataweb
Interactive, direct access to trade data, including tariff information, import/export data.
http://dataweb.usitc.gov/
Trade Agreements, Trade Barriers and more:
Trade Barriers - Examples of trade barriers
Trade Compliance Center: Search trade agreements.
Resources for Economic, Customer and Industry Information
Country Commercial Guides: Annual publications prepared by U.S. Embassies with assistance from a variety of government agencies. The reports provide an expansive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. They are available via the internet from the U.S. State department at http://www.state.gov/www/about_state/business/com_guides and available through Export.gov at http://www.usatrade.gov/website/ccg.nsf . They are also available through Stat-USA.
Country Studies: The Country Studies collection presents descriptions and analysis of the "historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of counties throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors." The original series was designed to provide information on lesser known areas of the world. As a result the series is not all-inclusive. Over 100 countries are covered but Canada, France, the United Kingdom, other Western nations, and a number of African nations are not covered.
World Fact Book: The World Fact Book is published by the Central Intelligence Agency from information gathered by the organization. It provides a wealth of demographic, social, and economic information on each country. Use the field Listing link at the top of the page to help you locate what information is available in what section of the report. A print copy is located in the Reference Collection under the call number Ref G122.U56
| Type of Information | Country Commercial Guides | Country Studies/Area Handbooks | World Fact Book | |
| Demographics | ||||
| Population Size | Y | Y | Y | |
| Age | N | Y | Y | |
| Literacy/Education | N | Y | Y | |
| Income Distribution | N | Y | Y (not by %) | |
| Economics | ||||
| Inflation | Y | N | Y | |
| GDP per capita | Y | Some | Y | |
| GDP real growth | Y | Y | Y | |
| Geographic Data | ||||
| Climate | N | Y | Y | |
| Political Divisions | N | Y | Y | |
| Product Usage Data | ||||
| Social Class/Family | N | Some | N | |
| Ethnicity | Some | Y | Y | |
| Language | Y | Y | Y | |
| Religion | Y | Y | Y | |
| Industry/Market Information | ||||
| Competitive Analysis | N | N | N | |
| Distribution Channels | Y | N | N | |
| Pricing | Y | N | N | |
| Marketing Promotion | Y | N | N | |
| Communications | Some | Y | Y | |
| Trade Data on Imports | Y | N | Y | |
| Transportation | Some | Y | Y |