Online Sources:
U. S. Census Bureau Publications:
- Census of Housing - US Documents C3.224:
- Census of Population - US Documents C3.223:
- Census of Population (North Carolina) - Ref HA 201 [year] .A4565
- County and City Data Book - Includes only those cities of 25,000 or more and towns or townships of 2,500 or more. Earlier editions, US Documents C 3.134/2: and Ref HA 202 .A36
- County Business Patterns - This annual series includes a separate report for each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and a U.S. summary. Presents state and county data by two, three, and four digit levels of the SIC Code. - US Documents C 3.204: and CD-ROM (Request at Government Documents Office.)
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book - Gives statistics and rankings for states and metropolitan areas. Earlier
editions US Documents C 3.134/5. and Ref HA202 .S84
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Earlier editions, US Documents C 3.134: and Ready Ref HA 202 .A3 (most
current) Ref HA 202 .A3
Other Statistical Compendiums:
- Business Statistics -
monthly and quarterly data for 2,600 statistical series report in the Survey of Current Business.
Earlier editions, US Documents C 59.11/3: Ref HC 101 .A13122
- Business Statistics of the United States- Ref HA 29.B87
- CPI Detailed Report -
A monthly periodical which reports consumer price index statistics. - US Documents L 2.38/3:
- Demographics USA - County Edition
Population, income & expenditures, retail sales and establishments, etc., for states, counties, MSA's, and television markets. - Ref HF 5415.2 .S89
- Editor & Publisher Market Guide Profiles based on daily newspaper markets, providing demographic, transportation, utilities, banking, industry, and retail outlet information. Earlier editions, General Collection HF 5905 .E38 and Ref HF 5905 .E38
- The Global Economy in the 90s
Reports trends in output, production, trade, finances, energy and human resources on global, continental, and national scales. - Ref HG 3881 .O772 1992
- Handbook of Labor Statistics -
Includes statistics on all aspects of employment: wages, hours, productivity, etc. Also includes price and living conditions statistics and some foreign labor statistics.
Earlier editions, US Documents L 2.3/5: and Ref HD 8051 .A62
- The Irwin Business and Investment Almanac -"A virtual library in one book, this almanac is a very effective business tool kit, providing summaries, graphs, and statistics from a variety of respected business
sources." (p. vii, 1994 edition) - Ref HF 5003.D68a
- Markets of the U.S. for Business Planners -
The subtitle says it all: "Historical and Current Profiles of 183 U.S. Urban Economies by Major Section and Industry, with Maps, Graphics, and Commentary" - Ref HC106.8.M333 1992
- National Economic, Social, and Environmental Data Bank -
Full-text of hundreds of U.S. government documents relating to business, economic, and social trends. CD-Rom available in the Government Documents Office C 1.88/2:
- The Official
Guide to the American Marketplace -
Statistical tables reporting trends in population, housing, income, spending & wealth, labor force, education, health, and attitudes. - Ref HA 214 .A6 1995
- Standard & Poor's Statistical Service Current Statistics -
Gives statistics on current price indexes by industrial groups. Also contains time series for trade and securities. - Ref HC 101 .S74a
- Statistical Forecasts of the United States -
Statistics on "a wide range of subjects concerning future life and living conditions in the United States." (p. xxix). - Ref HC 106.8 .S7357 1993
- Survey of Current Business -
Contains regularly quoted statistics dealing with all aspects of business and the economy. Earlier editions, US Documents C 43.8: v. and NC Documents C 59.11:
Indexes and Guides:
- American Statistics Index -
A comprehensive guide and index to the statistical publications of the United States government. - Index HA 37 .U55 .A53
- Guide to U.S. Government Statistics -
An annotated guide to U.S. government statistical publications. Earlier editions, General Collection HA 215 .G84 and Ref HA 215 .G84
- The Insider's Guide to Demographic Know-How: How to Find, Analyze, and Use Information about Your Customers. Research techniques are described, agencies are profiled, and terms are defined. - Ref HF 5415.2 I535 1990
- North Carolina State Government Statistical Register -
A comprehensive inventory of statistical series generated by North Carolina state government agencies. - Ready Ref HA551 .N69 1988; NC Documents. V21.108:N86 1994
Last Update: February 27, 2009