Electronic Resources
Research in taxation is greatly expanded with the advent of new electronic,
full-text services. The library offers most of the major electronic
resources. With the exception of CCH, all can be accessed on or
off-campus at any time. This guide is a starting point, not
exhaustive. Initially, the sense is that everything is in electronic form,
but we do include important information that is in paper form as well.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe
Lexis-Nexis is one of the most prolific sources in tax
research. The databases offered by Lexis-Nexis can be searched with full
Boolean Logic. Lexis-Nexis offers the following major search categories:
The Business and Legal Research sections will be
the focus of tax research.
Step 1: Click on Business
The Business section offers the
following subcategories, with the Accounting subsection being the focus of tax
research:
| News |
| · |
Business News |
Business articles from
newspapers, magazines, journals, wires & transcripts |
| · |
Industry
& Market |
News from over 25
industries |
| Accounting Literature |
| · |
Accounting |
Accounting journals
& literature |
| Company Information |
| · |
Company
Financial |
Detailed financial data
about companies |
| · |
Compare
Companies |
Find companies based on
a variety of criteria |
| · |
SEC Filings
& Reports |
EDGAR filings, annual
& quarterly reports & proxy statements |
| Trade Show
Information and More |
| · |
Directories |
Trade show information
& more |
|
Step 2: Click on
Accounting
The
sources for accounting literature include the following:
- Accountant's
Liability: Focuses
on information needed to successfully litigate and defend accountant
liability
cases.
- Accounting
and Auditing Enforcement Release: Releases
from the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) that are
enforcement actions taken for
violations of SEC and federal rules.
- Accounting
Series Releases: SEC
interpretations of the many SEC documents, laws & rules
affecting American
securities, both private &
public sectors.
- Accounting
Technology:
Focuses on technology in accounting.
- Accounting
Today: Information
on marketing and developing an accounting practice.
- AICPA
Accounting and Auditing Publications: The
Certified Public Accountants Publications file contains
material from various American
Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
publications. The file
includes the full text of
all the articles from the Journal of Accountancy, Tax Adviser, CPA
Letter, and the Tax
Division Newsletter.
- AICPA
Tax Division Newsletter: The
Tax Division Newsletter file contains material from a
American Institute of
Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
publication. The file includes the full text of all the
articles from the Tax
Division Newsletter beginning
January 1988.
- AICPA
CPA Letter: A
publication of the American Institute of Certified Public
Accountants (AICPA).
- AICPA
Journal of Accountancy: A
publication of the American Institute of Certified Public
Accountants.
- AICPA
Publications: The
AICPA Literature file contains authoritative and semiauthoritative
professional accounting
material. The file includes the
full text of pronouncements from the American Institute of Certified
Public
Accountants (AICPA).
- Controller's
Report (IOMA): This
publication provides financial management strategies.
- FRR
SEC Financial Reporting Release
- Journal
of Business Strategy: Provides
information influencing purchasing in the areas of consulting,
acquisition
and competitive analysis.
- Miller
GAAP Guide: The
Miller GAAP Guide (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles)
explains and analyzes all
critical accounting principals
and pronouncements currently in use, including FASB
Statements,
Interpretations, Technical
Bulletins, ARB's and APB's.
- Miller
GAAS Guide: The
Miller GAAS Guide (Generally Accepted Auditing Standards) describes
the auditing
standards, practices and
procedures promulgated by the AICPA.
- Miller
Government GAAP Guide: The
Miller Governmental GAAP Guide discusses all the promulgated
accounting principles
applicable to financial reporting by state and local governments.
- Miller
GAAP Emerging Issues Task Force: Analyzes
and explains all current issues for which FASB's Emerging
Issues Task Force has reached a
consensus since its establishment in 1984, except for those
that have been
nullified by a subsequent
authoritative pronouncement.
- Miller
European Accounting Guide: The
European Accounting Guide is a companion volume to Miller GAAP
Guide.
- Miller
GAAP - not for Profit Organization Audit: A
guide for performing audits for not-for-profit organizations.
- OMB
Literature
- Practical
Accountant: Provides
users with practical tax and accounting money-making advice and
time-saving tips.
- Staff Accounting
Bulletin: The
Staff Accounting Bulletins contain the staff's views on various
issues such
as disclosures, financial
statements, income statement classification of charges, the use of
regulations, and
other accounting related
issues.
|
You will know or learn the various types of detailed
information on the above list. The list includes extensive journal
literature in taxation such as Authoritative Accounting Literature-US; Reporters
such as the RIA Tax Reporter; official regulations and government rulings such
as the Internal Revenue Bulletin; and even includes practitioner alert services
such as RIA Weekly Tax Alert.
Legal Research (see also print resources)
Step 3: Click on Legal Research
There are several categories included in this section, Tax Law will be
the focus of your research:
| · |
Tax Law |
The IRS Bulletin, tax
regulations & more |
Step 4: Click on Tax
Law
The sources for tax law are as follows:
- ABA
Tax Lawyer: Includes
authoritative articles and analysis of legislation, decisions,
developments and
trends in the area of
taxation of interest to the legal practitioner
- AICPA
Tax Adviser: Contains
full length articles discussing the most current and up-to-date tax
information
of importance to AICPA Tax
Division members and to others interested in current trends in
taxation
- Combined
State Attorney General Tax Opinions: All
tax opinions written by the Attorneys General from
the 50 states
- Department
of Labor Letter Opinions: Advisory
opinions and Information Letters from The Department
of Labor-Dept. of Welfare
Benefit Programs. For technical releases consult the BNA Pension
Reporter in
LABOR;PENSN
- Federal
Tax Cases: All
available federal tax case law.
- Internal
Revenue Bulletin/Cumulative Bulletin: selected
documents found in the Internal Revenue Bulletin,
a weekly publication by
the Internal Revenue Service that announces the official rulings and
procedures
of the Internal Revenue
Service. Included are Revenue Rulings, Revenue Procedures,
Announcements,
Notices, News
Releases (IR's), Treasury Department Orders, Prohibited Trans.
Exemptions, Executive
Orders, Current Action on
Previously Published Rulings and Acq. and Non-Acq. Tables
- International
Tax Materials - IBFD: Publisher's
group file for international tax news and treaties.
- IRS
Actions &Memoranda - GCM/AOD/TM: Combined
file of memos from the IRS including General Counsel
Memorandas, Actions on
Decisions, and Technical Memoranda.
- Journal
of International Taxation: Includes
commentary and analysis of importance to tax practitioners
specializing in
international taxation
- Law
Reviews - Tax Articles: Selected
law review articles relating to tax law.
- Practical
Tax Lawyer: Concise,
practice-oriented articles to assist lawyers with all aspects of tax
law. The
articles are written by
practitioners and are reviewed by an expert board of editorial
advisors who are
members of the ABA Tax
Section and are appointed by the Section
- Private
Letter Rulings/Tax Advice Memoranda: Each
Private Letter Ruling is a determination from the Internal
Revenue Service regarding a tax
issue from a taxpayer.
- State
Tax Cases: State
tax case law for all 50 States plus the District of Columbia and the
U.S. Virgin
Islands and all ALR annotations
- Tax Analysts State Tax
Today, Tax Analysts Tax Notes Today, Tax Analysts Worldwide Tax
Daily:
This file contains
the full text of State Tax Today (formerly called State Tax Notes)
by Tax Analysts, Inc.,
produced every weekday.
State Tax Today provides current information on developments in all
areas of
state-level tax practice and
application, including legislative activity, both proposed and
pending, state tax
agency releases, important
court decisions and highlights from speeches, seminars and letters
to the taxing
agencies. Beginning
in January 2002, Tax Analysts is no longer using index terms to
classify its
documents in the Index
segment. Documents will continue to be classified by Code Section in
the Code
segment and by Subject Area and
Industry Group in the References segment.
- Tax
Analysts Journals: Tax
Analysts' Exempt Organization Tax Review, Insurance Tax Review,
Letter Ruling
Review, Natural Resources Tax
Review, State Tax Notes Magazine, Tax Notes International Magazine,
Tax
Practice and Controversies
Magazine and Tax Notes Weekly Magazine
- Treasury
Regulations (Final/Temp/Proposed):
selected documents from the Code of Federal Regulations and
the
Federal Register
|
Note:
Don't forget to use Lexis-Nexis for newspaper coverage. The U. S. News
subcategory of the News file offers the option of searching newspapers,
full-text, by region or by state.
Factiva
Factiva is
the second major database to support tax research. It is oriented less to
the technical tax documents and more to financial information and general
business news sources.
If your research centers on an issue with a publicly traded company, then Factiva's
extensive annual reports, 10-K and other federal reports are
helpful. General business articles such as the Wall Street Journal
often cover tax issues and tax cases.
CCH
This is the actual product used in the tax practitioner's
world. It has authoritative code, regulations, letter rulings, and
the electronic version of its reporter service. It is important to work with
your professor to understand the various offerings from CCH and RIA, since
almost all U.S.A tax practitioners
use one of these services, or even both. Some of the search categories in
CCH are as follows:
CCH Federal Tax Weekly
1999 Legislative Developments
CCH Explanations and Analysis
Federal Tax Service
Standard Federal Income Tax Reporter
1999 U. S. Master Tax Guide
Internal Revenue Code |
Federal Tax
Regulations
Cases
Letter Rulings & IRS Positions
IRS Publications
Federal Tax Archives--Back to 1978
State Tax Information |
This service,
unlike Lexis-Nexis and Factiva,
is limited to two computer stations in the Library and two in the Business
School Computer Lab. It is not available over the Web off-campus.
Other
Useful Electronic Resources
There
are several general electronic research services which may be useful if you are
not finding enough from the providers listed above.
ABI Inform--(indexing: 1971+,
full-text: 1991+, image: 1987+). International business and management
database, contains citations and abstracts of articles appearing in professional
publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. Provided by ProQuest.
Some full-text.
EbscoHost
--Business
Source Elite--(indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+). Indexes business
periodicals. Some full-text.
Mergent Online--source for global
business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and
17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal
bond, UIT, and dividend information.
Accessing
Electronic Resorces
On-Campus
From Randall Library's HomePage,
select "Database and Article Searching"
from the left corner
of the screen.
The
databases are arranged in
alphabetical order. To access CCH, come
to the Reference Desk and tell a librarian you
would like to search that
database.
Off-Campus
All databases listed in this
guide, with the exception of CCH, may be accessed from off-campus. Follow
the
instructions in the guide,
Setting Up Off-Campus
Guide
Location
Of Periodicals In Randall Library
Randall
Library's Periodical
Collection is located on the ground
floor. Divided into three sections, each section is arranged in
alphabetical order by title of publication.
Internet
Resources
There is an
extensive general WEB presence
in taxation, particularly the forms and procedures from the IRS itself. There
are other helpful tax pages on the WEB, many are selling services, but they
still can have useful information.
Internal Revenue Services - http://www.irs.gov/
North Carolina Department of Revenue - http://www.dor.state.nc.us/
State and Local Tax Sites - http://www.taxsites.com/state.html
Yahoo: Government: U. S. Government: Taxes
- http://dir.yahoo.com/Government/U_S__Government/Taxes/
P
rint
Resources
Though we list
print resources at the end of this guide, they are not necessarily less
useful. We
recommend that any tax researcher be comfortable both with the paper and the
electronic sources. The
materials in this section are located in the Reference
Collection, on the ground
floor, of the Library.
Federal Tax Services
American Federal Tax Reports Ref
KF6280 .A2 .A5 2nd ser.
CCH Federal Tax Manual
Ref 6365 .F4 1997
CCH Federal Tax Service
Ref KF6285 .C22
CCH Standard Federal Tax Reporter Ref
KF6285 .S72
Federal Tax Coordinator (Research Institute of America) Ref KF 6285 F323
Federal Tax Regulations Ref
6358 .A3
RIA Federal Tax Handbook Ref KF6285 .F323
US Master Tax Guide Ref KF6272.5 .U18
Other Federal Tax Services
Corporate Tax Digest Gen Coll. KF6460.3 .F87
Federal Estate and Gift Taxes Explained Gen Coll KF6572.Z9 F4
Court Cases, Rulings
American Federal Tax Reports Ref KF 6280 A2 A5
Reports of the United States Tax Court Ref KF 6280 A26
Tax Court Memorandum Decisions Ref
KF6280 .A2 .C73
United States Tax Courts Reports Ref
KF6280 .A2 .T37
U. S. Tax Cases
Ref KF6280 .A2 C63
North Carolina Tax Resources
Doing Business in North Carolina: State and Local Taxes NC Docs
Microfiche B94 1:D65
The General Statutes of North Carolina Ref KFN7430 1943 .A223
North Carolina. Office of Administrative Hearings NC
Docs Microfiche M21 14:A23 1991
State of North Carolina Administrative Code Ref KFN7435 .A25
Indexes
Accounting & Tax Index Index Collection HF5611 .A281
Accounting Articles Index Collection HF5601 .A25
Business Periodicals Index Index Collection HB1 .B87
Tax Journals - a journal title search in the library's online catalog
will give you the dates and locations of the periodicals
Journal of Taxation
National Tax Journal
Review of Taxation of Individuals
State Tax Review
The Tax Adviser
The Tax Executive
Tax Features
Tax Foundation's Tax Review
Tax Law Review
Tax Policy and the Economy
Taxation For Accountants
Taxes
Understanding Taxes
G
etting
Help
In
Randall
Library
Come to reference
desk for help, e-mail libref@uncw.edu, or
call 962-3760.
Last Update: May 22, 2006