Helpful Resources in the Library Collection
Search the Library Collection from the
Randall
Library's Catalog located on the
Library
Homepage. [http://library.uncw.edu]
CQ Researcher
This periodical discusses one controversial topic per issue; it contains good background information and excellent bibliographies. Indexed in EBSCO Host Masterfile Premier .
Editorials on File
Reference D839 .E3
A periodical collection of editorials collected from newspapers all over the country.
Facts on File
Ready Reference D410 .F3
News digest that summarizes current U.S. and world magazines and newspaper reports. Subject and name indexes are included.
Opposing Viewpoints Series Unnumbered
A series of debating anthologies. Perform a Title search in the Library Catalog using "Opposing Viewpoints" to get a call number/location for these resources. Also available electronically (see Databases and Articles Searching page).
Reference Shelf
Collections of articles printed from periodicals. Perform a Title search in the Library Catalog using "Reference Shelf" or click the above "hot linked" title to get a call number/location for these resources.
News and Opinion Magazines
Current/Bound Periodical Collection
These periodicals are indexed in EBSCOHost
Article Databases/Indexes
Online, CD-ROM and Print periodical indexes provide citations (e.g., author, title, a journal name, volume, issue, page numbers, etc.) to identify articles. Most indexes also include abstracts (summaries) and a small handful of online indexes provide selected full text of the actual article. The Library does not own every article cited in each index
so remember to check the Library Catalog to verify if we own the journal the article was published in.
Online Indexes/Databases
Communication & Mass Media
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media. EBSCOHost
Masterfile Premier & Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and selected full-text of articles covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more EbscoHost
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information.
New York Times Archives
Digital archives for the New York Times from 1851 - 1999.
Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to items within sociology and related disciplines.
Print Index
| Business Periodicals Index |
Index HB1 .B87 |
| Readers Guide to Periodical Literature |
Index AI3 .R48 |
An alphabetical title listing of online databases/indexes can be found on the Library homepage by choosing "Databases" located in the middle of the page. A listing of databases broken down into general subject areas can be accessed by choosing " Research Guides" on the Library page.
TIPS for effective searching:
Once you have established your topic, write down research questions and from those questions, identify the keywords and use them in your search statement. You do not want to enter questions or full sentences into when searching electronic databases. Instead, you should break down your questions into major keywords or concepts
After you have identified keywords, think of synonyms for those words. You should also determine if it will be helpful for you to search for the singular and plural form of the word.
Next you should combine your keywords in a way the computer can understand. To do this you will be using what is called Boolean Logic. The most important aspect of Boolean Logic is using AND to specify exactly what you are looking for in your results. Example: distance education AND communication
Evaluation of Websites
The reliability and quality of information from Web sources has created many debates in the academic world. Researchers must always remember that the Web is a vast, unregulated information resource that ANYONE with the proper tools and a little money can create a site on the Web. Much like scholarly articles, accountability and content of the webpage are the key criteria used to determine if a site When viewing a site for research purposes the three most important features to consider are:
Authority: Who's responsible for the page content? Are there any clues about that person's qualifications?
Content: Does it seem accurate? If you don't know much about the topic yet, consider these other questions. Are there citations to other works? Has the
page been updated recently? Are there facts you could try to verify?
Audience/Objectivity: Who designed it? And for whom? Is there obvious (or not so obvious) bias? Is the page nothing more than a marketing tool? What level of audience is it designed for (e.g. children, adults, students, professionals)?
Internet Sites
Congressional Universe's Hot
Topics in Congress [http://web.lexis-nexis.com/more/cis]
Yahoo's Full Coverage
News [http://headlines.yahoo.com/Full_Coverage/]
The Drudge Report
[http://www.drudgereport.com/]
U. S. House
Leadership Democratic Hot Topics Page [http://www.house.gov/democrats/hot_topics.html]
North
Harris College Library Online Hot Topics [http://nhclibrary.nhmccd.edu/research/subject/controversial/index.html]
North
Harris College Library Online Controversial Topics Internet Sites
[http://nhclibrary.nhmccd.edu/research/subject/controversial/guide.html]
Kingwood
College Library Current Topics for Research [http://www.nhmccd.cc.tx.us/contracts/lrc/kc/hot-topics.html]
Public Opinion Online
[http://www.pollingreport.com/]
Last Update: March 29, 2006
|