this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide: Resources for COM 200


Connecting to Databases - On Campus

1. Go to the Randall Library's Homepage (http://library.uncw.edu)
2. Click on "Databases and Articles." Databases are listed alphabetically.
3. Select the database you want to search from the list.

If you are connecting to Databases from off campus, complete instructions for off-campus set up are located at http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/pin.html.

General Database With Some Full-Text
A. EBSCO Host--articles from many disciplines, some full text. To retrieve scholarly articles in Academic Search Premier or MasterFILE Premier, check"Peer Reviewed Journals."

Index/Abstract Only Databases

A. PsycInfo--psychological literature
B. Sociological Abstracts--sociological literature | GUIDE to Sociological Abstracts

Entering Search Statements In Databases

Search statements consist of a) literal words and b) logical words

Literal Words

Literal words are key words that are important to the topic. Let's look at two topics: first, you want information on sleep disorders. The literal (key) words you should choose would be "sleep," "disorders." Another topic could be the role of depression in insomnia and hypersomnia. The literal (key) words would be "depression," "insomnia," and "hypersomnia."

Logical Words
Logical words, also called "operators," instruct the system to retrieve records containing the literal words according to the logic assigned.

AND=retrieves records containing BOTH words. For instance, the search statement, "sleep and disorders," retrieves records that contain both words. AND is restrictive.

Location of Periodicals in Randall Library
Periodicals are located on the ground floor of the library.

Interlibrary Loan
Order photocopies of periodical articles through Interlibrary Loan service if Randall Library does not own a subscription to the periodical needed. Allow up to two weeks for this service.
Last Update: March 29, 2006