SOC/CRJ 495 - Interpersonal Violence (Dr. Mike Maume)
|
|
|
|
Article Databases/Indexes
Article databases/indexes provide citations (e.g., author, title, a journal name, volume, issue, page numbers, etc.) to identify articles. Most indexes also include abstracts (summaries) and a small handful of online indexes provide selected full text of the actual article. The Library does not own every article cited in each index so remember to check the Library Catalog to verify if we own the journal the article was published in. An alphabetical title listing of article databases/indexes can be found on the Library homepage by choosing "Database and Article Searching" located in the left side of the page. What are "Academic" or "Scholarly" Periodicals?| AUDIENCE | Scholarly and professional |
| AUTHOR | Academic credentials, they do not make living as writers. |
| APPEARANCE | Dull, few ads often sponsored by an academic society |
| CONTENT (TOPIC & DOCUMENTATION) | Highly specialized; many footnotes and/or charts and graphs |
| LANGUAGE (VOCABULARY) | Learned reading level--specialized vocabulary. |
|
|
Article Databases for a Literature Review of the Social Science Academic Literature
| Sociological
Abstracts Guide to Sociological Abstracts |
Indexes and abstracts from
sociology journals (1963-current) and dissertations from (1988-current.) contains information from over 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations |
| PAIS International | Citations to public policy, economics, government, law, etc. (1972-current) It is a bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Journal articles; books; government documents; statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world are indexed. |
|
|
Additional Article Databases (non-Social Science specific) for a Literature Review
| Academic
Search Elite & MasterFile - EBSCOhost indexing: 1984+ selected full text: 1990+ |
These two databases offer citations and abstracts for over 5,000 journals covering the areas of social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. To restrict a search to peer reviewed journals, you must choose the "Advanced Search" option and check Peer Reviewed in the "Special limiters" box located at the bottom of the advanced search screen. These databases do NOT allow a search to be restricted to just the Social Science literature. |
| InfoTrac
Onefile indexing: 1980+ |
Citations and abstracts from over 6,300 periodicals that cover a wide range of topics, including the social sciences. To restrict a search to refereed journals, us the Limit the current search options located at the bottom of the screen and check off the "to refereed publications" option. InfoTrac do not allow a search to be restricted to just the Social Science literature. |
|
|
Helpful Information
Off Campus Access to Library Resources