this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Earth Sciences - Databases



Primary Contact:
Peter Fritzler
Email:
fritzlerp@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-7807
IM Chat Name:
AIM: peterfritzler1

Start Here

Other Suggestions

Biological Abstracts
Leading index to worldwide journal literature in the life sciences and one of the most important resources to biologists.
1969 - Present (Print: 1926-1968)

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Provides access to databases in the sciences, social sciences, philosophy and education.

Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions at major scientific meetings.
1982 - present

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts: 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts: 1988 - present

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.

JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, geography, history, mathematics, music, paleontology, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences

Oceanic Abstracts
Focuses exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, and has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
1981 - present

Opposing Viewpoints
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles
3 simultaneous users

PAIS Archive
The Public Affairs Information Services Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62. The PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
1915 - 1976

PapersFirst
PapersFirst indexes over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.

ProceedingsFirst
ProceedingsFirst indexes over 19,000 citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.

Public Affairs Information Services International (PAIS)
The Public Affairs Information Services International database provides information on public affairs, public and social policies and internation relations.  PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

PubMed
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists.
1950s - present

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
SciELO is a multinational effort to provide open access to scientific research journals produced in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Spain.
1990s - Present

ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection.
1995 - present

SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.

State Academies of Science Abstracts
Covers all of the major science disciplines and serves as an authoritative reference on research specific to your state and region.
(more information)

Toxicology Abstracts
Covers pharmaceuticals, agro chemicals, natural toxins, industrial chemicals. Subfile of Earth & Environmental Sciences.
1981 - present
(more information)

TOXLINE
Citations to articles, technical reports, theses on toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
1999 - present
(more information)

U.S.G.S. Publications:

Wiley InterScience
Searchable database of science journals.

WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present

Zoological Record
Premier resource comprehensively indexing literature in zoology including biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, etc.
1978 - present


Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: February 21, 2007