this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

English - Databases



Primary Contact:
John Osinski
Email:
osinskij@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4271
IM Chat Name:
AIM: ?
Primary Contact:
Liza Palmer
Email:
palmerl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4234
IM Chat Name:
AIM: lizajpalmer

Start Here

Academic Search Premier
1975 - present
(more information)

Gale Literature Resource Center
(more information)

Gale Literary Index
(more information)

Humanities International Index
1925 - present
(more information)

JSTOR
(more information)

MLA International Bibliography
1963 - present
(more information)

Other Suggestions

African-American Poetry
Contains nearly 3,000 poems from African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.
(more information)

African-American Poetry (20th Century)
Contains nearly 9,000 poems from African American poets of the 20th century. 1760 - 1900
(more information)

American Poetry
Over 40,000 poems by American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century.
1600 - 1900
(more information)

American Poetry (20th Century)
50,000 poems by American poets from the early 20th century to the present.
1919 - present
(more information)

Ancient Greek Texts
CD from TLG Workplace. 750BC to AD600 - please contact the library's Reference Department.

Books In Print
Records describe in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers and U.S. distributors and wholesalers.
(more information)

Bookwire.com
Use this site to search book reviews, read about the latest releases, watch author video clips, and learn about upcoming book events.

Cambridge Journals Online
Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

ChoiceReviews.online
CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts.
Sept. 1988 - present
(more information)

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Combines CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
1915 - present (varies by publication)
(more information)

CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
1991 - present
(more information)

Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers
In-depth analysis of current best-selling fiction providing details about the complexities of these carefully selected titles. Regular annual updates cover new works by the authors in the collection.
(more information)

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more information)

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

English Poetry
Over 160,000 English poems.
From 600 AD to 1900.
(more information)

English Poetry (20th Century)
598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets.
1900 - present
(more information)

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information)

Faber Poetry Library
Poets of the twentieth century.
20th Century
(more information)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
1988 - present

IngentaConnect
Table of contents of journals and document delivery.
1988 - present
(more information)

Library and Information Science Abstracts
LISA is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists.
1969 - present
(more information)

Literature in Context
A collection of primary source material and related resources associated with 20 major literary works.
(more information)

MasterFile Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)

Masterplots Complete
CD Plots, characters of plays, books, short stories - please contact the library's Reference Department.

Novelist
An online readers' advisory tool.
(more information)

OED Online
Oxford English Dictionary online.
(more information)

Opposing Viewpoints
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles
3 simultaneous users

Oxford Journals
Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.

Play Index
Play Index enables users to search some 44,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. The database covers a wide range of plays written or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
1949 - current
(more information)

ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
(more information)

ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection.
1995 - present
(more information)

Web of Science
The Web of Science is much more than science. It provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Our subscription includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 2002-date.
(more information)

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: 9 April, 2008 19:10