this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library
Research - Topic Guides - ENG 205 (Cilano)

  • Primary Contact:
    Elizabeth Peterson

  • Email:
    petersone@uncw.edu

  • Phone:
    910-962-4271

  • IM Chat Name:
    epeterson1717

printer-friendly (pdf)

Objective: The purpose of this guide is to familiarize you with some of the core tools for doing research in literature, and to help with your understanding of Bram Stoker's Dracula in particular.

Contents: General Literature | Bram Stoker's Dracula | Library of Congress Subject Headings | Literary Criticism | Citing Sources


General Literature

These reference tools are useful for getting a quick overview of a topic. Use these resources to familiarize yourself with the important issues, terms, dates, and trends in the subject area.

The Oxford companion to English literature / edited by Margaret Drabble
CALL# REF PR19 .O94 2000

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
CALL# REF PN43 .B65 1995

The Bloomsbury Guide to English Literature / edited by Marion Wynne-Davies
CALL# REF PR19 .B51 1990

Encyclopedia of rhetoric and composition : communication from ancient times to the information age / edited by Theresa Enos
CALL# REF PN172 .E53 1996 

The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature / Steven R. Serafin and Valerie Grosvenor Myer, editors
CALL# REF PR19 .C66 2003 

Bram Stoker's Dracula

Bram Stoker's Dracula : a documentary volume / edited by Elizabeth Miller
CALL# REF PS21 .D5 v.304 (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 304)

Vampires unearthed : the complete multi-media vampire and dracula bibliography / Martin V. Riccardo
CALL# REF GR830.V3 R52 

Fantasy and horror : a critical and historical guide to literature, illustration, film, TV, radio, and the Internet / edited by Neil Barron
CALL# REF PN56.F34 F36 1999

St. James guide to horror, ghost & gothic writers / with a preface by Dennis Etchison ; editor, David Pringle
CALL# REF PN3435 .S72 1998

The Gothic novel, 1790-1830 : plot summaries and index to motifs / Ann B. Tracy
CALL# REF PR868.T3 T7

Encyclopedia of the Victorian World : a reader's companion to the people, places, events, and everyday life of the Victorian era / Melinda Corey and George Ochoa, [editors]
CALL# REF DA550 .E53 1996 

Victorian England 1837-1901 / Josef L. Altholz
CALL# REF DA550 .A5

Library of Congress Subject Headings

These are some of the Subject Headings that will be useful when searching the Library Catalog.

Stoker, Bram, 1847-1912. Dracula
Stoker Bram, 1847 1912 -- Criticism And Interpretation
Dracula, Count (Fictitious character)
Vampires in literature
Horror tales, English -- History and criticism
Gothic Revival--Literature

Literary Criticism and Articles

Gale Literary Index
A master finding aid for several core sources in literature research (Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, etc.). Use this database for finding where criticism and biographical information is located. (more information)

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, v. 8 and 144
A collection of literary criticism. Find criticism of specific authors and their works.
CALL# REF PN771 .G27

MLA International Bibliography
The primary database for research in literature. Subjects include Drama; English; Folklore; Foreign languages; Humanities; Language; Linguistics; Literature. (more information)

Humanities Index
Citations to articles in art, archaeology, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and world history. (more information)

Humanities International Index
This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays, and reviews, as well as original creative works such as poems, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations.

JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences. (more information)

Citing Resources

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1999, 5th edition.

Several copies are located at the Reference Desk: LB2369 .G53 1999

Randall Library's MLA Citation Guide: http://library.uncwil.edu/ffg/mla.html


Last Update: March 14, 2006