Criticism
NOVELS
TO FIND . . .
a specific novel - All novels
are not in one location in Randall Library; they are dispersed throughout the
language and literature section, along with works of criticism and
biographies. >Library Catalog--title and/or author search
a novel by subject - Most
novels do not have subject headings, that is why you are most likely to identify
a novel through a selection guide. >Fiction
Catalog - PN3451 .F52
>Book Review Digest (Index) - Z1219.C95
>Novelist (online)
a plot summary of a specific novel -
Randall Library has Masterplots Complete on CD-ROM. Ask a librarian at the
reference desk to help you. >Masterplots Complete (CD)
a review of a book - A
review of a novel is not as formal as any work that actually criticizes the
novel. Criticism usually appears in scholarly periodicals or in
full-length book format. A review is usually shorter in
length.
>Book
Review Digest (Index) - Z1219.C95
>Academic Search Elite
(online)
>Humanities Index (print or
online)
>MLA (print or online)
criticism or
explication of a novel - To
search for criticism of a novel within a book, consult Randall Library's
catalog; select "subject," and enter the author of the novel's name
(last name first). Then, search for the subject heading subdivision,
"criticism and interpretation."Search the Gale
Literary Index to learn which of the books in the Gale series have
information on which author(s) and works.
| Electronic Resources >Randall Library's catalog >MLA (print or online) >Humanities Index (print or online) >Gale Literary Index (online) >Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers (online) |
Criticism on the Internet Atlantic Monthly Magazine This magazine has published many critical reviews of books since the early 1900s and they now make the archive of the reviews available on the website. Cambridge History of English and American Literature The Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism |
| Print
Resources >Black Literature Criticism PS153.N5 B556 1992 >Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism PN681.5 .C57 >Contemporary Literary Criticism PN771 .C59 >Hispanic Literature Criticism PQ7081.A1 H573 1994 >Literary Criticism Index PN523 .W45 1994 |
>Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 PN86
.L56 |
| This is only a sample of literary criticism print resources, to find more, please check the Randall Library online catalog or ask a librarian for help. |
|
SHORT
STORIES
TO FIND . . .
an individual short story - To find a
short story in Randall Library's catalog, select "author" and enter
the name of the short story's author (last name first). Then look for a
title that indicates a short story collection. You cannot find a short story by
title in the catalog because they are usually published in collections and
anthologies.
>Randall Library's online
catalog
>Short Story Index -
PN3321 .S382
a short story by subject
- >Short
Story Index - PN3321 .S382
a plot summary of a short story
- >Masterplots
II: Short Story Series PN3326 .M27 1986 and Suppl
criticism, or explication, of a short story
- To search for criticism of a short story within a book, consult Randall
Library's catalog; select "subject," and enter the author of the
novel's name (last name first). Then, search for the subject heading
subdivision, "criticism and interpretation."
| Electronic Resources >MLA (print or online) >Humanities Index (print or online) >Academic Search Elite (online) >Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers (online) |
| Print
Resources >Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism PN523 .M285 1979 >Literary Criticism Index PN523 .W45 1994 >Magill's Index to Critical Surveys PN524.M34 1994 >Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication PN3373 .W3362 |
>Black Literature Criticism PS153.N5 B556 1992 >Contemporary Literary Criticism PN771 .C59 >Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism PN761 .N5 >Reference Guide to Short Fiction PN3373 .R36 >Short Story Criticism PN3321 .S5 >Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism PN771 .G2 |
| This is only a sample of literary criticism print resources, to find more, please check the Randall Library online catalog or ask a librarian for help. | |
DRAMA
TO FIND . . .
an individual play
- Sometimes plays
are published individually; many times they appear in periodicals or
anthologies.
>Randall Library's
Catalog
>Play Index -
PN1655 .P52
>Chicorel Theatre
Index - PN1655 .C555
>The Drama Scholars'
Index to Plays and Film Scripts - PN1655 .S25
>Drury's Guide to
Best Plays - PN1655 .D78 1978
>Ottemiller's Index
to Plays in Collections - PN1655 .O67 1976
>Index to Plays in
Periodicals - PN1721 .K45 1979 and 1990
a monologue
- >Actors
Guide to Monologues - PN2080.G78 1974
>The Ultimate Scene and Monologue Sourcebook - PN2080 .H66
1994
a one-act play
- >An
Index to One-Act Plays - PN1655 .L83 1924
a plot summary of a
particular play - >Masterplots II: Drama
Series - PN6112.5.M37 1990
a review of a particular performance of a play
- >A Guide to Critical Reviews - PN2266 .S2
an article that criticizes, or explicates, a
play -
| Electronic
Resources >MLA (print or online) >Humanities Index (print or online) >Academic Search Elite (online) |
Print
Resources >Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism - PN681.5 .C57 >Contemporary Literary Criticism - PN 771 .C59 >Critical Survey of Drama - PN1625 .C75 1994 >Drama Criticism - PN1601 .D59 >Literature Criticism From 1400-1800 - PN86 .L56 >Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism - PN761 .N5 >Shakespearean Criticism - PR2965 .S44 >Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism PN771 .G |
| This is only a sample of literary criticism print resources, to find more, please check the Randall Library online catalog or ask a librarian for help. |
biographical
information on playwrights, actors and others involved in theater -
>Contemporary Dramatist - PN1625 .V5 1993
>Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television - PN2285 .C58
POETRY
TO FIND . . .
an individual poem >Randall
Library's Catalog, by author-
| >Internet Resources: 20th Century African-American Poetry 20th Century American Poetry Academy of American Poets African-American Poetry American Poetry English Poetry The Faber Poetry Library Internet Poetry Archive Poetry Archives Representative Poetry |
Print
Resources: >Columbia Grangers' Index to African American Poetry PS153.N5 C64 1999 >Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies - PN1022 .H39 1997 >The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works - PN1022 .C63 1996 >The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry - PN1022 .H39 >The Columbia Granger's guide to Poetry Anthologies - PN1111 .K37 1991 |
| This is only a sample of literary criticism print resources, to find more, please check the Randall Library online catalog or ask a librarian for help. |
a poem by subject - >Columbia
Grangers' Index to African American
Poetry - PS153.N5 C64 1999
>Columbia
Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies
- PN1022 .H39 1997
>The
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected
and Selected Works -
PN1022.C63 1996
>The
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry - PN1022
.H39
>The
Columbia Granger's Guide to Poetry Anthologies
- PN1111 .K37
1991
a summary of a poem - >Masterplots
II. Poetry Series - PN1110.5.M37 1992
an article
that criticizes, or explicates, a poem -
| >MLA (online or print) >Humanities Index (online or print) >Academic Search Elite (online) >American & British Poetry - PS303 .A45 1984 >Critical Survey of Poetry - PN 1021 .C6 1992 >Guide to American Poetry Explication - PS221 .L46 |
>Literary Criticism
Index PN523 .W45 1994 >Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism - PN523 .M285 1979 >Magill Index to Critical Surveys - PN524 .M34 1994 >Poetry Criticism - PN 1010 .P499 >Poetry Explication - PR502 .K86 1980 |
Last Update: December 12, 2005