Class Guide: English 201
When beginning, a good way to obtain background
information and ideas to build on your topic area is with reference materials
such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and abstracts.
| Library Catalog |
Search for materials in Randall Library by using
the online Library Catalog located on the Randall Library homepage at http://library.uncwil.edu.
Searching the Library Catalog will give you call numbers and locations for
books, maps, N. C. documents, U.S. Government documents, special collections,
microforms, music scores, periodicals, audiovisual materials, and reserve
materials.
Perform a search for library materials with a keyword search using your
keywords, such as "cultures". If you would like to combine related
keywords use the connector AND. For example: "cultures" and
"encyclopedias" will bring back a list of encyclopedias that deal with
cultures.
| Finding Articles |
Before you start your search:
1. List the ideas and concepts that describe your search topic.
2. Narrow your topic. Remember, your goal is to get a manageable number of
useful records.
3. Think of as many search terms describing your topic as you can. You might
find what you want right away, but results
can improve as you become more familiar with each database.
4. Using AND to combine multiple search terms into a single, more focused
search request.
AND retrieves records with both search
terms. For example: television viewing and academic achievement retrieves
records with both television viewing and academic
achievement.
EbscoHost indexes periodicals in various
disciplines, and is therefore very broad in subject scope. However, it may
not be as deep in the subject you are particularly addressing. These two
interdisciplinary databases listed can provide citations to magazine and
scholarly/academic/peer review journals as well as each offers some
full-text articles.
Coverage of 3,000 journals, covering the social sciences, humanities,
general science, multi-cultural studies, general reference, business,
health, education, and much more.
Consider using some of the following subject
specific databases depending upon your topic area. If you are unsure what
databases are available for your topic, be sure to look at the "Subject
Research Guides" linked off of the Library page.
America:
History and Life
U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from a
scholarly perspective. (1964+)
Biological
Abstracts
Includes bibliographic references (records) with abstracts
derived from life sciences research journals published
worldwide. (1980+)
ERIC
Index to journal articles and report literature in education
and education related areas. (1966+)
MLA
International Bibliography
Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000
journals and series pertaining to literature,
language, linguistics,
and folklore and includes coverage from 1963 to the present.
PAIS
International
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, the
social sciences in general and comparative studies of public
issues. (indexing: 1972+ )
PsychInfo
Indexes all areas of psychology and the behavioral sciences
as well as related fields. (1887+)
Sociological
Abstracts
Access to literature in sociology and related disciplines,
both theoretical and applied. Includes abstracts of journal
articles selected from over 2500 journals. (1963+)
| Newspaper Indexes |
| Web-Site Evaluation |
The reliability and quality of information from Web sources
has created much debate in the academic world. Researchers must always remember
that the Web is a vast, unregulated information resource that ANYONE with the
proper tools and a little money can create a site on the Web. When viewing a
site for research purposes the three most important features to consider are:
Authority: Who's responsible for the page content? Are there any clues
about that person's qualifications?
Content: Does it seem accurate? If you don't know much about the topic
yet, consider these other questions. Are there citations to other works? Has the
page been updated recently? Are there facts you could try to verify?
Audience/Objectivity: Who designed it? And for whom? Is there obvious (or
not so obvious) bias? Is the page nothing more than a marketing tool? What level
of audience is it designed for (e.g. children, adults, students,
professionals)?
| Helpful Links |