this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library
Class Guide: ENG 205 (Sweeney)

 

Contact Information

Contact the English Librarian for Help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl[at]uncw[dot]edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Fall 2007
Wednesdays, 3-4pm | Thursdays, 10-11am
Randall #2080

Tuesdays, 4-5pm | Thursdays, 4-5pm
CAB #1048

Return to top

 

Careers Information

UNCW Career Center | What Can I Do with a Major in English?
http://www.uncw.edu/stuaff/career/Majors/english.htm

UNCW Randall Library | Career Information Resources
http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/topic/careers.html

US Department of Labor | Occupational Outlook Handbook
http://www.bls.gov/oco/home.htm
Tips: Try searching generally on “English” or “literature” or specifically on careers listed on the UNCW Career Center guide.

Career Library Online
Career Library provides access to online career guides, occupational profiles, company research, diversity profiles, industry research, career surveys, and more.
(more information)

Return to top

 

Persepolis Research

Alternative Press Index

Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1991 - present

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
2002 - present

EBSCOHost

Try checking any or all of these EBSCOHost databases to search for articles on Persepolis:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
  • Humanities International Index
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Newspaper Source

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present

Gale Literary Databases

Master index to the print series with full-text. (Contemporary Literary Criticism - select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors)

LexisNexis Academic

News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present

Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

Return to top

 

Persepolis Websites

General Information

"One Book, One Community" of New Hanover County | Persepolis
http://library.uncw.edu/oboc/

Marjane Satrapi

Random House | Marjane Satrapi: Author Biography
http://www.randomhouse.com/pantheon/graphicnovels/satrapi.html

Random House | On Writing Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
http://www.randomhouse.com/pantheon/graphicnovels/satrapi2.html

Persepolis's Influences

Bookslut | An Interview with Marjane Satrapi
http://www.bookslut.com/features/2006_11_010204.php

Graphic Novels

American Library Association Wikipedia Article | Graphic Novels
http://wikis.ala.org/professionaltips/index.php/Graphic_novels

Association of College & Research Libraries Wikipedia Article | Comic Books & Graphic Novels
http://wikis.ala.org/acrl/index.php/Comic_Books_and_Graphic_Novels

CCBC, University of Wisconsin-Madison | Graphic Novels
http://www.education.wisc.edu/ccbc/books/graphicnovels.asp

Iran Then

BBC Persian Service | The Story of a Revolution
http://www.bbc.co.uk/persian/revolution/
“Four part history of the 1979 Iranian Revolution from the BBC Persian Service. Topics cover the return of the Ayatollah Khomeini, the country with two governments, the last struggle of the army, and revolution day.”

UNCW Randall Library | Newspaper Collections
http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/topic/newspapers/index.html

Iran Today

CIA World Factbook | Iran
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ir.html

Google News | Iran
http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&ned=us&q=iran

UNCW Randall Library | Newspaper Collections
http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/topic/newspapers/index.html

Return to top


Last Update: 15 November, 2007 12:32