| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Liza Palmer |
| Email: |
| palmerl@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-4234 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: lizajpalmer |
Contact the English Librarian for Help!
Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl[at]uncw[dot]edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/Drop by during Liza's office hours
Spring 2008
Wednesdays, 6-8pm | Or by appointment
Randall #2080Mondays, 3-4pm | Wednesdays, 10-11am | Or by appointment
CAB #1048
To find biographical information for David Auburn, please use the following resources:
Biographical Information (Randall Library Research Guide)
What you will find: Tips on how to search the library catalog to find biographical information most effectively. There were also be recommendations for resources in the Reference Collection that you should try consulting.
Gale Literature Resource Center
- Follow the prompts to enter the database
- Type/paste into search box: "david auburn"
What you will find: Full-text biographical information related to Auburn from such Gale resources as Contemporary Authors. Be sure to click on the other tabs (e.g. "Literary Criticism, Articles, & Work Overviews") to find additional full-text materials related to Auburn and Proof.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
- Follow the prompts to enter the database
- Type/paste into search box: "david auburn"
What you will find: Click on the entries to find citations to articles about Auburn that are in books typically found in reference collections (e.g. Who's Who). To see if Randall Library owns these books, simply run a search in the library catalog on the title(s) of the resource(s) listed in the citation(s).
- Check the boxes next to any combination of the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier,
- MasterFILE Premier,
- America: History & Life,
- Art Abstracts,
- Communication & Mass Media Complete,
- Humanities International Index,
- MLA International Bibliography,
- Newspaper Source.
- Type/paste into search box: de "auburn, david"
What you will find: For the most part, you will find full-text articles related to Auburn. In some instances, EBSCOhost only provides the citations to articles. To find the full text for these items, simply run a journal title search on the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper listed in the citation to see if Randall Library subscribes to it. If Randall does not subscribe to the journal or does not own the specific issue needed, please request the item via Interlibrary Loan.
- Select "Citation and abstract" from the dropdown menu next to the search box
- Type/paste into search box: "david auburn"
What you will find: Full-text NYT articles related to Auburn and his work.
To find book reviews of Proof, please use the following resource:
Book Review Resources (Randall Library Research Guide)
What you will find: Tips on how to find book reviews using the Index Collection, as well as the Databases and Internet.
To find reviews (both book and theatrical) of Proof, please use the following resources:
What you will find: This book, located in the Reference Collection, provides an in-depth overview of Proof and includes selected reviews and criticism.
- Check the boxes next to any combination of the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier,
- MasterFILE Premier,
- America: History & Life,
- Art Abstracts,
- Communication & Mass Media Complete,
- Humanities International Index,
- MLA International Bibliography,
- Newspaper Source.
- Type/paste into search box:
de "proof (theatrical production)" or de "proof: a play (book)"
What you will find: For the most part, you will find full-text reviews related to the book or play version of Proof. In some instances, EBSCOhost only provides the citations to articles. To find the full text for these items, simply run a journal title search on the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper listed in the citation to see if Randall Library subscribes to it. If Randall does not subscribe to the journal or does not own the specific issue needed, please request the item via Interlibrary Loan.
- Click on "Search Articles"
- Select "Citations only" from the dropdown menu below the "Keyword(s)" search box
- Type/paste into search box: proof and auburn not (film* or cinema*)
What you will find: For the most part, you will find full-text reviews related to the book or play version of Proof. In some instances, IIPA only provides the citations to articles. To find the full text for these items, simply run a journal title search on the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper listed in the citation to see if Randall Library subscribes to it. If Randall does not subscribe to the journal or does not own the specific issue needed, please request the item via Interlibrary Loan.
- Click on the "News" button in the horizontal red bar at the top of the page
- Select "Book, Movie, Music, Play, and Video Reviews" from the dropdown menu next to "Select Sources"
- Select "All available dates" from the dropdown menu next to "Specify Date"
- Select "In Headline, Lead Paragraphs & Indexing" from the dropdown menu beneath the first search box
- Type/paste into search box:
proof and auburn and not (film* or cinema* or movie*)
What you will find: Full-text reviews of the book or play version of Proof from select national newspapers and news resources.
- Select "Lead/First Paragraph" from the dropdown menu next to the first search box
- Type/paste into search box:
proof and auburn and not (film* or cinema* or movie*)
What you will find: Full-text reviews of the book or play version of Proof from select national newspapers.
- Select "Citation and abstract" from the dropdown menu next to the search box
- Type/paste into search box: proof and "david auburn"
What you will find: Full-text NYT reviews and articles related to Proof.