this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide: ENG 205: Approaches to the Study of Literature


 

How to Find Books in Randall Library

Go to Randall Library's Home Page; click on "Search Catalog."

Primary Contact:
Liza Palmer
Email:
palmerl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4234
IM Chat Name:
AIM: lizajpalmer

Return to top

 

Where Books Are Located in Randall Library

Most books are located in the General Collection, upstairs. Those materials may be checked out. Other materials are located in the Reference Collection, downstairs, and may not be checked out. However, you are encouraged to use those materials in the library, as they contain good, current information.

Return to top

 

Where Periodicals Are Located in Randall Library

Newspapers, magazines, and journals are located on the ground floor of the library:

CURRENT JOURNALS are located in the area on your left as you enter the building. Some of the most popular titles are shelved in the reading area near the coffee shop. Issues are kept until sent to the bindery, which varies with each title. Newspapers are shelved in the coffee area, on the shelving located to the left and right of the coffee counter.

BOUND JOURNALS have been returned from the bindery and are shelved at the back of the first floor in the Bound Journals Section. If a relatively current journal is not bound yet and is not on the current shelf, you can check the record for the title and see when to expect it back from the bindery.

MICROFORMS Some periodicals come in microfilm or microfiche and are housed in cabinets just outside the Viewing and Listening Room on the first floor.

ONLINE JOURNALS are journals that the library receives full-text online. If you search for a journal title in the library catalog and it lists as a location "UNCW Full Text Online," be sure to look at the "Library Has" line directly under it. There will be a link(s) in this section that will detail the name of the database that hosts the online journal and the dates that it retains; this link(s) will connect you to the appropriate database to access the journal.

Return to top

 

Scholarly Periodicals 
(AKA professional journals, scholarly journals, refereed, or peer-reviewed journals)

Analyze the periodical in which you are interested according to the following table:

APPEARANCE Dull, few ads--often sponsored by an academic society
AUTHOR Academic credentials--do not make living as writers
CONTENT (TOPIC & DOCUMENTATION) Highly specialized; many footnotes and/or charts and graphs
LANGUAGE (VOCABULARY) Learned reading level--specialized vocabulary
AUDIENCE Scholarly and professional

Limiting Your Search to Peer-Reviewed Articles in EBSCOHost:

For more information about analyzing periodicals, please see this guide:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/topic/articletypes.html

Return to top

 

Book Review Indexes

The Reference Collection is located on the first floor, to the right as you walk in the building.

The Index Collection is located on the first floor, to the right (as you face the back of the building), just past the reference desk.

Book Review Digest

Monthly review that "provides citations to and excerpts of reviews of current juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language."  Entries are listed in alphabetical order by primary author name. Subject and Title indexes located at the end of each volume.

Book Review Index

"Provides access to reviews of thousands of books, periodicals and books-on-tape. Represents a wide range of popular, academic, and professional interests."  Entries arranged alphabetically by the primary author name or by book title if there is no primary author.

Magill's Literary Annual

Essay-reviews of 200 outstanding books published in the United States each year.

The New York Times Index 

Book reviews are listed alphabetically in the "Books and Literature" section of Index. The New York Times is also indexed and available in full text via the following databases: ProQuest Newspapers, Lexis-Nexis Academic, and New York Times Archive.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature 

Book reviews listed in separate section in the back of the Index. Entries listed alphabetically by author's last name. Readers' Guide Retrospective provides indexing online for the years 1890 - 1982.

Return to top

 

Searching Library Databases for Reviews

When searching for book reviews in any of the Randall Library databases, perform a SUBJECT search using the term "book reviews" for a general listing of all reviews. When looking for a specific title, refer to the Search tips listed below for each individual database. View a complete database list at http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/databases/index.html or from the Library Homepage by clicking "Databases & Articles."

ChoiceReviews.online

CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts.
Sept. 1988 - present

EBSCOHost

Search tips:

Select the following EBSCOHost databases:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
  • Newspaper Source

Each one contains some full-text articles. Find reviews using the following search format: "title of book in quotes" and book. An example search would be typing "Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets" and book in the search box, which would provide you with reviews for the book entitled Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

ERIC - available through EBSCOhost

Educational Resources Information Center. Search tips: Choose the Advanced Search option and search by the title of the book using a Title search. For reviews on a topic or genre, Keyword search using this format: book reviews AND science fiction.

Gale Literary Databases

This database can be searched either by book title or author.

Humanities International Index

Search Tips: This database can be searched either by combining a book title with the phrase, book review, or can be searched by searching by genre and the phrase, book review.

JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.

LexisNexis Academic

Search tips: Try searching the "title of your book in quotes" connected with the phrase "book reviews." So an example might be: "Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets" and "book reviews"

MLA International Bibliography

Search tips: Add "review-article" in the search box combined with a topic, author or genre. The format would appear like this: review-article and science fiction.

 

Return to top

 

Book Reviews on the Web

AcqWeb Directory of Book Reviews on the Web

Links to all book reviews on all genre and in all formats.

Booklist 

The online counterpart of the American Library Association's magazine devoted to book reviews.  The full-text of a current selection of reviews and a cumulative index to the printed Booklist is available.

New York Review of Books 

The New York Review of Books' online counterpart which includes the free full-text of book reviews published in the magazine since 1996.  A fully searchable index is also available.

New York Times Book Review 

The free full-text of book reviews published in the NYTBR in the last week.

Return to top

 

Citing Resources

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2003. 6th edition.
Several Copies are located at the Reference Desk:  LB2369 .G53 2003 

Randall Library's MLA Citation Guide

Return to top


Last Update: 20 November, 2007 14:21