Poetry Studies Resources
| Concordances To Poetry | General Poetry Resources | Print Indexes |
| Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Guides and Handbooks | Web Resources |
| Electronic Resources | Periodic Literature |
Bradshaw, John. A Concordance to the Poetical
Works of John Milton. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, 1965.
Ref PR 3595 .B7 1965
Combs, Homer Carroll and Zay Rusk Sullens. A Concordance to the English
Poems of John Donne. New York: Haskell
House, 1969. Ref PR 2248 .A3 1969
Dilligan, Robert J. and Todd K. Bender, comps. A Concordance to the English
Poetry of Gerard Manley Hopkins. Madison:
University of Wisconsin Press, 1970. Ref PR 4803
.H44 Z49 1970
Mann, Cameron, comp. A Concordance to the English Poems of George Herbert.
Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1927.
Ref PR 3508 .M3
Matovich, Richard M., ed. A Concordance to the Collected Poems of Sylvia
Plath. New York: Garland Pub., 1986.
Ref PS 3566 .L27 Z459 1986
Drury, John. The Poetry Dictionary.
Cincinnati, OH: Story Press, 1995. Ref PN 1021 .D78 1995
Myers, Jack Elliott. Longman Dictionary and Handbook of Poetry. New York:
Longman, 1985. Ref PN 1021 .M94 1985
Smith, Eric. A Dictionary of Classical Reference in English Poetry.
Woodbridge, Suffolk: D.S. Brewer; Totowa, N.J.: Barnes &
Noble, 1984. Ref PR 508 .C68 S63 1984
Preminger, Alex and T.V.F. Brogan, eds. The
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. Princeton, N.J.:
Princeton
University Press, 1993. Ref PN 1021 .N39 1993
Williams, Miller. Patterns of Poetry: An Encyclopedia of Forms. Baton
Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1986.
Ref PN 1042 .W514 1986
Bain, Robert and Joseph M. Flora, eds. Contemporary
Poets, Dramatists, Essayists, and Novelists of the South: A
Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. Westport Conn.:
Greenwood Press, 1994. Ref PS 261 .C568 1994
Baughman, Ronald, ed. Contemporary Authors Bibliographic Series: Volume 2:
American Poets. Detroit: Gale Research,
1986. Ref PN 771 .C62 v.2
Gardner, Helen, ed. The New Oxford Book Of English Verse, 1250-1950. New York:
Oxford University Press, 1972.
Ref PR 1174 .G3
Hamilton, Ian, ed. The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in
English. Oxford [England]; New York: Oxford
University Press, 1994. Ref PR 601 .O9 1994
Jackson, J. R. de J. (James Robert de Jager). Romantic Poetry by Women : A
Bibliography, 1770-1835. Oxford [England]:
Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press,
1993. Ref PR 508 .W6 J32 1993
Kuntz, Joseph Marshall. Poetry Explication: A Checklist of Interpretation
Since 1925 of British and American Poems Past and
Present. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1980. Ref
PR 502 .K86 1980 c.2
Magill, Frank N. Critical Survey of Poetry. English Language Series.
Revised Edition. 8 Vols. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press,
1992. Ref PN 1021 .C6 1992 v.1-v.8
Murphy, Rosalie, ed. Contemporary Poets of the English Language. New
York: St. Martin's Press, 1970.
Ref PN 1021 .C58 1971
Quartermain, Peter. American Poets:1800-1945. Detroit: Gale Research,
1987. Ref PS 21 .D5 v. 54 pt. 1&2
Riggs, Thomas. Contemporary Poets. 6th Edition. Detroit, MI: St. James
Press, 1995. Ref PR 603 .C6 1995
Shields, Ellen F. Contemporary English Poetry: An Annotated Bibliography of
Criticism to 1980. New York: Garland, 1984.
Ref PR 601 .S47 1984
Young, Robyn V., ed. Poetry Criticism: Excerpts From Criticism of the Works
of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets
of World Literature. Detroit, MI: Gale Research
Inc., 1991-. Ref PN 1010 .P499 v.1-v.19
Guide to American Poetry Explication.
Boston: G. K. Hall, 1989. Ref PS 221 .L46 v.1&2
McPheron, William. The Bibliography of Contemporary American Poetry,
1945-1985: An Annotated Checklist. Westport,
Conn.: Meckler, 1986. Ref PS 323.5 .M255 1986
Mell, Donald Charles. English Poetry, 1660-1800: A Guide to Information
Sources. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1982.
Ref PR 551 .M444
Preminger, Alex ed. The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms. Princeton, N.J.:
Princeton University Press, 1986.
Ref PN 1042 .P75 1986
Chapman, Dorothy. Index To Black Poetry.
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1974. Ref PS 153 .N5 C45
Frankovich, Nicholas, ed. The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in
Anthologies. 11th Edition. Completely Revised, Indexing
Anthologies Published Through January 31, 1997 New
York: Columbia University Press,1997.
Ref PN 1022 .H39 1997
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works.
New York: Columbia University Press, 1996.
Ref PN 1022 .C63 1996
Guy, Patricia A. Women's Poetry Index. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press,
1985. Ref PN 1024 .G89 1985
Hoffman, Herbert H, comp. International Index to Recorded Poetry. New
York: H.W. Wilson, 1983.
Ref PN 1022 .H63 1983
Poet Lore. The Writer's Center. Bethesda, MD. Published Quarterly. (Library has v.71(1976)-94(2000)-.
Poetics Today. Duke University Press. Durham, NC. Published Quarterly. Library has Paper v.1(1979); 3(1982)-5(1984); 7(1986)-21(2002); Full Text JSTOR UNCW users, v.1(1979)-20(1999).
Poetry. Modern Poetry Association. Chicago, IL. Published Monthly. Library has Mfilm v.1(1912)-113(1969); Paper v.110(1967)-178(2003)-.
Poets & Writers Magazine. Poets & Writers, Inc. New York. Published Bi-Monthly . Library has v.22:1(1994)-29(2003)-.
Ploughshares. Emerson College. Boston, MA.
Published Three Times Per Year. Library has 20(1994)-26(2002/03)-.
Electronic Resources (Off campus access requires a Library PIN number (see My Library Record).
| African-American Poetry | African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries. (1750-1900) | |
| American Poetry | American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century. Chadwyck-Healey |
| English Poetry | English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Chadwick-Healey |
| The Faber Poetry Library | Poets of the twentieth century. Chadwyck-Healey |
| 20th Century African-American Poetry | African American poets of the 20th century. Chadwyck-Healey | |
| 20th Century American Poetry | American poetry from the early 20th century to the present. Chadwyck-Healey | |
| 20th Century English Poetry | 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day. |
General Sites
Book
Lovers Page [http://www.xs4all.nl/~pwessel/]
Dr.
Rene's Poetry Cafe [http://cfa-www.harvard.edu/~rplume/poetry/poetry.html]
Great
Writers and Poets [http://www.xs4all.nl/~pwessel/writers.html]
Poetry
On The Web [http://www.geocities.com/Paris/1416/]
The
Atlantic Monthly's Poetry Pages [http://www.theatlantic.com/atlantic/atlweb/poetry/poetpage.htm]
The
Poetry Resource: Links to Poets [http://www.pmpoetry.com/]
The
Poetry Web Ring [http://www.photoaspects.com/poetry/]
Yahoo
Poetry Resources [http://www.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/Literature/Poetry/]
Individual Poet Studies Sites
Emily
Dickinson International Society
[http://www.cwru.edu/affil/edis/edisindex.html]
Online Journals
Janus
Head [http://www.janushead.org/]
Keats-Shelly
Journal [http://www.luc.edu/publications/keats-shelley/ksjweb.htm]
The
Kenyon Review [http://www.kenyonreview.com/]
The
Nimrod International Literary Journal
[http://www.utulsa.edu/nimrod/]
Paintbrush:
A Journal of Poetry and Translation
[http://www.paintbrush.org]
Poetry
Magazine [http://www.poetrymagazine.org/]
Organizations
The
Academy of American Poets
[http://www.poets.org/]
The
National Poetry Foundation
[http://www.ume.maine.edu/~npf/]
Poetry Archives
Poetry
Archives: 1780 - 1910 [http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/britpo.html]
The
Internet Poetry Archive [http://sunsite.unc.edu/dykki/poetry/]
University
of Virginia Electronic Text Center
[http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/modeng/modeng0.browse.html]
Last Update: December 12, 2005