this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Resources for Scottish Literature


PRINT & REFERENCE RESOURCES

The following resources are historical and critical; they are not primary sources of Scottish literature.  These resources are located in the General Collection.
The History of Scottish Literature / general editor, Cairns Craig  PR8511 .H57 1987 Three volumes.
History of Scottish Literature / Maurice Lindsay  PR8511 .L5 1992 PR8511 .L5 1992
A history of Scottish women's writing / edited by Douglas Gifford and Dorothy McMillan   PR8533 .H57 1997
The Scottish Tradition in Literature  PR8511 .W5
The Scottish Novel Since the Seventies: New Visions, Old Dreams / edited by Gavin Wallace and Randall Stevenson
PR8603 .S36 1993
The Scottish Novel: From Smollett to Spark / Francis Russell Hart   PR8597 .H37


SEARCHING RANDALL LIBRARY'S CATALOG FOR BOOKS ON SCOTTISH LITERATURE

Secondary Materials
To find secondary (critical) materials on Scottish literature, go to left-side of the screen of Randall Library's Homepage, select "Subject,"  and try the following subject headings:
        Scottish literature--history and criticism
        Scottish poetry--history and criticism
        Scottish fiction--history and criticism

To find secondary (critical) materials on a specific author's works, select "Subject," and key in the specific author's name, with last name first and first name last:
        Example:  doyle, arthur conan

Primary Materials
To find primary (original works) literature, select "author," and key in the specific author's name, with last name first and first name last.
        Example:  doyle, arthur conan

To find a partial list of Scottish fiction (mostly novels) housed in Randall Library, select "subject" and key in the subject heading, "Scottish fiction." 

To find a partial list of Scottish poetry housed in Randall Library, select "subject" and key in the subject heading, "Scottish poetry."



SEARCHING RANDALL LIBRARY'S DATABASES FOR ARTICLES ON SCOTTISH LITERATURE

MLA International Bibliography
         The professional database devoted to language, literature, linguistics and folklore studies.   Consult the Guide to MLA
         to find out how to retrieve materials on a specific author or a specific work--among other things.
EBSCOHost
         Select Academic Search Elite.   Most of these articles would be cited in MLA, but you may get lucky and find a few
         articles full text. 
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
          An excellent newspaper database.   If you are having trouble finding materials on a contemporary writer, you may want
          to consult this database for author interviews, etc.  Select "News," "World News," then "European News Sources"
         (from the pop-up menu).



WORLD WIDE WEB SITES


Scottish Literature
Andrew Crumey's "Scottish Writers"  [http://www.users.globalnet.co.uk/~crumey/scot.html]
Scottish Literature at the University of South Carolina [http://www.sc.edu/library/scotlit/scotlit.html]
    Contains an excellent list of Internet resources on Scottish literature.  Acts as a clearinghouse.

Randall Library Sites
Off Campus Use of Databases
Location of Periodicals in Randall Library
Interlibrary Loan
Last Update: February 3, 2006