Environmental Studies - Databases
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Peter Fritzler |
| Email: |
| fritzlerp@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-7807 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: peterfritzler1 |
Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
1975 – present
(more information)
Agricola
Agricola is the most comprehensive database to citations of journal articles, theses, patents, software and technical reports on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition. Good for soil chemistry, plant cell biochemistry and plant genetics. Useful for fisheries & aquaculture.
1979 - present
(more information)
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Premier database for literature on the science, technology & management of marine, freshwater, & brackish water environments & organisms.
(more information)
Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions at major scientific meetings.
1982 - present
(more information)
CSA
Provides access to databases in the sciences, social sciences, philosophy and education.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more informationon Dissertation Abstracts)
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Environmental sciences & pollution management. Subfile of Earth & Environmental Sciences.
1990 - present
(more information)
Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 250 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.
GEOBASE
Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology.
1980 - present
(more information)
JSTOR
Online archive of scholarly journals covering anthropology, history, literature, ecology, economics, and more.
(more information)
Lexis-Nexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)
MasterFILE Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)
PapersFirst
PapersFirst indexes over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
ProceedingsFirst
ProceedingsFirst indexes over 19,000 citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
PubMedCentral
A digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Libraryof Medicine (NLM).
ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection. 1995 - present
(more information)
Toxicology Abstracts
Covers pharmaceuticals, agro chemicals, natural toxins, industrial chemicals. Subfile of Earth & Environmental Sciences.
1981 - present
(more information)
TOXLINE
Citations to articles, technical reports, theses on toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
1999 - present
(more information)
Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.
Web of Knowledge
This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content.
(more information)