Class Guide - FST 496: The Cinematic Mind
Contact the Film Studies Librarian for help!
Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl@uncw.edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncwil.edu/Faculty/palmerl/index.htmlDrop by during Liza's office hours
Spring 2005
Thursdays, 1-3pm
Randall #2065
Reference Assistance
We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference; click the following link for details:
Off Campus Access of Resources
In order to access Ereserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:
RAP: Research Assistance Program
Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:
Library Workshop Series
Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:
For help with Boolean Searching (the language that allows you to search databases most effectively), try consulting the following sites:
SUNY University Libraries: A Primer in Boolean Logic
http://library.albany.edu/internet/boolean.htmlLake Sumter Community College: Boolean Search Tips
http://www.lscc.cc.fl.us/library/guides/boolsea.htmNYU Libraries: Interactive Boolean Search Tutorial
http://library.nyu.edu/research/tutorials/boolean/boolean.html
To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu/):
Keyword Search
Suggested searches:
cognitivism
cognitive film
cognitive and filmcognit* and film
cognit* and (film or cinema)
Subject Search
Suggested searches:
Motion Picture Audiences Psychology
Motion Pictures Psychological Aspects
Cognitive Psychology
Cognitive Science
Videos and DVDs are shelved according to Library of Congress call number, and are kept in the Recreational Materials area of the library.
To locate the call number of a film do the following:
Know the title of the work?
Try a TITLE search.
Example: Cape Fear [title]
Know the subject area?
Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording].
Example: Korean War [the subject]
You can also limit the search by video.
Know the performer or director?
Try an AUTHOR search.
Example: Scorsese, Martin [author/artist]
Want a listing of all of our DVDs?
Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.
In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu/Databases.html):
Recommended Databases for Film Studies
EBSCOHost
Try clicking on the boxes next to Academic Search Elite, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, MLA International Bibliography, Communication & Mass Media Complete, American Humanities Index, and PsycARTICLES to search these databases simultaneously. General subject/Humanities subject databases; both full text and citations.FIAF International FilmArchive Database
Film subject database; primarily citations.Humanities Index
Humanities subject database; primarily citations.InfoTrac OneFile
General subject database; primarily full text.Ingenta
Indexes several major film studies journals; very simple searching capabilities.Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text access to major newspapers.New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2001.ProQuest Newspapers
Full-text access to major newspapers.PsycInfo
Psychology subject database; primarily citations. Be sure to use the "Suggest" feature to determine the preferred terminology for your search terms.WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Suggested Searches in the Databases
bordwell and cognit*
cognit* and (film or cinema)
cognit* and "motion pictures"horror and "motion pictures"
horror and "motion pictures" and respons*
horror and "motion pictures" and (respons* or effect*)
horror and "motion pictures" and (respons* or effect* or impact*)"startle effect"
startle and (effect or reflex)
startle and (effect or reflex) and "motion pictures""motion pictures" and respons*
"motion pictures" and (emoti* or physiolog*)
"motion pictures" and (emoti* or physiolog*) and (respons* or impact* or effect*)
If Randall Library does not own a book you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough times for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.
To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:
Internet Sites
BargainFlix.com
http://www.bargainflix.com/
"Never pay full price for a DVD again."David Bordwell's Website on Cinema
http://www.davidbordwell.net/
A site maintained by David Bordwell; it lists extensive bibliographies, online essays, and his 2005 speaking schedule.DirectorsWorld: The Art, Technology, and Business of Directing
http://www.uemedia.com/CPC/directorsworld/
A site for aspiring directors; includes information on jobs and professional development opportunities.Internet Movie Database
http://www.imdb.com/
Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.Masters of Cinema
http://www.mastersofcinema.org/
A wealth of information about major and/or cult directors, featuring articles and their "Worldwide DVD Calendar" of DVD release dates.Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
http://www.cmstudies.org/
The primary professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is their organ. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.
Online Journals
Film International
http://www.filmint.nu/eng.html
"Film International focuses on longer essays with in-depth-analysis, but it also features interviews, festival reports and an extensive review section on books, special DVD editions and films at the cinema." It is indexed in FIAF.Film-Philosophy
http://www.film-philosophy.com/
A film studies journal, salon, and portal, focusing on the relationship between film and philosophy.Scope: An Online Journal of Film Studies
http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/film/journal/
From the University of Nottingham, an online, peer-reviewed journal; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.Senses of Cinema
http://www.sensesofcinema.com/
"An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema"; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.
Liza will be holding a number of drop-in clinics for FST throughout the spring semester. Please drop by if you have any questions or need help researching your paper topics. All drop-in clinics will be held in the BI Room, located on the first floor of Randall Library in the back, right-hand corner of the building:
Sunday, March 13th, 6-8pm
Thursday, March 24th, 5-7pm
Thursday, April 14th, 5-7pm
Saturday, April 23rd, 2-4pm
*** If you cannot make these times, try dropping by Liza's office during her office hours in Randall #2065:
Thursdays, 1-3pm