this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide: FST 205 - History of World Cinema


Primary Contact:
Liza Palmer
Email:
palmerl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4234
IM Chat Name:
AIM: lizajpalmer

 

 

Contact Information

Contact the Film Studies Librarian for help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl[at]uncw[dot]edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
Meebo me: http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Fall 2008
Randall #2080: Tuesdays, 11am-1pm
CAB #1048: Wednesdays, 4-5pm | Thursdays, 10-11am

Return to top

Library Services

Ask a Librarian

We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference, and 24/7 chat reference; click the following link for details:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/administrative/help.html

Off-campus Access of Resources

In order to access Ereserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:

http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/screens/pin.html

RAP: Research Assistance Program

Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:

http://library.uncw.edu/forms/rap.html

Library Workshop Series

Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/instruction/workshops/

Return to top

Library Catalog

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials, search the catalog.

Scoped Searching

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials located at Randall Library, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search~b001o001c001i001).

Unscoped Searching

To search for items located at UNCP or FSU, "unscope" the catalog by selecting "UNC Coastal Library Consortium" from the dropdown menu below the search box (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search~b001o001c001i001).

To request an item located at UNCP or FSU, click into the full record for the item. Then click the "Hold Item" button located at the top of the screen and log in with your name, university ID number, and library PIN.

Suggested Search Strategies

Keyword Search

bresson
kuleshov
brakhage
deren

italian neorealism
cinema of attractions

eisenstein and montage

minimal* and cinema
minimal* and (cinema or film)

"hong kong" and (cinema or film)

("avant garde" or experiment*) and (cinema or film)

Subject Search

Motion Pictures

Motion Pictures China
Motion Pictures China History
Motion Pictures China Hong Kong History

Motion Pictures France
Motion Pictures France History

Motion Pictures Japan
Motion Pictures Japan History

Return to top

Locating Videos & DVDs

Videos and DVDs are shelved according to Library of Congress call number, and are kept in the Recreational Materials area of the library.

To locate the call number of a film do the following:

Know the title of the work?
Try a TITLE search.
Example: Cape Fear [title]

Know the subject area?
Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording].
Example: Korean War [the subject]
You can also limit the search by video.

Know the performer or director?
Try an AUTHOR search.
Example: Scorsese, Martin [author/artist]

Want a listing of all of our DVDs?
Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.

Return to top

Database & Article Searching

In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/databases/index.html):

Recommended Databases for Film Studies

EBSCOHost
General subject/Humanities subject databases; both full text and citations. To search databases simultaneously, try clicking on the boxes next to:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • America: History & Life (for North American cinema topics),
  • Art Abstracts,
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete,
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text,
  • Historical Abstracts (for international cinema topics),
  • Humanities International Index,
  • MLA International Bibliography.

Alternative Press Index
Citations to articles published from 1991 to the present in non-mainstream or non-traditional publications (i.e. grassroots newspapers and magazines).

Alternative Press Index Archives
Citations to articles published from 1969 to 1990 in non-mainstream or non-traditional publications (i.e. grassroots newspapers and magazines).

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Good film coverage, often with links to full text.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film subject database; primarily full text.

Film Literature Index Online
A free web source. Citations only. Note scope: 1976-2001

IIPA Full Text (4 simultaneous users)
Film and performing arts subject database; both full text and citations.

IngentaConnect
Indexes several major film studies journals; very simple searching capabilities.

JSTOR
Good film coverage; predominantly full text.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text access to major newspapers and non-English language news.

New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to (last three years not available).

Newsbank
"America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database."

ProjectMUSE
Good film coverage; full text.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to articles published in popular American periodicals from 1890 to 1982.

WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Suggested Search Strategies for the Databases

"maya deren"
"ousmane sembene"
"cinema of attractions"

"poetic realism" and carne
"blade runner" and style

"stan brakhage" and "dog star man"

"milos forman" and czech*

"new wave" and (france or french)

"poetic realis*" and (film or cinema)

"maya deren" and (danc* or choreograph*)

czech* and (film or cinema) and industr*

"new wave" and czech and (film or cinema)

"hong kong" and (film or cinema) and styl*

Return to top

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If Randall Library does not own a book you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough times for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.

To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:

https://illiad.uncw.edu/logon.html

Return to top

Is It Peer-Reviewed?

Here is a guide to help you understand the differences among popular, trade, and peer-reviewed (or academic or scholarly) articles:

http://library.uncwil.edu/web/research/topic/articletypes.html

When searching, most databases have peer-reviewed (or academic or scholarly or refereed) limits that can be applied in order to retrieve only those results from journals that undergo a peer-review process.

When in doubt:

Return to top

Citation Style Guides

MLA Style Guide
http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/citation/mla.html

Chicago Style Guide
http://www.libs.uga.edu/ref/chicago.html

Online Citation Builders
(Note: Consult the appropriate style manual to verify the output of these programs. Some programs are not as accurate or current as they should be. )

Citation Builder: NCSU Libraries (for MLA style)
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/lobo2/citationbuilder/citationbuilder.php

Son of Citation Machine (for MLA and Chicago style)
http://www.citationmachine.net/

Return to top

Zotero

"Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself."

Download Zotero

Return to top

 
Last Update: 4 November, 2008 15:28